We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Boscolo Grand Hotel (B4 Lyon)”
Review of B4 Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B4 Lyon
Ranked #145 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Boscolo Grand Hotel (B4 Lyon)”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Old, grand hotel,needs updating overall but has very modern bathrooms. The wonderful lobby entrance from Rue Grolee leads to great expectations which are only partially fulfilled.Service is limited to put it nicely, the petit dejeuner is extremely limited when compared to other hotels but, on the plus side, we had a riverview room which was gigantic and very nicely appointed. So, despite the criticism, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room, they are the largest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    95
    52
    44
    9
See reviews for
24
86
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

This is a hotel situated in a quite old building. This limits the layout so it is quite labyrinth like. For instance next to the main elevator there are stairs, but not from the street level. So if you take the stairs down from your room, you will not end up in the reception, but on the -1 floor instead.

Hotel is clean and quite okay, especially the lobby. The rooms are small and with ancient locks (wouldn't count on the security). The bathroom does not have any shower curtain or similar, so the floors will be flooding unless you take a bath instead of a shower. The floor was like 2cm of water after a shower and it looked like from the fungus on the corners (or something odd black that didn't belong there) that it wasn't the first time this happened.
There is practically no WiFi. They have some kind of network, but very poor signal and keeps disconnecting. Beds are not bad and I didn't hear any noise from the rooms next to mine.

Breakfast is quite simple, not too much selection. But what was there was quite allright.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dimangi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on a business trip, room was OK but no more. The ambience of the hotel was dated, a bit of a rabbit warren surrounding one (temperamental) lift. The breakfast room was totally devoid of atmosphere and the bar was shut on 2 nights by the time we returned from eating out.

On the positive side the bathroom was large, bright and fairly recently renovated. Bed comfortable and bedroom clean.

Safe in room didn't work - swipe card system but insufficient room to actually swipe the card!

Location was close to the river and numerous restaurants within easy walking distance. No wifi although wired internet access in the rooms. Not a car friendly location.

In summary - an adequate big city hotel if you can get a good deal but certainly wouldn't hurry back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grumpy_Old_Man_Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Reception area is the only grand feature of this hotel. One of the two lifts was out of order, so we had to walk a circuit of the hotel to and from our room and breakfast. Our room was large though hardly deluxe, but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Could not get Internet access. There is no restaurant, and breakfast quite limited with poor quality food: the fruit salad was tinned, and the fruit in the fruit bowl was not very fresh. Despite having mentioned on arrival that I cannot eat food containing gluten, this was not addressed and after two reminders I was told the chef had been able to source the products. Good central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindavies8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Hove
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We arrived at the hotel and were very welcome by the staff at reception.
We went to our room as we were about to open the chambermaid came running towards us telling us the room was not ready.
In her extremely broken french she offered to either keep our luggage while she was going to prepare the room or to still keep our luggage while we were going downstairs to get another room. We asked to see the room. It was quite standard in decor and not huge.
So we went back to reception. The staff was already aware and were very apologetic.
We were offerd a second room...It sounded better. There was a huge double door followed by another one. The room was massive with 2 huge windows facing the Rhone River. The marbled bathroom was equally massive with 2 basins a massive opaque window and a separate toilet.
The room decor was very dated yet still very comfortable. The bedding was excellent with the 2 single beds each almost as big as a double bed. We did find the dated decor in fact rather refreshing as most hotels are lookalike.
We had 2 wonderfully quiet nights there as all 3 massive windows are in fact sets of 2 windows. The original single glazed and the inside double glazed. So absolutely no noise from the hugely busy road alongside the Rhone river.
We checked our e mails and found we needed to print our train tickets. So I went to reception explaining the pb. The receptionist spent 20 minutes sorting my pb which I found had nothing to do with him or the hotel. His boss helped him too. We just can't fault the staff.
So yes it is dated but our stay was lovely and the staff superb.
Breakfast was fine, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBfroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
198 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Location is the only thing the Grand Hotel Boscolo has going for it. Rarely does a hotel really let me down as much as this one.

The hotel itself is really dated and seriously needs an overhaul.

Call it what you want old world charm, heritage, vintage. The grand hotel is not a good kind of charming, heritage... vintage and so on. It's just old. The grand hotel boscolo fits that old saying "putting icing on a turd" to a tee.

Room security is so poor. This hotel still gives you a skeleton key for a room key attached to 12 inch keychain. PLEASE SEE PICTURES OF ROOM KEY. Considering international clientele would stay here with stuff like passports etc. in their room you would think and electronic door lock would be standard. At the Grand Hotel security is a skeleton key with a lock that could be picked with a toothpick. The door is also so old a good ole kick would get it open.

The room itself was large but soooo old. Seriously the room was musty and smelt of the 1800's. I think i could still smell Louis the VII's feet.

The sofa in the room was so old it had a slip cover and the chairs had towels on them so you wouldn't dirty your pants sitting on them. Gross.

The bed was like plywood with a sheet on it. It was honestly that hard.

The bathroom was redone in marble in recent times. When you would shower a huge puddle of water would go on the floor and seep down a crack i'm assuming in to the room below. I posted pictures of the hole and the marble coming off because so much water damage had occured over time.

Staff was good... i guess they only work at the grand hotel. They are not the one's that should be making the investment to fix it.

Honestly the best part of this hotel was seeing it in my rearview mirror.

Room Tip: You can get a great room by going to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerjner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö
Level Contributor
160 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This hotel is quite centrally located, but this is true of many other hotels, as the centre of Lyon is quite small. The rooms are frayed at the edges. There is no restaurant at this hotel. There is no electric outlet at the desk area to plug in the computer unless you unplug the table lamp, the refrigerator or the TV. Reception cannot supply an adaptor. They do not have umbrellas for loan either. Internet connection (included in the room price) is not so reliable. There is a young man with glasses at the Reception who is exceptional in his service, efficient, friendly and with a good memory. For 150 € per night, there are much better alternatives in Lyon.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strakur74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Globe et Cecil
#47 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Republik Hotel
#101 of 193 in Lyon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Lyon

Property: B4 Lyon
Address: 11 rue Grolee, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your B4 Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Lyon Hotel Lyon
Lyon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing