We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #31 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Saxe Lafayette for 2 nights in August. Loved the comfortable room, quiet and effective AC, overall cleanliness of the hotel, great breakfast buffet and so on. With different means of public transportation at an easy walking distance, it was a great place to call home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you found a place to call home in Lyon.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    637
    147
    39
    26
See reviews for
319
446
76
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lyon was the last place we visited at the end of an eight week stay in Europe, so we had plenty to compare this hotel with.
The hotel has a fascinating history, having initially been a multi story carpark and garage at the beginning of the 19th Century and we all loved the way this history has been preserved in the theme of the Breakfast room and restaurant with "tyres" for serviette rings and the wonderful photographs and artwork of blueprints - and the scale model of the original building. For my grandson, it was love at first sight!
We were warmly greeted and our family room was spacious, well furnished, (providing 2 comfortable double beds) spotlessly clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also quite roomy compared to most.
Breakfast was well catered with a wide array of fresh food and drinks, though on our last morning, the eggs and bacon ran out and were not replenished - which was disappointing at 9am.
The restaurant catered very well and service was impeccable with a delicious menu and great presentation. Although we dined quite late one evening and did not leave until around 10.45pm, the staff were most obliging, kind and helpful. Room service was also good after a tiring day of sightseeing with the grandchildren.
The location is wonderful - not too far from the Railway Station, and within comfortable walking distance to the old town and the Rhone, parks, public transport etc
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - it certainly gave us value for money and we would stay there again at any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your comment!
We are glad you appreciated the History of our hotel. It is indeed built around a 1932 fascinating garage. It allows us to offer valet service to our clients.
We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and restaurant in our hotel as well, I transfer your compliments to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your grandchildren again in Lyon.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Nice hotel, spotlessly clean room that was well appointed with 2 large beds & a modern bathroom. The breakfast was extremely good, wide choice, excellent quality produce & super (Nespresso) coffee. The location is convenient, just 10 minute walk to main shopping area & 20 to the old town. Metro & tram also very close

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimbergen, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We spend a night in this very convenient hotel and it was great. Spacious rooms with two double beds, instead of the usual double bed and uncomfortable sofa bed. So great for 4 people !
Breakfast was very good, fresh products and helpful staff that can get you almost anything.
The hotel is located in a quiet area not far from the Rhone. A great starting point for exploring the city or just have a small walk in the neighbourhood.
I would definitely book this hotel again. Maybe one remark, if you are travelling by car, be sure to make a reservation for a parking spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again in the end of 2013, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Excellent location for this hotel, which is a short taxi ride from the main station and also only about 5/10 mins walk from the Rhone. It's also quite close to the shopping arcade and the Food Hall. We had a lovely room, spotlessly clean, and a good choice of breakfast in the morning (included in our room rate). We also had a very good room service meal one evening. It is a business hotel, so you probably get the best rates over the weekend (which is what we did).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Madam,
Thanks for your supportive feedback! We are glad you enjoyed youR stay in our hotel. You indeed benefited from attractive rates available during the summer weekends.
We hope you had a pleasant trip in Lyon and look forward to welcoming you again.
Kind regards,
Clémence GUELTON
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The check in was under every 4 star hotel standard especially for being platinum elite cardholder.

We didn't get the promised upgrade as the lady was in a bad mood.

Room was modern and nice but cold atmosphere with a too small window

Pool was great for size and clean
Breakfast was also nice and good with bio products.

Good location close to old town

If service would have been good i would have given 4 or 5 stars but as this wasn't the case i only give 3

Mercure brotteux is much better, go there its smaller but better service!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Howard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear Sir,
Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are glad to know you enjoyed our breakfast, our pool and your room.
We are sorry not having be able to upgrade you in a Privilege room yet we had no more availabilities in this type of rooms: the upgrade cannot be guaranteed even for Platinum card holder. This is the reason why we warned you about it while checking your reservation.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the Mercure network.
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Pleasant upmarket chain hotel in an interesting building that was a car showroom in the pre-war days. Large refurbished room. Loctation about 20 mins walk from the main sights, but also convenient for the Paul Bocuse market and a large indoor shopping complex. Underground valet parking. Only two negatives: firstly the free wi-fi was a fiddle and kept logging out in the bedroom (it was ok down in the reception area), and secondly the shower leaked over the side of the bath and the water temperature was not stable. We were told this was because we were on the top floor, but a hotel of this standard should be able to get it sorted.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#22 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing