We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Expensive Hotel that is Worth Every Penny”
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #10 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“An Expensive Hotel that is Worth Every Penny”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is considered the best hotel in Lyon, and I can see why. The building is a remarkable historic preservation, and its location places you right in the middle of the historic area. The concierge staff was extraordinarily helpful in plotting out two days of sightseeing that got us to all the important sights. The spa/hamam is very appealing. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. Overall, as I said in the title, one of the few top price hotels that is really worth the cost. I would skip the meals (overpriced, especially 23 euros for breakfast), as the immediate area of the hotel has many inviting restaurants.

Room Tip: If booking into a standard room, ask for room 36, which is the only one with a direct private door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
The whole team of Cour Des Loges thanks you for your review. We are glad you appreciated your stay in Cour Des Loges so much.
We really hope that you will come back soon to take the chance to enjoy our terrace of the Café Epicerie with its fresh and quality products that won't disappoint you as they are cooked by our one star Michelin chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    291
    117
    57
    21
See reviews for
131
788
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

First of all, I have to say that it was not typical visit in hotel. At the end of Feb our company organized kick off meeting in this place and almost whole company enjoy the time in Lyon – enjoy the Lyon but not the hotel. In fact all expenses were covered by company but after such service I will never- ever back to this hotel.
For the positive thing, I have to say that place is really interesting- the building looks like from fairy- tale and you really could feel the atmosphere of wonderful medieval town. The hotel located in the center of old town – very convenient placement.

And, actually, the hotel is not really bad but, I had impression there is the triumph of form over content. Cheap and broken taps, broken mirror in the bathroom mask by strangely painted flowers, cheap decoration - it is not look like 5 stars- ….To be fair rooms are very cosy, clean but again to be fair it rather 4stars maximum.
But the rooms is not the biggest issue- the worst thing is this hotel is the service, personnel was unfriendly, unhelpful, in case if some help was requested – everything was done too slowly and ineffectively. Some waiters in restaurant were arrogant, food was tasteless and I drunk the worst vine in my life there.
In other words – bad value for money.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We thank you for your review, as we are always trying to improve ourselves in order to please our clients.
We are sorry you did not like the design of the hotel which was inspired from the renaissance and is therefore not similar to what you are used to see in palaces!
But that is not our goal. Our goal is precisely to give our clients the chance to have a unique experience in this fabulous four hundred years old building that belongs to the Unesco Patrimony. When you come to Cour Des Loges you make the choice to live at a complete different time for a few hours or days.
However I have to say that we are very chocked by your comments regarding the service. In fact that is the first time clients complain about the staff and I weigh my words. We are actually used to quite the opposite as the team of Cour Des Loges is known for being extremely friendly and helpful.
We are sorry that you did not like the spirit of the hotel but we hope you had a great time in Lyon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2014

A friend recommended staying in the ancient part of Lyon. The only hotel I thought would be a fun experience, based on the internet, was the Cour des Loges. My husband and I loved it ! It's not your typical 5 star hotel, but we weren't looking for typical, we were looking for an extra-ordinary experience and Cour des Loges fits the bill. We stayed in a smaller room on the street side, once night fell, the streets emptied and it was pretty quiet (except for a loud motorcycle). Our room had a small shower in the corner and a large tub in the room - but we considered it as part of the ambience of the ancient building being modified to accommodate it's guests. It was fun ! The staff was unbelievable. We had one day to explore Lyon - and Gerard gave us a perfect one day guide along with dinner ideas, etc... (We were there on a Sunday and left Monday, so the restaurants were closed in the hotel). Gerard and the staff could not be kinder or more accommodating. Our overall experience was excellent - when we return to Lyon, Cour des Loges is where we will stay. I have already recommended it to our friends. The only issue we had was the WiFi was slow. A must see is Notre Dame of Lyon, it's gorgeous ! Enjoy !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
The whole team of Cour des Loges appreciate it and Gerard is waiting for giving you another "perfect day" to explore Lyon.
The next time you come to Cour Des Loges, ask for another room thus you could live a totally new experience as each of our rooms has its own spirit and design.
We can't wait to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

I love France but ive never been to lyon so I was worried I might have picked the wrong hotel. I was not left unhappy so I can say I might the right choice, good service and friendly too. Anyone looking for a nicd stay in Lyon is at the right adress here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We want to thank for your nice review and we are pleased that your first stay in Lyon was nice.
We hope that you will reproduce the experience very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldas da Rainha, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Amazing place and service!
Right in the city center, incredible location and even better facilities.
Great for a romantic escape or family holidays.
Very very good
____________________________________

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoisMeios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
The whole team of Cour des Loges thanks you for your "fantastic" review.
As you had a great time, we hope that you would want to come back to our hotel to discover our fabulous Sunday brunch or to have a great romantic diner at our gastronomic restaurant "Les Loges".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a perfect marriage of an ancient building with modern playfulness. Our room was an adorable duplex. It was lavish in dark reds and stone and very romantic. Their is a bright sunny roof garden and a wonderful sunny (but covered) courtyard for breakfast. The location is perfect for exploring old Lyons. Best part - the wonderful bartender and cozy bar.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masifixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you had a sunny and charming time with us and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

I have much that is good to report about this hotel and much also that is both sad and bad. To begin positively, I have seldom met such helpful and pleasant front of house staff. Led by M. Ravet, the incomparable Chief Concierge, all personnel who met with clients were warm, polite and efficient. They are well trained and live up to the hotel's 5* status. The problems stem first from the historic building itself and the difficulty of maintenance and second from arguably poor supervision in the kitchen.
Building and maintenance: our room in the cheapest (but not cheap) category was way too small for a 5*: there was a large bath, but no shower. There was at least 0.5 inches of loose play when the door was closed: breaking in would have been easy. No facilities for tea making were provided. However, bed linen and towels were top class and the wifi was fast and reliable. The spa area was poor. No staff except when a massage was booked, the gel and shampoo containers in both showers empty, a tiny pool with a broken wave machine and a sauna which was switched off when I wanted to use it. On my second visit, the water cooler was also empty.
Breakfast was the only meal we took in the hotel. It was a buffet breakfast and the ingredients were first class - all bases covered. However, there were no warm plates so hot food cooled rapidly. We had to send back coffee to the kitchen to be reheated. The bacon was a disaster because it was not kept properly and was dried out. The reconstituted scrambled eggs were dreadful, tasteless and runny. There is no coffee shop equivalent, but fortunately the hotel is surrounded by restaurants. I just wonder why they don't compete.
A minor irritation is the car parking. Your car is taken away for / from you when you arrive and you have no further access to it without a clumsy 15 minutes ordering process to have it driven back to you. At 35 euros per night, this is not good enough.
In summary, this will have been a wonderful hotel some 20 to 30 years ago. It still has a lot to offer the uncritical traveller. In terms of what is expected from 5* today, it no longer fills the bill. My fear and sadness are that it is in decline : I wish the wonderful staff well.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
First of all we are really sorry that you expected a different experience than the one you had and there are many reasons for that that I m gonna try to explain.
Indeed the building is really old and that is probably the most charming side of the hotel. But as you said "old" comes with "imperfection" and nowadays, we are looking for perfection. From that perspective, Cour Des Loges suits people who seek more a time travel to revisit the charm of the renaissance than a flawless stay in a classic palace. It is absolutely true that some of our rooms are smaller than in some other 5* hotels because we chose to keep the volumes as they were from the very beginning. Consequently, we put emphasis on the decoration but offering notwithstanding, all the comfort you expect to find in a 5* stars hotel as all the bathrooms of the 61 rooms were renovated with modern facilities.
We are glad that you appreciated the service, it is really important for the team of Cour Des Loges to always offer our clients the best service she can. And for that reason you should know that you can call the room service whenever you want and ask for coffee or tea or even food.
We don't understand your feeling about our breakfast. We mostly get good appreciations about it, and we'll ask our Chef to be very thoughtful.
We are so aware of the fact that the hotel itself and his location can be inconvenient as it's a listed historical monument erect in a pedestrian area but that is a price to pay to have the chance to live a very unique experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#7 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: Entree 468 2 rue du Boeuf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing