We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean hotel, excellent location”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #31 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2013

hotel des artistes is a small 3 star hotel, situated near the theatre des celestins in the heart of the better shopping area of the presqu'il in Lyon. Although very centrlly located, the hotel itself is very quiet. Public underground parking just in front of the hotel. Shops, restaurants, le vieux Lyon, theatres, musea,.. all in walking distance.
we had a small but very clean room with a nice bathroom. air conditioning also OK
recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3-Wim-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 446 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Really nice, tastefully decorated, relaxing city hotel, with reasonably priced underground parking within 50 metres. Comfortable, quiet, aircon rooms. Facing almost next to the river and Cathedral and the important tourist sites. so you forget your car and enjoy wandering around old town Lyon. Staff very helpful and charming. A great one/two night break.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This is our second stay, this time we felt that the rooms were a little tired and they charged us 20euros for the use of the Internet which was not mentioned when the password was handed out. The room also seemed very hot even with air con, it didnt seem to be working so well. This hotel is good value for money, and breakfast is pretty good for 12euro, but 20e for internet use is way too much, when most hotels don't charge anything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gabbygoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days and 3 nights. It is more of a boutique hotel. Rooms were very clean and updated. The front desk staff was friendly and so helpful!
The best part of the hotel was the location. So many things were near by. The Sunday farmers market along the river was practicaly outside the front door. There is shopping, restaurants, bars and parks just a walk away. The subway was walking distance as well. Staying here over Bastille day was a real treat bc it was in the middle of the action.

I can see a few things being inconvenient for others.
The rooms were on the small side, which was not a problem for my husband and me but I can see that being a problem for families or older picky people. The elevator was very small which was not a problem for my husband and me bc we just walked out baggage up the stairs.

Otherwise we highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel for three nights, excellent location, close to river, shops and excellent restaurants. Very clean, room and bathroom recently been refurbished. Hotel staff very helpful, especially when our plane was cancelled due to French Air Traffic Controllers going on strike and our plane home was cancelled. They printed our new Boarding passes and arranged a taxi in the middle of night. Bed very comfortable, room a little small but most French hotel rooms are.
The negatives we found were no English or American T.V. channels, we were told English papers were available but they did not appear. No safe in room, no drawers and shower was handheld, which was a complete surprise as otherwise the bathroom was perfectly well equipped.
We felt perhaps the refurbishment was still happening and these things might be rectified.
We really enjoyed Lyon and would consider staying at the Hotel des Artistes again.

Room Tip: We booked a courtyard room but were given one on the 5th floor, which was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alfandmadeliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

After travelling for 36 hours we wanted to find a central hotel but preferably one that was quiet so we could get some sleep! This hotel was perfect for that very reason, room at the back of the hotel, no view but hey the room was clean and comfortable. Easy walking distance to the old town and rhone river. Expensive taxi ride from the airport, around €80 so maybe check out the express train that is on offer. Breakfast was adequate so all in all, we got what we booked, no complaints.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimbo08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Just back from 2 night stay at the hotel. We found the location was very good and the beds were very comfortable. Had a problem getting wifi, but didn't ask the staff about fixing it. The lift is tiny - it does say it takes 4 people, but reckon they must all be a size 0! Breakfast at 12 euros each was expensive for what it was - on Sunday morning there is a market on the quay side - buy a baguette, cheese and olives and you have a breakfast for a couple of euros!!

Room Tip: We had a twin room overlooking the Theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverwedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#12 of 194 in Lyon
1,026 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Globe et Cecil
#45 of 194 in Lyon
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £86 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing