We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience at the perfect location in Lyon”
Review of B4 Lyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
B4 Lyon
Ranked #144 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very pleasant experience at the perfect location in Lyon”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

B4 is located at the heart of Bellecour in Lyon right by the river. The junior suite we were given at this classicaly styled hotel was extremely spacious and very comfortable. It was very quiet -thanks to double French windows that kept the traffic noise out. There was no concierge but the front desk staff was always extremely helpful. The only minor problems were that the room service is only open at certain hours and days -and sometimes closes even earlier- and unfortunately we couldn't enjoy the lovely river view beacuse of the current scaffolding around the building.

Room Tip: The corner junior suites are spacious with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    95
    52
    44
    9
See reviews for
24
86
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Nothing stand out about this hotel.

I stayed in a very small room facing the internal building.
The room was quiet, neat and tidy but very small. I have a large suitcase and could not fit it in the cupboard.


The Breakfast is typical "French", Pastries, yoghurt, fruit and a selection of cold meats. Nothing Western so there is no bacon and eggs.


On the bright side it was cheep compared to others but maybe that's because of the size of the shoe box I got.

Room Tip: Avoid the ones facing the internal court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozyphilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Stayed here twice during December and January - very good location for hotel. It is a very old style hotel and definitely needs an upgrade but the room I stayed in was big and airy. I would definitely recommend comparing prices with other hotels.

Problems encountered - very limited room service menu, cold room, no wireless, bit noisy and limited breakfast.

I would stay here again though but only use it as a base for sleep and shower.

Room Tip: The deluxe double rooms are nice as well as 417, 418.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirdieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The hotel is in a very central and good location, walking distance to shopping and restaurant. Other than that, it's incredibly basic and bland. The room was small and claustrophobic (bathroom was bigger than the bedroom) and you could hear people talking and walking in the hallways. There is wired internet but no wireless internet, which for 2012, is ridiculous.

The room key is traditional with an obnoxiously oversized key chain I had to leave at the front-desk every time I left, as it's impossible to keep in your pocket or a small purse. Had breakfast delivered to the room the following day and it was uninspiring and forgettable. Check-in and check-out was fine, I didn't interact much with the staff to comment on service.

Thankfully I used some frequent flier miles to book this, I wouldn't spend a cent on this hotel otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank grumpykins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
173 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Avoid. There are better hotels in Lyon for the same price.
Hotel need total refurbishment. Looks like the good times are far away beyond this place.
Poor breakfast. No restaurant. Tiny rooms.
I do not know what this hotel got 4* for !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Very large comfortable room and bathroom. Excellent service from friendly and helpful staff. We spent 4 nights at the hotel from 30th November and enjoyed every moment. Very close to the old town, Place Bellacour and some excellent restaurants. A very pleasant experience overall.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patr00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano, Italy
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

We had a beautiful room 407 with view on the river. Very well sound proof. Excellent and large bathroom, confortable bed and ambiance.
Service was great and breakfast above average.
Easy paking facilities. just attached to the center and best historic and shopping area
We'll go back.

Room Tip: ask for room with river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoMilano_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Plaza Republique
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#42 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Elysee Hotel
#66 of 194 in Lyon
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B4 Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B4 Lyon

Property: B4 Lyon
Address: 11 rue Grolee, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Cordeliers - Jacobins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#49 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — B4 Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your B4 Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b4 Lyon Hotel Lyon
Lyon Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing