We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great central hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Horsham
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great central hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

I stayed in this hotel for only 2 nights. It was nice and central in the town.
It was across the river from the main old town but it was still easy to get there and walking distance to the river for a nice river walk.
The rooms were nice and clean. it had its own bar and the good amenities. Choice of smoking room or non which is rare these days.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Which for France i thought was a real bonus.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martgr10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    593
    139
    38
    24
See reviews for
308
409
74
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

Stayed in a few Mercure hotels and sometime found them a bit dated, but not the Saxe Lafayette. The look and feel here is modern and fresh. Service levels were excellent, my only concern was on checking out took time to complete with only two staff on the front desk. Excellent for a weekend break. Close to the old part of the city, so there is no reason not to get your walking shoes on. Saturday morning market down by the river is a delightful way to spend sometime. Many restaurants and bar close by. Halle de Lyon is a culinary delight and only five minutes walk away from the hotel so there is no reason not to stand, or sit down and enjoy a good wine and some excellent food, oysters come to that and watch the world go by.

Room Tip: Weekend rates are cheaper then during the week. Book on line and you get some good deals, like free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed here for just two nights, so the convenience to both the train station and the old part of town was great. This is a modernly styled hotel and appears to have been recently updated, so the room had new fixtures, tv, lighting, beds, and it was very spacious (particularly for France). The staff were extremely friendly and communicated well. The price for our room was very reasonable. The only complaint I have is that the gym and pool did not open until 9 am, and it would have been nice if it opened at 6 or 7 am.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinglefloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

I stayed here for a week on business. The check in took time since during busy times since there was only one receptionist registering guests with another senior person just looking on.

The rooms were clean but designed more for style and not functionality. There was no desk and I had to work with the lap top on the bed. There was no ironing facility however the ironing board was provided on request. On the plus side there was a tea kettle. The breakfast buffet was adequate and the food in the restaurant during evening meals was quite good.

The hotel had a small gym which ridiculously opened only after 9.00 AM and one of my colleagues working out at 9.00PM had the experience of the power supply getting cut off and found herself in a small pitch black gym. The hotel also lacked meeting rooms. Additionally it took a long time to get a taxi during peak hours but that could be due to the shortage of taxis during a busy congress week.

In conclusion I wouldnt recommend this as a business hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid the small rooms near the service door, it can be nosiy and depressing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramdas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night while travelling across France with our three children and small dog.
The hotel presents itself well, with a nice reception area and newly revamped rooms. The room was actually a lot smaller than we imagined, with very little space to move around (we had no extra beds in there so it would feel small to anyone). The swimming pool was out of action, and our kids were really disappointed (the pool was our main criteria for choosing that hotel). Most disappointing of all, however, was the (overpriced) breakfast buffet. We got to the buffet an hour before closing time and most of the food was missing - when we asked the staff to replenish some pancakes etc we were met with a few incredulous looks by an obviously unexperienced staff.
Parking seemed a bit expensive too, but you can actually park overnight for free just in front of the hotel if you find a space and put a few euros in the parking machine early in the morning.
I don't think we would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cha72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
332 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

I chose this hotel among the choices in TA because I liked the interior. Glad I chose this for our 2 nights stay in Lyon. It was 5 min by bus from Gare de Lyon (main train station). We used bus 13. I suggest you buy the day card which you can buy in a machine right outside the metro. The metro is located outside the train station. Go to your right and look for the entrance of the underground train. It is not in the train station where you can buy the local transportation tickets inside Lyon.

The nearest bus station to the hotel is Saxe Prefecture. You walk 3 min to the hotel. The hotel's lobby is impressive, spacious and smells fresh. Your room card is the same card you used to open the elevator. Our room is with 2 big queen beds which is very good to sleep. Everything was modern and you just love it.

The ladies in the reception were nice and ordered a taxi for us twice. We did not eat breakfast here. There is free internet which is getting more and more an additional service in most hotels. I normally chose hotels with free internet but there are still some where you have to pay.

From the hotel, you take the bus in Saxe Prefecture to get to the next island where the shopping area is. This is the same place where you can take the metro to get you to the Vieux Lyon metro station so you can take the funicular up to the Basilica in the hill. The nice part of this hotel is that bus 13 and some other buses which I forgot has a bus stop right across the hotel. The bus stop is called Saxe Bonnel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingisagift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing