We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous architecture and design, great service, wonderful food”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #9 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We just got home after spending 4 days and 3 nights in Lyon where we stayed at the Cour des Loges. We loved it! The building itself is stunning, and the furnishings and art are beautiful and carefully thought through. We stayed in room 14 which was large and comfortable, and crucially for us, overlooked the interior courtyard not the street, thus no street noise. As others have mentioned, the service at the Cour des Loges is impeccable, and the breakfast buffet is absolutely sumptuous with just about every choice imaginable e.g. fresh whole fruits and fresh sliced fruits, dried fruits, yoghurts, pancakes, crepes, a wide array of cold meats and cheeses, smoked salmon, freshly cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, potatos, and all sorts of breads, croissants and pastries. While we were at the hotel, regrettably we didn't use the pool and spa but they looked inviting. However, we did visit the garden, from which there are fabulous views over the rooftops of the old city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpaca19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We are perfectly glad you appreciated your stay in Lyon. The only thing you have to do is to come back to enjoy the pool that is waiting for you.
Thank you for the photos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,301)
There are newer reviews for Cour des Loges
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 1,301 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the one night of our stay in Lyon and it really added to the experience of the city. When we arrived the concierge arranged for someone to take our bags so that we could wander around the town without having to lug them around. He didn't laugh once at my terrible French but was able to switch seamlessly into English to make it easier for us. His knowledge of the city was excellent and he was able to direct us to what we were looking for around the city. The room itself was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. It had everything we needed. In the evening a different concierge recommended and booked a table at a bouchon for us to sample some Lyon cuisine, and we had a fantastic cocktail in the bar before heading out. Everything was made simple by the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff, I can't recommend this hotel enough!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

What a delightful review!
The hotel staff is always happy to please the clients and even happier to read a nice review such as yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had never been to Lyon, and happened to arrive on the longest day of the year. We got a cab at the train station, and at some point as we were getting close to the hotel, our cab driver could go no further. The cylindrical thing in the street would not lower, because of the crowds showing up for the music festival, because it was the longest day of the year. So, we got out of the cab, and started lugging our large suitcases up the cobblestones. Well, I lost my balance, fell, banged up my foot, and knees. Not real happy upon arrival. They had booked us in the duplex, but the manager switched us to another room, without stairs. He also said we would have to change rooms again for our third night, and by that point, we thought, "fine." So, the rooms are incredibly unique, they do all seem to be dark, however. We went to the hotels restaurant Epicerie for dinner that first night, which was delicious, and enjoyed the roaming groups of performers, out for the summer solstice celebration. Everyone at the hotel was helpful, kind, attentive. We really enjoyed our stay, and would happily return to Cours Des Loges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13cath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We are so glad that after the tough time you ve been through along the way to Cour des Loges , you finally enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you anytime soon with a regular arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

A special place steeped in the Renaissance but with ultra modern conveniences. A favorite was the mosaic tiled swimming pool in the hotel's spa. The gorgeous setting for a dip in the pool is made even more useful by the automatic current machine that creates a wake sufficient for one to swim against and remain in one place.

Room Tip: Good value "mezzanine room"
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank entrada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We thank you for your review and we are happy you had a great time in the pool. We hope to see you at the Sunday brunch after a little swimming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

This hotel is absolutely beautiful and the service is impeccable. The concierge service is remarkable and the staff are absolutely delightful. My only criticism is that the duplex (two floor) room I had was dark, narrow, stuffy and the shower leaked all night. By stark contrast, the other (more superior rooms) are heavenly. Room 46 in particular - has a view of the cathedral, and when you open the window you hear a waterfall. The spa is also delightful. The showers could use a facelift and the pool is a bit of a cave - but it has a certain charm. I was furious about the duplex room earlier today - but I have changed to a superior room and I'm very content now. I will return to this place and I would recommend it to women traveling solo. The staff (particularly the lead concierge) is incredibly helpful. I've been here five nights and it's great.

Room Tip: Avoid duplex rooms. I had room 31 (a duplex facing the street) - it was dark, narrow, stuffy and c...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanTWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2013

We want to thank you for your review. The whole team of Cour Des Loges is glad to know that you appreciated her help that much and is eager to welcome you again in the hotel and make you discover new places in Lyon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It is clear from reading Tripadvisor that Cour des Loges is a unique hotel. However, what truly sets it a part from other properties we have visited, is the service. I am specifically referring to the lead concierge Girard. After a 6 hour train ride to Lyon from Zermatt, we simply looking for a street map to take a stroll. Girard proceeded to guide us for the next 2 days for our dining and cultural journey. It became immediately apparent that Girard loves Lyon, loves helping people, and loves the hotel. On returning to the USA, we have spoken to all our friends about the City, and the wonderful hospitality provided to us by Girard. He is an asset to the hotel and the City of Lyon

Room Tip: Superior rooms are worth the extra cost
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Howard Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

The team of Cour Des Loges and more specifically Gerard want to thank you for your pleasant review.
It is essential, for an hotel located in the middle of a cultural city as Lyon, to have concierges who love the city they make discover.
However, it is always a huge pleasure when our clients let us know how much they appreciated spirit and service of our hotel.
We look forward to seeing soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We found the hotel in the Small Luxury Hotels of the world and it matched the description.
We received and successfully used good hotel instructions (by email) on the access to the hotel by car including the access codes for lowering the road bollard to allow access to the old city streets. This could otherwise be challenging.
Our reception was excellent.
The concierge was excellent before (by email) and during our visit - the ability to write on maps upside down is new to me. The concierge's directions and suggestions were excellent.
The hotel's restaurant reservations were great, albeit that we could not get into the main restaurant on Saturday evening - book early. The Cafe Epicerie meal was excellent - including my wife's opinion that her meal was the best that she had had for years!!
The room was roomy and generally well appointed, but the bathroom was a challenge at times as the toilet was in the shower compartment, the room door knob was difficult to operate and the lights were overly complex.
The warren like access to the room was understandable given the buildings history and was quaint.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ascott150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for your nice review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay in Lyon and in our hotel. We can understand that the layout out some rooms doesn't fit with everyone taste that's why you should not hesitate to ask for another room during your next stay.
We look forward to seeing you at our Sunday brunch anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#11 of 196 in Lyon
740 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £204 - £430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing