We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellant front desk, and large room !!”
Review of Globe et Cecil

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Globe et Cecil
Ranked #47 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2012

This was one of the high points to our 5 week France vacation. The hotel was centrally located, rooms exceptionally large and updated, with a friendly front desk !! We really enjoyed the corner room, good breeze and view. Bed was one of the most confortable of our trip. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor, the evening breeze is great and you will be above the road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fireman123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2012

Just happened to checking TA reviews for the Globe and Cecil for a friend, and decided to write this note to agree 100% with Murry 08's review. Although we stayed at the Globe et Cecil April 2010, unfortunately, I omitted to write a review at that time! We were also booked in by a business associate, we had a lovely front corner room on a higher floor and found that everyone at the hotel was delightful. We enjoyed breakfast every morning. Madame who looked after the breakfast room was charming. The Globe et Cecil is in a great location for exploring the historic centre of Lyon. Lyon is a safe city for a woman to explore on her own, and safe enough to carry a purse. Speaking French, I thought Lyon and the hotel were lovely places to visit for a few days.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amigadelmondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

My husband daughter and I recently stayed 2 nights at this lovely hotel. We used our Rick Steve's book. Had no reservations and walked in last Sunday. We were warmly greeted and checked in to a lovely double room with our college age daughter across the hall in a small room with bed and shower. We loved it here. Everyone very friendly and would return in a heartbeat. Front desk knead knows city and can recommend restaurants and other information. Highlyy recommend

Room Tip: We were at front of hotel. I liked that.elevator very fast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was a real disappointment. Our welcome was an extended speach about how expensive the public parking was. It should have been a beautiful hotel but the maintenance was poor and the staff was not welcoming. I was locked in the bathroom our first day when the door handle fell off. After a fuss the desk changed our room without an apology. We knew we had a new room because we found the key on our bed. Our new room had a towel rack that fell off.

We were never made to feel welcome. We noted a very stern looking managerial type woman who ignored us and everyone appeared scared of her. This could explain the staff's less than warm approach. The location was great and the price was very fair. If they only had better customer service and maintence, it would be a great operation.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We were booked into this hotel via my husband's company. I popped onto Trip Advisor and read all the reviews, so had a great deal of trepidation about it. We couldn't have been more pleased. The location is fabulous with easy access to historical parts of town; in between both rivers; shopping district. Our room was on the 3rd floor, front corner and I can see where it would have been noisy had the weather been warm enough to open the windows. As it was, it was quite quiet. The bed, linens and pillows could not have been better. The decor was great. And the staff? Absolutely welcoming--from those who spoke very good english, to the one who spoke very little. They were friendly, warm, and welcoming. The breakfast was limited, but still fresh and good. Perhaps someone in management there has been reading these reviews and made changes?
I know that when we are in Lyon again, we would stay here.

Room Tip: Ask them for the room you want: Quiet, with a desk, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MurryG08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Nice room decoration
Excellent location
Helpful staff
Internet access is bit complicated with a daily changing access right
Room too light (only transparent curtain)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pillare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2011

I booked this hotel in April. I had repeated problems with them having input my credit card incorrectly. Finally got that resolved in mid May and had confirmed reservation.

When I arrived, they had cancelled they reservation the day before. They claimed the card information would not process. Of course, when I went down the road to The Carlton, everything was fine with the card, as it had been all along.

You may think you have a confirmed reservation with these guys. Don't bet on it.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
3  Thank joreyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Artistes
#31 of 194 in Lyon
448 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
1,036 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globe et Cecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globe et Cecil

Address: 21 rue Gasparin, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Globe et Cecil 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Globe et Cecil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Globe Et Cecil Lyon
Globe Et Cecil Hotel Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing