We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel in a Great Location”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #24 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2012

You could not find a better location in Lyon. Just a min walk across the bridge to old town.. The hotel is located in the clean and safe part of the city..The rooms are great, clean and modern. We just love it. We were only going to stay one night in Lyon, but the hotel was so great and the location is so great we are staying one more night. The girl working the front desk, is amazing she know everything about Lyon......she is very nice and makes us feel like this is home......We would not Thinks about staying anywhere else in Lyon.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoeH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

182 - 188 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2012

this hotel is in the perfect location. my mom and i got off the train at lyon perrache and it was a short walk to the hotel, which is right by place bellecour - but also right on the river, where there is a great outdoor market (sunday for sure, i dont know about other days). room was small but comfortable. we didnt have breakfast, preferring a pastry at the market. i would stay there again without a doubt - friendly staff who recommended dinner places and gave discount coupons for the grand tour bus

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We stayed for 6 nights and congratulated ourselves on having found a very clean, orderly and friendly hotel.Though not exactly cheap, we felt it was acceptable value as breakfast was included and we had found the best rate with Expedia.Where do they get the fabulous beds?We did look and found a french label...a shame as we are due to buy one. Rooms are small and I agree with another contributor that a mirror would have been good in the bedroom, but it was quiet, had a great view over the square(room206, a twin so enormous beds pushed together), was serviced very well indeed and had all we needed.Just great to walk across to the old town or 5 minutes from belle-cour tube.We would use this hotel again.

Breakfast was fine.Croissants, cheese and ham, compotes, eggs etc and the small breakfast room was pleasant with excellent , friendly service.

The City Card was good value but watch out as many places are closed earlier in the week .The Roman museum is free on a Thursday anyway.The silk -makers and traboules tour was fantastic and highly recommended for the insight it gave into silkmakers' lives.

Cafe des Federation provided an enormous and delicious endless -course meal, though you do need to book ahead.The Laurencin in the old town was also very good indeed and enormous portions of hearty authentic lyonnaise food.

One restaurant in the old town, the name of which escapes me, is probably ok for a drink as it's so interesting.The menu is handwritten in old school exercise books.The furniture is school -like.Portion are very poor indeed and one diner had two meals !!

The best museum I have ever been to is in the old town.The Miniature museum (and film).

Room Tip: On the front , rather than facing the courtyard.A twin gives an enormous double bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012

We staid here a few nights and we liked it a lot. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but that is standard in a European city, it was nicely decorated and the bathroom was also good. Breakfast was great, big plus for offering freshly squeezed orange juice, and there was a good variety of bread, pastries, cereal, etc.
The location is perfect, it's in a quiet street, a lovely square next door where there are several lunch/dinner options and just steps from many stores and 5mins walk to Vieux Lyon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarHow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Brilliantly located, small, clean and friendly hotel with good facilities. Rooms are smallish but perfectly reasonable given its fantastic location.

Clean and very comfortable beds.

Nicholas and others very willing and helpful. Thank you.

Located just off a delightful square surrounded by magnolia trees, and just yards from River Saone.

Only problems, No mirror by dressing table, small albeit good quality towels.

Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneyFosdyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

My wife and I drove all the way from Paris to Leon after making a couple of stops along the way. We enjoyed our journey. We did not make hotel booking for a night stay at Leon.

We found this hotel comfortable. It was not a five star hotel, but it was good enough for tired bodies to get a proper night rest.

The room was equipped with a bathtub, a shower, very clean toilet and most importantly very comfortable bed. It reminded me of my stay at the Westin Hotel's Heavenly Bed.

The window is sound proof. TV, as usual, in all parts of France, you can hardly get to watch English movies.

We skipped breakfast because we woke up at midday.

We stayed for two nights. Great experience, good customer service, very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you stay in the heart of Lyon, you gotta pay the premium. We 5km away from this hotel on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afik_Kutcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

As many others have said in their reviews, this hotel is perfectly located. The only other hotel we really considered in Lyon was the Collège Hotel, which we walked past during our stay at the Hotel des Artistes. It was immediately apparent that the Collège Hotel is not nearly as well located, in a more noisy and touristy, and less central area. The Hotel des Artistes is on the Presqu'île within easy walking distance of most of the museums, restaurants and bouchons we wanted to go to, and is just off the lovely and quiet Place des Célestins.

I liked how the hotel handled our reservation over the phone (in French). In person, the employees at the reception are friendly and helpful. The hotel seems to be mostly made up of rooms that cost around 130 euros although there are a few smaller ones. Our standard (larger) room was very blandly decorated but just big enough with a surprisingly spacious bathroom (with shower). We liked how the line of rooms with a shower rather than bathtub have a window in the bathroom. The toilet was in a separate "cupboard", and felt a little confined. The main negative was that the bathroom sink had been installed amateurishly far from the sink tap: whenever we used the tap, however carefully, water spilled all over the sink counter and eventually ran onto the bathroom floor. Over the course of a day, between cleanings, the soapy puddle on the bathroom floor made the pleasant bathroom less pleasant. We had to leave towels on the floor to sop up the mess.

Overall, though, I'd say that the pricing was fair for Lyon judging from other hotels online, and that the location and service made up for most of our misgivings (even if the sink tap should be reinstalled immediately). We did not try the hotel breakfast as there's an excellent market on the Quai Saint Antoine 2 minutes away and a really good bakery, the Boulangerie Saint Vincent about 15 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
1,042 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Globe et Cecil
#47 of 194 in Lyon
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £84 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing