We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and found it to be very centrally located for sightseeing, shopping and eating. We were able to get everywhere we wanted on foot. The room was very clean and a great size, including the bathroom which was very modern. We had a view of the opera house and the plaza in front of it. As another reviewer has stated, we also had a room with squeaky floors and there was no free wifi. Even so, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbrooks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    215
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
35
203
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great location and nice hotel. The room was big enough. We had a Twin room with 2 big beds.
Perfect hotel for a weekend in Lyon.
And the price is cheap too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We found the hotel clean, quite well placed, close to a number of very good restaurants and to the shopping area. Our complaints are the following: the floor boards of our room made load, awkward noises when trodden upon so that every time one of us went to the bathroom at night the other would be woken up with the noise. The room did not have a single drawer which was an inconvenience considering we were staying for a week. One suggestion to the management. Please do change the trays you use for breakfast. They are as large as the breakfast table and one has to actually eat one's breakfast from a crammed tray!
The soundproofing is fantastic. I doubt whether I have been to any hotel where the sound of passing traffic is so brilliantly isolated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room withour creaking floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller190328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2011

I stayed here on a recent horseracing trip and found it to be a great hotel. It was a 5 minute walk from Bellecour metro station which it self was about 15 minutes away from the main railway station at Gare Part Dieu. The hotel is situated in a square near the main theatre. Although it doesn't have a restaurant there are plenty of them situated nearby especially in Rue Mercier which is a 10 minute walk away. My room was quite small but had a decent sized bathroom with it. The only minus point was that there were no drawers to put anything in. The lift was about the smallest I've seen. It says suitable for 4 people but I found it cramped with just myself and a suitcase in it. The staff were all very friendly and spoke English. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and would certainly recommend it to anyone wanting to come to this lovely city.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rayraynewby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Oak
Level Contributor
132 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I've been to this hotel twice in the last 10 months because the location is fantastic and the hotel is so clean it sparkles. You can see the Cathedral all lit up at night from some of the rooms and you're right in the midst of amazing window shopping and great restaurants. All you have to do to get to the large Renaissance neighborhood is cross the bridge.
The hotel itself is tastefully decorated and well-maintained. Make sure to get a room that has a window onto a street, though, because the interior rooms open onto a closed courtyard and are very hot. The staff is courteous but not especially friendly. You have to pay for wifi, unfortunately.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKRoyalOak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2011

The hotel itself is nice but is decorated more for business travelers. The desk staff were very abrupt and when asking what to see in Lyon just pointed us in the direction of the tourist office. Our room was very hot and the airconditioning was broken but they did move us to another room for our next nights stay, though as the room was pre paid could only offer us a free breakfast and no compensation. The second room was also very warm and we ended up sleeping with the window open for a second night even though it was freezing outside. The location was very central and in a nice part of town. I would recommend it, but only if there was not a better option for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gutzie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2010

We just needed a bed for the night after a long drive and this fitted the bill. We paid £90 on Expedia. The staff were all very courteous and helpful and the atmosphere is charming with whimsical artistic touches. Our room was modern and perfectly clean with fine quality white sheets and a clean, modern bathroom with large powerful walk-in shower, no bath. There was a hairdryer and the usual toiletries. The lavatory was separate. The windows in the bathroom and in the bedroom opened, overlooking a narrow side street. There was very little hanging space or space around the bed, if I was there with any more luggage or for a longer time I would have found it far too pokey.Looking at the floorplan of the first floor the other rooms seemed to be a similar size or slightly bigger. A real pet hate of mine is the fact there was no full-length mirror - as someone who usually buys shoes when in France and Italy I do like to be able to see how they look! The surrounding area is lovely, nice bars and shops, many specialising in modern furniture and design items. Breakfast was 12 Euro each and was served in a bright rear room with good coffee, pleasant service and the usual selection of pastries, cereals, yoghurts, ham, cheese boiled eggs and fresh fruit. There was also a selection of newspapers in various languages. Tip for motorists: when you turn into the small street where the hotel is, you immediately see the entrance for the public car park which is under the square Des Celestins - drive straight down to park in a well-lit, spiral garage, a lift takes you back up to the square which you walk across to the hotel entrance. We paid only Eu13 for the overnight parking when we drove out the next day.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank london_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
976 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 194 in Lyon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#42 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing