We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing place and service!
Right in the city center, incredible location and even better facilities.
Great for a romantic escape or family holidays.
Very very good
____________________________________

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoisMeios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

The whole team of Cour des Loges thanks you for your "fantastic" review.
As you had a great time, we hope that you would want to come back to our hotel to discover our fabulous Sunday brunch or to have a great romantic diner at our gastronomic restaurant "Les Loges".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a perfect marriage of an ancient building with modern playfulness. Our room was an adorable duplex. It was lavish in dark reds and stone and very romantic. Their is a bright sunny roof garden and a wonderful sunny (but covered) courtyard for breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring old Lyons. Best part - the wonderful bartender and cozy bar.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masifixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a sunny and charming time with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have much that is good to report about this hotel and much also that is both sad and bad. To begin positively, I have seldom met such helpful and pleasant front of house staff. Led by M. Ravet, the incomparable Chief Concierge, all personnel who met with clients were warm, polite and efficient. They are well trained and live up to the hotel's 5* status. The problems stem first from the historic building itself and the difficulty of maintenance and second from arguably poor supervision in the kitchen.
Building and maintenance: our room in the cheapest (but not cheap) category was way too small for a 5*: there was a large bath, but no shower. There was at least 0.5 inches of loose play when the door was closed: breaking in would have been easy. No facilities for tea making were provided. However, bed linen and towels were top class and the wifi was fast and reliable. The spa area was poor. No staff except when a massage was booked, the gel and shampoo containers in both showers empty, a tiny pool with a broken wave machine and a sauna which was switched off when I wanted to use it. On my second visit, the water cooler was also empty.
Breakfast was the only meal we took in the hotel. It was a buffet breakfast and the ingredients were first class - all bases covered. However, there were no warm plates so hot food cooled rapidly. We had to send back coffee to the kitchen to be reheated. The bacon was a disaster because it was not kept properly and was dried out. The reconstituted scrambled eggs were dreadful, tasteless and runny. There is no coffee shop equivalent, but fortunately the hotel is surrounded by restaurants. I just wonder why they don't compete.
A minor irritation is the car parking. Your car is taken away for / from you when you arrive and you have no further access to it without a clumsy 15 minutes ordering process to have it driven back to you. At 35 euros per night, this is not good enough.
In summary, this will have been a wonderful hotel some 20 to 30 years ago. It still has a lot to offer the uncritical traveller. In terms of what is expected from 5* today, it no longer fills the bill. My fear and sadness are that it is in decline : I wish the wonderful staff well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

First of all we are really sorry that you expected a different experience than the one you had and there are many reasons for that that I m gonna try to explain.
Indeed the building is really old and that is probably the most charming side of the hotel. But as you said "old" comes with "imperfection" and nowadays, we are looking for perfection. From that perspective, Cour Des Loges suits people who seek more a time travel to revisit the charm of the renaissance than a flawless stay in a classic palace. It is absolutely true that some of our rooms are smaller than in some other 5* hotels because we chose to keep the volumes as they were from the very beginning. Consequently, we put emphasis on the decoration but offering notwithstanding, all the comfort you expect to find in a 5* stars hotel as all the bathrooms of the 61 rooms were renovated with modern facilities.
We are glad that you appreciated the service, it is really important for the team of Cour Des Loges to always offer our clients the best service she can. And for that reason you should know that you can call the room service whenever you want and ask for coffee or tea or even food.
We don't understand your feeling about our breakfast. We mostly get good appreciations about it, and we'll ask our Chef to be very thoughtful.
We are so aware of the fact that the hotel itself and his location can be inconvenient as it's a listed historical monument erect in a pedestrian area but that is a price to pay to have the chance to live a very unique experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

An enjoyable experience and some enchanting architecture. The staff were very helpful and the restaurant was excellent. The hotel is located in the pedestrian zone, which takes some finding and he sat nav abandons you in a road that runs parallel to the hotel, so you will need the map! For a five star hotel there were signs of wear and the air con did not work, neither of which I would expect from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarrenE2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We thank you for your review.
Indeed, the little streets of the old town are tricky that's why you should not hesitate to call the hotel as the concierge will of course guide you.
Make sure that we will do our best for this air conditioning issue never happens again.
The whole team of Cour Des Loges looks forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Unique architecture. Four 16th century buildings were united to make this charming elegant hotel in Vieux Lyon. The large central courtyard houses a wonderful Michelin restaurant. There are separate elevators going to rooms in different buildings. We stayed in room 39. It was all by itself with no room nearby. Staff was the most helpful I have had a hotel in a long time. They gave us great detailed advise on sites, especially the traboules. Location is excellent in the heart of the old city.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orchiddoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

We want to thank you very much for you review that pleased the whole team.
We are glad you liked your stay so much and we look forward to seeing you in Cour Des Loges very soon where you should try the Sunday brunch because it is really worth it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Couple of years ago I had stayed in this enchanted hotel. After one night it was impossible to forget that extravagant place and inhibit the desire of becoming a perennial host.

The year after I went there with my wife who is an architect. Believe me she did not want to go back home :-)

Now we are trying to visit Cour de Loges every year because "All 61 guestrooms at the Hotel Cour des Loges are uniquely decorated, fully equipped with state-of-the-art amenities and intricately furnished to complement the original architectural design." (http://www.courdeslogeslyon.com/ )

Room Tip: Each guestroom is better than the other !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

First of all, we want to thank you for your review which is truly pleasant to read as we wish all of our clients became "perennial hosts". And how can a team of a "so one of a kind architectured hotel" be more fulfilled than by fulfilling an architect?
If I may, I ll suggest you to come back to Cour Des Loges and to stay long enough to have your nouns engraved in the walls and therefore become officially two "perennial hosts" for our greatest pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We love room 28 in particular. The staff is kind, respectful, and fantastic. The rooms are unique, the spa is small but the steam and sauna are small but fantastic. They are a great way to enjoy the facilities with a friend, partner, tea, and the roof deck. The bar is fantastic (margarita and old fashioned) so a steam may be needed in the morning. We really love this hotel. (This was our 3rd time back and see no change)

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Fabiolaabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2014

We truly thank you for your review. It is always a delight to know that our guests have the same pleasure to come back to the hotel. We hope that you will get the chance to try our sunday brunch.
We look forward to seeing you shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#16 of 194 in Lyon
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Address: 6 rue du Beouf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £174 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of Vieux-Lyon, Cour des Loges resembles a castle in the city whose decor takes you back to the Italian Renaissance. Perfect blend of historic charm and modern comfort, Cour des Loges 5 -star hotel promises luxury bespoke luxury getaways in the capital of Gaul: 1 Michelin star restaurant Les Loges, chic bistro Cafe Epicerie, bar and cigar room, Epicurean cooking atelier La Petite Loge, Pure Altitude Spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, gym, hanging gardens, and valet for all your desires, 3 "Clefs d'Or" concierges. Treat yourself to an exceptional stay fully tailored to your wishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing