We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Enjoyed two nights here during my visit to Lyon months ago. A modern hotel located in the commercial area with high rise office buildings around. Within walking distance to the business district, train station and not far from the river bank.

Our room was bright and spacious with two beds ( Queen and Double.)Not much a view from the window as there was another building next to the hotel, but natural lights managed to come in through the corner.
Modestly furnished in the tone of creamy white, grey and red with good lighting. Major decor was a huge poster on the wall. Room was well equipped with coffee maker, mini bar and safe all in one place.
Washroom was in good size, modern with adjustable shower head. The black and white graphic on the glass reminded me of the black and white lion statue at the front door of the hotel entrance.

Breakfast was included in our package. It was served in the restaurant downstairs. Nothing too special but good choices of jam, sauce and cheese.

The best part of this stay was a nice walk to the river and bridges after dinner, relaxed and comfortable.

The only setback was the computer at the business centre, main floor. It was in french system and very straight in time control. It would turn off atomically before you finish reading your first email...I had trouble to read the full message from my friend who was supposed to meet me in Paris.
A young staff from the the reception desk came over and tried hard to help.
Yet the the email system was locked in a way nothing we can do. He apologized and I gave up trying again. Anyway, I appreciated his eagerness in helping.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks for having taken the time to share your experience about your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to know you appreciated your stay and try our best to offer you the best quality.
Further to your difficulties with the business corner computer we manage to reboot it so that it won't bug anymore.

We thank you again for your feedback and stay at your disposal for your next trip.
With our best regards,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night

Room was nice but temperature was difficult to control

Staff were excellent

Restaurant menu was a bit over the top for us so we ordered room service which was fabulous

Valet parking

Chihuahua friendly

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahCorell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and your pet and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at this Mercure during a short holiday trip and found it to be pretty well situated. It was a bit of a walk from the Part-Dieu train station, but the walk to the old town and city center isn't too bad from this property. There is a medium sized grocery store just half a block away, so it's really convenient to buy some snacks and water for the room.

The rooms are clean and recently renovated and the bed was pretty comfortable. The bathroom was small, but clean and functional. The hotel staff did manage to throw away part of my contact lens case, however, which was a problem that wasn't resolved during this trip. The night manager promised to send a new one to my room, but this never happened. I guess even contact lens cases should be put away so that they aren't thrown away by the hotel staff!

Other than this small snafu, this property is clean and modern and pretty well situated to good shops and the Rhone river.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank expateurotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank W S W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Nice, France
23
Reviewed 12 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 November 2013

I stayed at the Mercure on a business trip for two nights. The room was clean stylishly decorated and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and pleasant and room service swift and of good quality. I would recommend this hotel, but breakfast was expensive ( the is a great Artisan bakery just around the corner for a less expensive breakfast goods option)

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank ElsieLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Dear client,
Thanks for sharing the experience of your stay in our hotel!
We hope to welcome you again, we keep in touch for your reservation.
See you soon,
Clémence Guelton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank AMYA918
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £74 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing