We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd Mercure we have stayed in, and were very pleased yet again. Our room was large with good air conditioning and very modern. There is a gym and pool (more like swim-spa with bubbles and coloured lighting). The staff were pleasant and helpful and check in was quick. Found a couple of places open even though it was August. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for your kind comment!
We transfer your compliment to the team to keep a high level of quality. We are glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms.
We look froward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    647
    149
    39
    28
See reviews for
321
462
78
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel within walking distance from the railway station, the Rhone (with all the bar/restaurants on boats) and the old town. In the same street is the market Les Halles de Lyon Paul Bocuse, well worth a visit.
Hotel is fairly new, nicely decorated & comfortable. The staff are friendly, efficient & speak English.
We didn't use the restaurant but it looked nice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bezzaact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again in the end of 2013, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to the train station and the commercial center of the historic district. Standard rooms are large and have everything they need. On hot days, the air conditioner worked fine, and the room was comfortable. Here is the same design as we have seen in other Mercury this year. Seemed interesting bathroom without vanny.Personal worked perfectly as at the desk and in the restaurant, Le Garage, where to eat breakfast buffet to choose from. Directly opposite the hotel a large supermarket, if food in the restaurant is not enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Perfect experience from check-in to check-out so I'll keep this review brief.

- English speaking reception team
- Valet Parking
- Complimentary Wifi
- Large, modern and super clean room
- AMAZING rainfall shower (had three showers)
- Pets allowed, my Beagle loved admiring himself in the mirror
- Walking distance from river and city centre

Beyond that, what a BEAUTIFUL and friendly city Lyon is. I only wish I had stayed another night. Originally this was a stop off but I think I'd go back for a long weekend.

This is the place to stay for your Lyon trip if you don't mind a chain hotel.

P.S Thank you to the valet who escorted us to our car again to pick up forgotten belongings. Nothing was a problem for any of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippy_ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your cheerful comment!
I transfer right away your compliments to the team.
We are more than delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you and your Beagle for your next stay in Lyon :)
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We got upgraded a spacious suite which was a very pleasant surprise! It was within walking distance from Part Dieu station which was where we had come from, and we had no problems carrying our luggage over with us on foot. It was also within walking distance to the Rhone river and bars along the area.

The room was huge (it's a suite after all I guess, not sure about the standard rooms), very clean and modern, and we liked the white and red furnishing. We only spent one night there so didn't have time to try out many of the amenties, but the bed was very comfortable, wifi worked well and we also ordered a delicious (though basic) breakfast in bed the next day. Service was fast and efficient as well.

A great stay overall and exactly what I expected for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryttan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed at the Mercure Saxe Lafayette for 2 nights in August. Loved the comfortable room, quiet and effective AC, overall cleanliness of the hotel, great breakfast buffet and so on. With different means of public transportation at an easy walking distance, it was a great place to call home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you found a place to call home in Lyon.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Lyon was the last place we visited at the end of an eight week stay in Europe, so we had plenty to compare this hotel with.
The hotel has a fascinating history, having initially been a multi story carpark and garage at the beginning of the 19th Century and we all loved the way this history has been preserved in the theme of the Breakfast room and restaurant with "tyres" for serviette rings and the wonderful photographs and artwork of blueprints - and the scale model of the original building. For my grandson, it was love at first sight!
We were warmly greeted and our family room was spacious, well furnished, (providing 2 comfortable double beds) spotlessly clean and had tea and coffee making facilities. The bathroom was also quite roomy compared to most.
Breakfast was well catered with a wide array of fresh food and drinks, though on our last morning, the eggs and bacon ran out and were not replenished - which was disappointing at 9am.
The restaurant catered very well and service was impeccable with a delicious menu and great presentation. Although we dined quite late one evening and did not leave until around 10.45pm, the staff were most obliging, kind and helpful. Room service was also good after a tiring day of sightseeing with the grandchildren.
The location is wonderful - not too far from the Railway Station, and within comfortable walking distance to the old town and the Rhone, parks, public transport etc
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel - it certainly gave us value for money and we would stay there again at any time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for your comment!
We are glad you appreciated the History of our hotel. It is indeed built around a 1932 fascinating garage. It allows us to offer valet service to our clients.
We are pleased you enjoyed breakfast and restaurant in our hotel as well, I transfer your compliments to our team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your grandchildren again in Lyon.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing