We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorable Central Location”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Favorable Central Location”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This hotel is in a central location to tour city. It is quite clean and the staff is courteous. I booked room through hotels.com and while a fair price, the room was shoebox small. Had to step across my suitcase just to get around bed. Noise was a factor but that is not the fault of the hotel. The day we entered town there were political demonstrations and parades in the town, with the one bridge being closed down as a result. The sirens of paddywagons went on and on. Also, the town was busy. It was a weekend and people go to town to shop. Thus, while the parking garage is underground and handily across the street from the hotel, it was "complete" which means full. We drove around in the rain, yes it was also raining, until the garage was not full and we could enter. This hotel's best asset is its location.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elcie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    215
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
35
203
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Many pros: ideal central location on an elegant square, quiet rooms particularly on the back street, amazing soundproofing, comfortable beds and bathrooms with nice finishing touches, very friendly and helpful staff.
Two disappointments: wifi isn't free, and room-service breakfast is minimalist and overpriced. I'd suggest having breakfast in the neighboring cafe on the square which opens early and has a beautiful terrace in season.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

lovely clean, quiet and friendly hotel
i'd happily stay there again
spotless bathroom, lovely views if you've a room at the front and comfortable beds, big mirrors. What more could you want - the only thing it could add to make it excellent rather than very very good is a bit more colour in the rooms (such as a throw on the beds, or a rug on the brown carpet)
fantastic location

Room Tip: 2nd floor with big windows overlooking the theatre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

This was a very nice little hotel. It is in a great location, right across the river from the Vieux Lyon and close to the shopping district. Our room was clean and comfortable. Our only issues with this hotel was the AC was not working both nights we were there, which made for sleepless nights, there is no room safe, and there is no free wifi. We felt like with no AC, they should have at least comped the wifi. Other than those issues, it was a nice hotel.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank campceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed here based on TripAdvisor reviews and found it to be very centrally located for sightseeing, shopping and eating. We were able to get everywhere we wanted on foot. The room was very clean and a great size, including the bathroom which was very modern. We had a view of the opera house and the plaza in front of it. As another reviewer has stated, we also had a room with squeaky floors and there was no free wifi. Even so, I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klbrooks05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

Great location and nice hotel. The room was big enough. We had a Twin room with 2 big beds.
Perfect hotel for a weekend in Lyon.
And the price is cheap too.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Admayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We chose this hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We found the hotel clean, quite well placed, close to a number of very good restaurants and to the shopping area. Our complaints are the following: the floor boards of our room made load, awkward noises when trodden upon so that every time one of us went to the bathroom at night the other would be woken up with the noise. The room did not have a single drawer which was an inconvenience considering we were staying for a week. One suggestion to the management. Please do change the trays you use for breakfast. They are as large as the breakfast table and one has to actually eat one's breakfast from a crammed tray!
The soundproofing is fantastic. I doubt whether I have been to any hotel where the sound of passing traffic is so brilliantly isolated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room withour creaking floorboards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller190328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
976 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 194 in Lyon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#42 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing