We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like coming home...”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Like coming home...”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I love this hotel; I'm actually here at the moment on one of my all-too-infrequent trips to Lyon. It's a quaint and characterful hotel in Lyon's Old Quarter which is, in my opinion, the perfect location. It's smack in the middle of wonderful bars and restaurants with an array of unique shops to delight even the weariest shopper.

The rooms are stylish, clean and well-appointed, containing everything that you could need. Some rooms are also 'compact and bijou' but, when you're in Lyon (or pretty much anywhere in France), this is perhaps not so important as you'll be out enjoying the incredible sights. Ask for a larger room if this would improve your trip experience.

The hotel staff are fantastic, friendly and helpful and can speak English. They can point out the best places to visit, eat and drink and they're happy to guide their guests. I'm not much of a breakfast eater but I make a point of it in France because it's worth it. I usually eat a croissant and drink a black coffee in a tiny little café around the corner right next to the river; it's open from early in the morning and it's terrific with it's checked tablecloths and outside tables and chairs to add to the ambience.

I highly recommend Hotel des Artistes and wish you a wonderful time in Lyon!

La France est toujours dans mon coeur...

Room Tip: Rooms CAN be on the small side; if this matters to you, ask for a larger room when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    215
    47
    16
    4
See reviews for
35
201
40
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel is situated in the heart of old Lyon, just off the river Saone, surrounded by stylish shops, bars and restaurants. From the moment we arrived at the hotel the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We had asked prior to our visit for the concierge to make a reservation at a local bouchon for us, however, it was full and the helpful lady on reception offered to make an alternative reservation for us - the meal was fantastic and we were so grateful for the suggestion from the hotel. The hotel lobby is very stylish and well presented. The rooms are modern and extremely clean. The bathrooms were a comfortable size and the shower was very good. We did feel the room was a bit on the small side (although we weren't in it much), when visiting again I would book a larger room. However, this did not dampen my view of the hotel as I was aware of this before booking and compared with the good value offered we could not complain. We opted out of breakfast at the hotel, choosing instead to walk about the city for coffee and a croissant after reading reviews that it was perhaps over priced. The only negative point I have is that the room was a little hot, and we couldn't work the air conditioning, therefore had to sleep with the windows open, but I'm sure if you asked reception they would be extremely helpful as they were with every other request we had. Overall it was a wonderful trip at an extremely good hotel, offering fantastic service and a brilliant location - I would most definitely stay here again and look forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Opt for a larger room if you are worried about space, standard is small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcn23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The room was clean and neat. Location is excellent and on a less busy street. Really nice between the shopping square and the river. We enjoyed being able to walk so easily to many parts of the city and it was an easy walk to the metro. The service was excellent; particularly the front desk girl our first night (August 20th). We asked for help with making a restaurant reservation at a place I had found, they were closed for holiday, so she choose a new restaurant and booked us a reservation. It was a great dinner and such a relief to have the reservation so easily on our first night after the long plane ride. She was a such a help and really made a great impression..we could not have had a better welcome. Would book this hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level Contributor
208 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Located in the nice side of Lyon's peninsula, the hotel has a nice presentation, all details are well done and it can compete with many 5 stars hotel, even if it isn't one. The service was great and I would like to especially mention one of the employee at the counter desk who gave us an outstanding service, going the extra mile to help us. She was slim with slightly long hair, in her 20's-30's.
The rooms were a bit small but very clean, nice bed. The bathroom were really modern. For its price I would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Set in the heart of old Lyon this delightful hotel is a gem! It is quiet with excellent,friendly staff, super clean and with the most comfortable beds I've slept in for a long time! My only reservations are the lack of tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, breakfast is not included and on the expensive side and there is no hotel bar - although it is perfectly easy to find what you want in the myriad of great cafes and restaurants within a few minutes walk. The area is steeped in history, great architecture, parks, fountains and chic shopping! A perfect base from which to explore this wonderful city.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modiin
Level Contributor
199 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We walked everywhere. We enjoyed the open air market near the river less than a block from the hotel. The reception staff was friendly and helpful. Our small rooms were clean and well air conditioned. We enjoyed several nearby cafes for breakfast. I'd certainly book this again if I returned to Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sovta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schilde, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

hotel des artistes is a small 3 star hotel, situated near the theatre des celestins in the heart of the better shopping area of the presqu'il in Lyon. Although very centrlly located, the hotel itself is very quiet. Public underground parking just in front of the hotel. Shops, restaurants, le vieux Lyon, theatres, musea,.. all in walking distance.
we had a small but very clean room with a nice bathroom. air conditioning also OK
recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3-Wim-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#15 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Globe et Cecil
#51 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Hotel La Residence
#36 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Elysee Hotel
#65 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Property: Hotel des Artistes
Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing