We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big rooms - a little boring..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #31 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Clean, big rooms - a little boring..”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Our flight was delayed so we didn't arrive until 2am, I was thrilled that reception were happy to check us in immediately and leave getting our details & guarantee until the next morning when I was feeling a bit more fresh.

I stayed here for two nights, the room was huge and spotless and also had a MASSIVE tv with the ability to connect your own devices to so (travelling with my ps3) I was thrilled with that..

I guess in terms of the decor, it just comes down to personal taste - for me the all white minimalism of the rooms felt a bit soulless for a three day stay.

The thing which stopped me rating this hotel with 4* was that housekeeping consistently couldn't grasp that the Do Not Disturb sign hanging on my door meant that I didn't want people going in my room, whether they worked at the hotel or not.

Breakfast was OK but the 24 room service which they proudly offer simply didn't exist - I tried to ring through to them for about 15 minutes - and location wise, if you're starving at 1am, then good luck finding anywhere..

It's fine, I just feel that if the staff weren't being commercially led in to battle by a company as Mercure, then they'd be a little bit lost..

I didn't pay for my stay so I'm not rating it's value.

Room Tip: Don't bother upgrading to their premium rooms, the only thing I noticed was that you get a bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    645
    148
    39
    28
See reviews for
321
457
78
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Stayed at this hotel with our two boys, it was great to only have to book one room with 2 good sized beds for a short stay. All the conveniences of a model hotel, more business than tourist however it is only a short 10 minute walk across the the bridge to the main attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Rooms are wide, beautifuly renovated and option for family rooms wih two huge double beds.
Staff is really helpful and eager to help and do things well.
Food is great and breakfast as well; it is close to the center of the city and easy walkiiing distance from main places.
I had good

Room Tip: try and avoid front street rooms. Book in advance to get best prices and compare with reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TITIREB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in Lyon and found the staff so kind and helpful. The service went above and beyond. They were able to get us last-minute dinner reservations at every restaurant we requested. Their advise regarding shops and the best way to see the sights was always spot on. Our room was well cleaned and anything we needed was promptly provided. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnG122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. Close enough to all the main attractions by foot. Rooms are clean & have obviously been updated recently. Only issue is fitness centres is only a few cardio machines and one weights machine. Otherwise nothing to complain about!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmalcolm1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We came to this hotel by car and it was not a problem. We gave our keys to valet after unloading our luggage. I understand that sometimes the car park is full so call ahead.

Overall, very nice hotel. Super clean, very modern, huge rooms for France, everything is great.

The overall location is great as well with nice supermarket right across the street and tons of restaurants. They are a little snooty at some of the restaurants, don't walk in with jeans...

The only thing bad about hotel is you have to log in the wifi all the time as it is the orange service. It is jus annoying. This hotel is all good except for that one thing.

Don't hesitate in staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zeppelin699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The reception staff were very welcoming and provided much useful information. The room was spacious and appeared to have been recently refurbished. The restaurant provided some excellent evening meals and the breakfasts offered a wide range of hot and cold food. The hotel is within a convenient walking distance of the old town. We travelled to Lyon by train and found it difficult to make our way from the station to the hotel. Locals also found it difficult to direct us there.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank lassie410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing