We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great few days in Lyon”
Review of B4 Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B4 Lyon
Ranked #145 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Selkirk
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great few days in Lyon”
Reviewed 11 September 2011

We are 4 friends who visited Lyon for a 3 night break.

First the not so good. The 2 bedrooms that we had were in need of re-decoration, had paint peeling off walls, 1 window cracked, very dated in appearance, mirror only in bathroom none in bedroom and no restaurant. Now the good, the rooms were very very clean, fantastic maid service every day, very friendly and helpful staff, breakfast was ok. We did not pay a lot of money for the hotel as booked online, therefore we had great value for the price we paid.

We were delighted that this hotel was so central to everything, for example shops, restaurants, rivers, old town.

Although there were some faults with the hotel and it is our opinion that it should be 3* rather than 4*, due to the friendly staff, high standard of cleanliness and location, we would have no hesitation in returning if back in Lyon, would also recommend to others. We would suggest that this hotel is booked online, as there are some great deals/offers available.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillarsSelkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    95
    52
    44
    9
See reviews for
24
86
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-les-Bains, France
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

It is nice to have some space in a hotel room in Europe. The hotel had old fashioned sized rooms, huge windows (that could open) and high ceilings. The breakfast was plenty and the fruit fresh. The service was friendly...

A very central hotel on the island. Heaps of restaurants around.

If you didn't fancy walking, then Lyon has a great transportation system - so don't bring your car!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MellieMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed at the Boscolo Grand for one night in summer 2011 on our way to Provence.

I did book very late, but upon booking I was assured by a person in the hotel that we would get adjoining rooms for our 2 children. When we checked in, the rooms were on the opposite sides of the corridor. The infrastructire at the hotel seems quite old and all the doors are really flimsy with old fashioned locks, so there was no way we were going to put the children in a room on their own, when anyone could knock in the door without even trying.

The hotel does not have its own restaurant, so we asked a very helpful person in the reception to recommend us one nearby. He did a good job in selling us the restaurant, but it was a shame the restaurant didn't live up to his sales pitch (wasn't his fault though).

The breakfast at the hotel is distinctly average and unmemorable, except for the coffee, which was dreadful (both from the pot and the cappuchino which you need to order extra from the staff).

Altogether the hotel was a bit of a disappointment; apart from the lobby, it really isn't grand and everything is a bit old and run down.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_w_kids_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Clean, convenient location near old town . Breakfast had good variety, cereals , some hot food etc. Helpful staff. AC was a bit dodgy in two of the rooms. Wi Fi was free.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorraineCopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

The hotel is ideally located in the center of Lyon. Double-glazing is efficient.
We chose a De Luxe room and were not disappointed. Nicely appointed large room.
I would recommend avoiding "standard" rooms - very small, specially if the difference in price is not huge.
Buffet breakfast was OK, but the breakfast room is not easy to find!
Nice bar for a night drink.

Room Tip: Choose a De Luxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buggenhout
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2011

With a group of 9 businessmen, we had booked a meeting room and 7 individual rooms at a rate of 145 EURO per night, per room, exclusive the cost for the meeting room. The air conditioning in the hotel was broken and could not be fixed. With an outside temperature of 32 °C, it was extremely hot in the rooms. Opening the window was not an option due to the noise of cars passing by. The leader of our group tried to negotiate a discount or at least a free bottle of water, but in vain. This hotel is one of the B4 Boscolo Hotels.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucBuggenhout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Am having a nightmare with my booking at this hotel. We booked two double rooms for an upcoming holiday on a non refundable basis. The booking policy did not state that we cannot change the type of room after booking. We asked to either get an extra bed in one of the rooms we booked or change it to a triple room instead. We don't mind paying the supplements or extra charges but the reservations desk insist we book another room. Does anyone know the contact of the GM at this hotel so we can get some help please.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Didocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#50 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Lyon

Property: B4 Lyon
Address: 11 rue Grolee, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your B4 Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Lyon Hotel Lyon
Lyon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing