We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located and comfortable.”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #33 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well located and comfortable.”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Excellent location in the very center of Lyon.

Cozy, recently refurbished and well kept double rooms in French style with all amenities, very good beds.

Separate bathroom and toilet, very clean and well lit.

Surprisingly not enough pressure on the shower in the bathroom - the reason being a tap put up too low, so that the hose was partly blocked.

Good French breakfast.

Reception service not unfriendly, yet somehow distant and not authentically welcoming - especially by the management (as opposed to the personnel).

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Luxembourger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    215
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
35
203
40
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Our room was quiet and we slept very well, but it was very small. Short walk to major tourist attractions and many restaurants is a plus. However, it was just not really up to a standard I'd expect for the price- room size, tired bathroom fittings, very plain decor which felt more cheap motel than city hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Criticallywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

This was our second visit to the hotel having stayed for 2 nights back in 2006. As we were touring France by car we wanted somewhere central with parking. As another reviewer has mentioned there is an underground car park at Place Celestines. Yes it is expensive (we incurred a 42 Euro charge) but it's the cleanest public car park I've ever been in and doesn't smell of pee (they also play opera and jazz!). The hotel has been done up since our last visit but this time we were on the first floor in a standard room (last time we were higher up the building). We didn't expect a huge amount of space but the room this time bordered on claustrophic as it had a really low ceiling. The bathroom was fine but my 6'3 tall husband found that his knees knocked against the wall when he sat on the toilet. Like other reviewers we found the reception staff, particularly when we arrived, to be a little sullen and unresponsive. So while the hotel is in a good location I think we'd probably try somewhere different next time.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a very good hotel. The staff did a great job and were very friendly and helpful!

The rooms are fairly small but clean and well-decorated. The central location is good for exploring the area, once you've managed to master the city's lay-out.

The only real negative to this hotel is parking. Unless one is very fortunate, the only place to park is in the parking garage across the street, which is 30EUR/day. It is less if parking after 10PM.

Room Tip: Choose an upper floor to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tcreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

For budget concious travellers, the Hotel Des Artistes is a good option without having to go to a hostel. The foyer is quite elegant in an old-timey way, though our room was quite simple, no frills with an ensuite. Hotel staff could be a little friendlier, and there was no hotel room safe.
Location wise it's about a 10 minute walk to the old town of Lyon and 10 minutes to upper Presquile where all the action is.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

The receptionist, Marilyn, could not have been more helpful and pleasant. The hotel itself was extremely handy for the Place Celestine, just a few minutes away where we ate most nights. The restauarant Le Carre des Saveurs there was extremely good with a great fixed menu on in the evening with a good choice of dishes at a very reasonable price. The other restaurants in the little square were also good.

The hotel itself was very clean, had a lovely breakfast room with a good choice of items for breakfast with, most mornings, (except for Sundays), really lovely croissants.

Would certainly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 194 in Lyon
975 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 194 in Lyon
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#43 of 194 in Lyon
450 reviews
Hotel Vaubecour
#1 of 194 in Lyon
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing