We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel, central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Good central location. Comfortable good sized room. Bathroom small, no bath but good shower. Flat screen TV and tea/coffee/minibar. Large comfortable double bed. Good breakfast buffet with Nespresso coffee machine. Lounge area and bar. Small well equipped gym and small pool. Free Internet access although connection drops out frequently.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

some confusion by the staff as to whether the breakfast was included or not. Turned out it wasn't and €18 for breakfast is ridiculous so I ate elsewhere. Apart from that it was comfortable and well located. Make sure you take a power adapter as they don't have spares. You also have to fill in all you details every time you use the wifi which is a bit tedious, though it is free.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Des client,
Thanks fo ryour comment about your stay in our hotel.
We feel sorry you did not enjoy it as much as expected. Please mind we offer our clients to buy power adapter for €14. We will warn the reception team in case they did not give you this informations. It is true we do not lend them.
We hope we will be able to welcoming you again in a Mercure hotel in France.
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The two separate beds room we booked was just perfect. The beds were both queen size and very very comfortable, the TV was a 40" display, light system very nice for reading and of course free wifi. Cleaning was very good too.
The bathroom was also quite nice, especially the big shower with the "water fall" system. The reception staff is friendly and always ready to help you out for any kind of question you have.
The position is perfect, just 3 minutes of walking and you are on the river, plenty of connections with busses and trams just around the corner. The train station is less than 1 km far from the hotel. Overall a great hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for your feedback regarding our twin rooms, which is indeed equipped with two queen size bed... perfect for a family or a friendly break!
We are glad you enjoyed our quality for the price you paid. Mind when contacting us directly you can sometimes benefit from exclusive offers for our clients!
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel with it's spacious, clean rooms and a wonderful decor lived up to the expectations that any Mecure group of hotels that i have stayed before provided. The room has all the ammenities that one can ask for. The beds are comfortable,the sheets and towels were clean and the wifi works just fine. The housekeeping does a great job!! The reception area is nicely done and the staff is helpful. The hotel in located 15 mins away from the train station Lyon Part-Dieu. It is walkable distance to the main attractions that the city has to offer. However one of the major disappointment with this hotel was, prior to my travel i repeatedly wrote to the hotel asking for directions from the train station to the hotel that fell into deaf ears. On arriving at the train station at around 7.30 pm it took us around 45 mins in the drizzling rain to spot the hotel. Thanks to the guy we randomly asked on the street, who was really helpful and took great pains and time to help us out with the directions. Other than this the hotel is perfect and definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ria119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Very friendly reception staff with instant valet parking. Spacious well equipped and comfortable room. Wide range of breakfast items, with attentive and efficient staff. Interesting history to the building, well displayed information. An easy walk into the sights of Lyon. Easy access to and from autoroute.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank ChrisGG1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Dear client,
What a cheerful comment about your stay. Thanks a lot for your feedbakcs. We are glad you enjoyed our rooms and the variety of the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you again in our lovely town.
Best regards
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked as a stopover on our journey back to the UK from the South of France, the Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette was far more modern and high-level than we expected. The availability, location and the special price availability on-line were the deciding factors on the choice. With two double rooms for the night at €218 for four people (total) in August, we were more than content. The rooms were large, comfortable modern and clean.
There was a slight hiccup on arrival due to the rooms not being available even though we arrived a full hour after the published earliest check in time, but we were able to get valet parking of our car in the private underground car park (additional cost of €18) whilst waiting and the rooms were soon available. Free wi fi throughout and large flat screen TVs, big comfortable beds and blackout blinds on the windows in the rooms, coupled with an excellent lower floor gymnasium made the place very welcoming. The small flowing exercise swimming pool and choice of dining areas were typical examples of the high level of amenities available.
We wanted to explore the old part of Lyon however and it was only a few hundred metres to the river Rhone and a few hundred more across the bridge to the old part of the city centre.
A great night’s sleep allowed us to feel refreshed and able to explore a little more before heading back on the road. We chose to eat elsewhere, but the bar and dining rooms looked popular.
Pleasantly surprised at what we assumed would simply be a business hotel stopover, we would certainly recommend the spacious and comfortable rooms…. worth checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We arrived as a family of 4 adults and had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights at this hotel and requesting that they be adjacent if possible . We were travelling from Vichy in two separate vehicles and had encountered a longer drive than anticipated due to road construction . Our GPS indicated we had arrived , however we were not able to pull up and unload the luggage due to a large tour bus parked in front of the hotel. We circled the block several times and ended up parking somewhere nearby and dragging several pieces of luggage . We looked forward to getting settled in quickly and relaxing for a bit before heading out to explore . We were taken to our rooms which were indeed adjacent in fact one was a connecting room and was handicapped equipped . We are very glad they can provide these type of rooms ,however we had not requested one . In order to change rooms we would no longer be adjacent to each other . Since the rooms were equipped with two double beds we decided to just go with 2 rooms and the matter was settled . This was a situation that could have been avoided had it been identified at the time of booking .
I cannot fault this hotel to do so would be unfair .The rooms were clean and comfortable . The staff were very young ,efficient and spoke excellent English which was a definite plus . The hotel is located in a good area for sightseeing .
We love to travel and for the most part are seasoned travellers and being in the service industry our selves we are sensitive of the people of the people we encounter and who serve us . We are also sensitive to the vibes coming from the people who serve us whether good or bad. We are well aware of even the the best laid plans not working out . We like all travellers may arrive tired ,hungry and frustrated but we are unfailingly polite and undemanding. We are HAPPY to have arrived and mind full that tomorrow is another day and it will be better .
There are many good and affordable hotels in Lyon with clean comfortable rooms,located in desirable areas . The next time we will choose another based on those vibes I mentioned . We could not quite put our finger on it.
Once we were settled and relaxed we discussed it . It was that sort of undefinable feeling that although the staff was polite and attended to your requests there was an underlying factor shared among them that they were laughing behind your back and the tourists were a constant source of amusement to them.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing