We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant and economical”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights om September 17th to 20th. The room was very comfortable, as was the bed. For us Americans, AC is important and it was quite good. We found the front desk to be very helpful. Also, we really liked the location. It is really only a 15-20 minute walk to all the sights and also near a tram line. We would definitely stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harpswelldp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 1,294 reviews

Reviewed 28 September 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BabsJC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Mercure Saxe in Lyon from August, 30th to September,01st, 2013.I am a member of the Club Accor.
However I didn't have the credit of points on my card nor the free breakfast as they usually offer the customers with more than 60 years under the claim that I hadn't made a reservation directly on the website of Accor.
At first, I didn't read this information anywhere in the site of Accor. and I can't understand how, although having paid the same price and satisfying the conditions of membership and greater than 60 years I have not been qualified for the benefits.
If Accor allows other independent sites make booking your hotels is because obtains advantage and profits with this procedure .
And if these independent sites charge for these services, it is for Accor afford the corresponding costs and do not transfer these costs to their customers.
I felt cheated and disappointed.

OBERHOFER, GILBERTO
NÚMERO DO ASSOCIADO ACCOR:
3081031136961589

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gilberto934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your comment about your stay in our hotel.
This is true that we cannot give you points Le Club Accorhotels because you did not book your stay via our sites or directly via our hotel. Some advantages such as the fidelity points and the free breakfast for clients over 60 are only offered to clients who book via us.

Please mind you will always find the best prices while booking via us and not on independent websites. We are able to offer our clients privileged offers and advices about their stay when booking via us which you cannot benefit otherwise. This is the reason why we advise our clients to book directly via us.

I hope you will get back directly to the hotel you want to book for your next stay to benefit from these advantages.
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stopped at this hotel on our way to the south of France. It was a last minute deciscion but is was a great stop !. We had a family-room for 2 adults, 2 kids. The room was large enough, The kids enjoyed cooling down in the inside pool of the hotel.
A bit difficult to find as it really in the center and you have to take the parking-service if you use this hotel as stop-over. But since it is in the center you can easily walk to the Rhone & other points of interest in Lyon.

Certainly recommended as stop-over to the South.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tdi_egel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your comment!
We are glad you enjoyed your stop in our hotel during your trip towards South of France. This is indeed a good place to rest.
Shall you visit France once again do not hesitate to contact us directly.
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I occasionally have to stay here for work. If you're spending your own money, don't!

Here on business this evening. Most local restaurants shut for Sunday so ordered room service. Fixed price menu looked good value but lettuce for salad was wilted brown and cake for dessert was indelibly stale. When I rang to complain, staff refused to aplogise althought they eventually agreed to a partial refund. I was told 'its not my fault, why should i aplogise?' As I am working early tomorrow I refused any offer of additional dishes and told them twice that I did not want to be disturbed. As I was going to bed a few minutes later, room service staff banged on my door in spite of the do not disturb sign clearly displayed and my previous instructions.

Reception refused to provide an iron, directing me to he ironing room in the basement which is unlit and has no windows.

There are better locations in Lyon and there must be hotels with better food and service. Avoid his one

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlendaK345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for sharing your experience about your stay.
We apologize about the room service which did not meet your expectations. Be confident we do our best so that it never happens again.
We are sorry our ironing room did not please you, this is yet the service we offer to all our clients.
We hope you will enjoy your next stay in one hotel of the Mercure brand.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

This is the 2nd Mercure we have stayed in, and were very pleased yet again. Our room was large with good air conditioning and very modern. There is a gym and pool (more like swim-spa with bubbles and coloured lighting). The staff were pleasant and helpful and check in was quick. Found a couple of places open even though it was August. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Victoriakm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your kind comment!
We transfer your compliment to the team to keep a high level of quality. We are glad you enjoyed our renovated rooms.
We look froward to welcoming you again,
Best regards
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Very nice hotel within walking distance from the railway station, the Rhone (with all the bar/restaurants on boats) and the old town. In the same street is the market Les Halles de Lyon Paul Bocuse, well worth a visit.
Hotel is fairly new, nicely decorated & comfortable. The staff are friendly, efficient & speak English.
We didn't use the restaurant but it looked nice.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bezzaact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again in the end of 2013, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £75 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing