We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a perfect location in the heart of Lyon”
Review of Hotel des Artistes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel des Artistes
Ranked #31 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Very nice reasonably priced hotel in a quiet side street in front of the Théâtre des Célestins and two minutes away from the Place Bellecour, the Saône river and the Vieux Lyon historic part.
I stayed in a room with twin beds (Chambre Classique): large windows with a nice view on the beautiful square in front of the theater, comfortable bed, nice flat screen TV, nice bathroom with separate restroom.
Both check-in and check-out were very smooth and the front desk employees were all very nice.
I did not have breakfast there because there are plenty of places just a five minute walk away (Paul, Starbucks,...). Lots of excellent restaurants in that area (see Tripadvisor).
Only complaint: in the 21st century, all hotels should offer FREE high speed wireless internet because it is definitely not expensive to implement it. Please do not charge for internet usage !!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank espruytte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

213 - 219 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2010

We took a room at the Hotel des Artistes on the spur of the moment when we mistakenly booked rooms at another [nearby] hotel for the wrong night and Les Artistes had a vacancy. They gave us a reduced rate for the last-minute reservation and at the price we payed (I believe it was 100 euros for 2 persons), was good value. The room we had overlooked the theatre, was very spacious and impeccably clean. The hotel itself was very well-located, and modern. Lobby was standard moderately upscale. Staff was professional, but not overly friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twinssing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

I've stayed here a few times. A client makes reservations on my behalf.

In the past the rooms were a liitle tired, but I am pleased to say they have revamped them well.

The bed is still comfortable, the flat screen tv is good, not that I turn tv's on much on my travels.

The bathrooms have been done fantastically. The shower is brilliant and refreshing.

Breakfast is still the same-enough to kickstart the day.

And just to remind you............location is great for bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2010

This hotel has an excellent location, close to the Place des Celestins and convenient for both sightseeing and shopping. The hotel has an unassuming entrance and modest lobby. The hotel staff varied from extremely helpful to merely correct. However, no one was impolite, and all would help if asked. The breakfast room was beautifully decorated but crowded with tables. The continental breakfast was acceptable, but any supermarket in Maryland has better croissants than the ones served at this hotel.

The room, called a classic room, was a reasonable size with a comfortable bed. The furniture was in a plain, contemporary style, but it was all in good condition. Closet space, provided by a built-in armoire, was adequate. The room was also air conditioned, which can be nice during some summer days. The hotel is a very short walk from the food and craft markets held along the Saône River. The markets are worth visiting.

If you have a car there is a large underground parking garage very convenient to the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluecato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

Hotel des Artistes is in a central location, but overlooks a relatively quiet plaza in front of the Theatre des Celestins. Our room was a reasonable size for a French urban hotel, but there was a lack of drawers and other storage space. The room was clean and had been modernized fairly recently. The only street noise came from children playing in the plaza, no problem at all. Internet costs 15 Euros for 8 hours, but you must log off to keep from burning time. There are no English language television stations. Breakfast buffet was acceptable, but limited in scope and cost 12 Euros per person. Parking nearby is quite expensive. We parked in a residential area and took public transportion in. There are many excellent restaurants nearby and the Place Bellecourt Metro is a short walk away. Overall a very good hotel with a central location.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We stayed there from May 7th til the 14th, paid about $1,178 dollars (including all taxes) for what I am sure was the best room in the place. Top floor in the corner towards the river. And that includes two hot pots of coffee and hot milk every morning in our room, and room service was never late. Room was large, two queen beds, spotless always, great view of the Theatre and the river to our left.
This place is tops for location; we walked everywhere. And on all but Sunday there is a terrific farmer's market on the river which is just down the block from the hotel. You could easily get breakfast and lunch there. Also close to great restaurants and shopping.
If you are going to stay any time in Lyon, and you should, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fraidofflying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and we booked the "Privileged" room, so it was slightly larger. It was still a small room but we could navigate okay with 2 nights worth of luggage. The bathroom still had the traditional tub with the hose attachment, so for us "shower" folks, that was a bit of an adjustment. And yes, the elevator is TINY. We rarely used it. It fit two people or one person and a piece of luggage. The parking, being not accustomed to the area, was a bit of pain. We ended up parking in the nearby parking garage which cost us 60 euros for 2 days, but at least it was close. The room itself needed a bit of redecorating. Everything was gray and a little tired looking, but it was clean. The internet was 5 euros per hour or 10 euros for 3 hours, but the connection was the best we had in France. On the positive, the location was EXCELLENT. We had no trouble walking everywhere. Plenty of good restaurants nearby. The staff was very friendly. For a short stay, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canard314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel des Celestins
#14 of 194 in Lyon
1,035 reviews
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Globe et Cecil
#47 of 194 in Lyon
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Artistes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Artistes

Address: 8 rue Gaspard Andre, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Lyon
#35 Business Hotel in Lyon
#35 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £86 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel des Artistes 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel des Artistes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Artistes Hotel
Des Artistes Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing