We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff, rooms a bit tired” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cour des Loges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cour des Loges
Ranked #9 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff, rooms a bit tired”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2011

We stayed here for three nights. The first room we were shown to had a very dark corridoor outside, the floor inside was uneven and the shower was in the middle of the room obscurred by a carpet. The room was also very small so we asked to move. They had a much larger room at the back of the hotel which was much better. The room was generally clean but the toilet walls could have done with a bit of a clean. They were doing some work at the back of the hotel outside and did warn us of this but we did not hear any noise from this and it did not affect us. There was a dog living behind the hotel that barked every morning that was a bit irritating.

The new room had a constant buzzing noise coming from the electrical cupboard by the front door. After the first day the bathroom light stopped working so they moved us to a suite which was very nice.

All the rooms are a bit dark and the grey bathroom suites are a bit dated. There is a pool (very small) and gym, sauna and steam room. These facilities are very good.

The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly and the bar is a very relaxing place with the best selection of single matls outside of Scotland. Be careful to check the prices though. The 21 year old Macallan was 68 Euros per glass.

The hotel is in a perfect location for exploring Lyon and the area feels very safe.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainMcT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    285
    113
    55
    21
See reviews for
130
763
29
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at this beautiful hotel. We recieved a very warm welcome from all the hotel staff. Gerard, the world's best concierge, was excellent. He takes much care to point out all the highlights and history of Lyon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crisy7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Our rooms were beautiful and charming with art and objects. The immediate area in old Lyon was a joy to walk and explore. The concierge was most hospitable taking care of practically everything from reservations to guides. Breakfast every morning was superb. We loved it and was very happy during our stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Airplanechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2011

Service was absolutely perfect striking the correct balance between efficiency and friendliness. Hotel itself is a stunning historical building which did not compromise on quality as it was both elegant and sympathetically maintained. Our room was very well presented with a touch of quirkiness - the shower and bath were in the room and both new and efficient. Location brilliant for the tourist and I suspect businessman alike. We found the hotel quiet and romantic. Good complimentary wifi.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

If you DONT have a sense of history, DONT stay here.
If you want a template 5* business hotel, DONT stay here.
If you want your room to be near-identical to the room next-door, DONT stay here.
If you CANT tolerate odd-shaped rooms, and quirky bathroom layouts, DONT stay here.

If you want highly individual rooms, with luxurious furnishings, in a truly fantastic historic building, with great service in a fantastic location, then CHOOSE the Cour Des Loges.
If you want a Hotel and experience that you will remember for the rest of your life, then CHOOSE the Cour Des Loges.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirScrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tischker, Propriétaire at Cour des Loges, responded to this review, 20 April 2011
Thank you. It's exactly what we would like to read in the guides!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

First of alll I would like to thank you the Hotel staff (speaking very well not only in French, but also in English and some of employees some other languages) for the remarkable stay in the Cour des Loges Hotel. In April of 2010 we had planned to go to this hotel with my husband but due to the problemes provoked by the famous volcano in Island we were forced to reschedule our travel to Lyon. As we decided to go for winter holidays in the French Alpes, thus we wanted to spent the first days of our holidays in Lyon (particularly, the eve of Dec 31, 2010). Before our arrival to Lyon I read a lot about the Hotel and I was really impatient to see whether the Hotel will be really so nice, beautiful and pisturesque as it seemed to be. The reality (the Hotel itself and the ambiance) exceeded my expectations! I do appriciate the efforts of the persons who had succeded to modernize and upgrade the Hotel with all necessary and due respect to the historical place where the Hotel situated (Old Town) and the history of the building itself. I will not repeat all the details of the Hotel description that we can find on the Cour Des Loges official site that is very user-friendly and comprehensive, just I want to say that if you have an opportunity to come to Lyon, please do not hesitate and make a choice of the hotel for your stay in favour of Cour des Loges. Again, many thanks to the Hotel staff for the ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

I could not fault it the staff could not do enough for you and the Hotel & location are great.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank earny25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Villa Florentine
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cour des Loges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cour des Loges

Property: Cour des Loges
Address: Entree 468 2 rue du Boeuf, 69005, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#5 Family Hotel in Lyon
#6 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#11 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cour des Loges 5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cour des Loges hotel is one of the finest jewels in Lyon's old town. Its Renaissance courtyard, home to the Loges Michelin-starred restaurant, 61 rooms and suites, the hanging gardens, the Pure Altitude Spa... Whether for romance or gourmet delights, on business, for a shopping or cultural break, treat yourself to an exceptional stay in Lyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion and TravelUp so you can book your Cour des Loges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cour Des Loges Lyon
Cour Des Loges Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing