We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most convenient hotels I ever had”
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #72 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The staff are extremely courteous and helpful. Location is right next to Bellecour (~200m) and thus public transport. Walking distance from eating places and Vieux Lyon. Clean. Double windows, so quiet.
Rooms are a little tight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad_Kloub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
There are newer reviews for Elysee Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 208 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

The hotel delivers what it promises - it's very basic, just a bed, tv and small wardrobe in the room and an adjoining small bathroom. But it is clean and in a great location and we had a room facing the back on the 5th floor which was quiet and provided a good night's sleep. Staff were cordial and assisted with whatever we requested.

If you don't intend to spend much time in the room and want a good base then this is perfect and great value. However if you like your luxuries and space, then this isn't the place for you.

Also as mentioned in other reviews, if you do have big bags or problems carrying things/walking up stairs, then you may want to reconsider as there is a steep flight of stairs to get to the lift to take you further up. Not a problem for us, but can see how this could cause angst if someone is not up for that climb.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ExploringSoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The room was really tiny for . Lack of nearby parking complicated by copious road construction. Elevator was a little pointless since I had to climb a few sets of stairs before getting there. Super locale in the middle of the Presqu'il though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

I stayed in the Elysee Hotel for 4 nights during a conference in Lyon. It is situated on one of the main shopping streets (full of boutiques - Hermes, Louis Vuitton etc) and very close to Place Bellecour and the Bellecour metro station. The owner is very pleasant and helpful (eg. directions to the nearest laundromat or supermarket).

The room: reasonably large with a queen bed and 'breathing space'. Interesting decor - the bedspread was yellow-orange! There was a wardrobe with heaps of storage space (shelves as well as hangers) and shelves. The desk looked out to the courtyard (in front of the windows). Note there is no in-room safe or fridge/mini-bar as this is a budget hotel. The airconditioning worked very efficiently. It was very clean and very quiet - despite having jetlag I slept soundly each night. The free wifi was fast and fantastic. I did not try the breakfast so I can't comment on this.

The bathroom: quite compact but very functional including several shelves for toiletries (a big plus as many bathrooms don't include enough storage space). Plenty of hot water.

The location: it is parallel to Rue de la Republique, one of the main pedestrianised streets - near to the cinema and Haagen Dazs ice-cream! Bellecour is on the small island between the two rivers (Rhone, Saone) and there are plenty of restaurants within walking distance (esp. Rue de Merciers). You can walk across the bridge to Vieux Lyon or catch the metro out to the suburbs (where my conference was located).

Downsides (all minor):
1) It was impossible to use the full-length mirror in the wardrobe as it was situation in an awkward position - on a door that cannot fully open outwards as it crunches into the bedside table.
2) The shower was extremely small. For a short person I managed ok, although I did manage to keep knocking the water controls with my back when turning around... I think it would be a struggle for taller people.
3) The towels were quite thin.
4) As noted by others, the lift only starts on the 1st floor so you have to carry your luggage from the ground floor up to the lift. It wasn't a problem for me though.

Overall though, the hotel suited my purposes well - quiet, excellent central location, plenty of space and storage, clean, good value - and I would recommend Elysee Hotel to other travellers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TashfromMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Arrived with a warm welcoming and free drinks then shown our rooms to which they had turned on the air con. Even know inside needs a lick of paint here and there it was reasonably nice. Me and my family's complaint is the lif not going to the ground floo and with one of us being disabled getting to our room and have breakfast was hard but knowing that one of us was disabled they happerly brought it to the room. Great staff.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Kieran A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Stayed for two nights. Good location for shopping and restaurants. Room has aircon, clean and fair size. Quiet and pleasant area to look around.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Well located hotel just off Place Bellecour in the heart of the shopping district. Short walk to great restaurants (Rue Mercier) and Vieux Lyon. Air conditioned rooms are functional but the staff are the highlight - really friendly and helpful.
All round good choice if you're planning a busy weekend in Lyon and don't expect to spend too much time back at base.
We'd certainly stay again when next in Lyon.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorfolkFozzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel du Theatre
#61 of 196 in Lyon
231 reviews
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 196 in Lyon
1,001 reviews
Globe et Cecil
#50 of 196 in Lyon
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Republik Hotel
#93 of 196 in Lyon
190 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Best Western Saint Antoine
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Address: 92 rue du President Edouard Herriot, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £54 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elysee Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing