We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Ranked #30 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here last June while in Lyon. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Walking distance from the trains and trams. It is in a quite part of Lyon but represents great value. A bit of a walk into the old town but close to the summer festivities on the river. Staff were excellent. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    384
    593
    140
    38
    24
See reviews for
308
410
74
260
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

We booked using booking .com, requesting a family room for two adults and our two grandchildren for an overnight stay. The choice of Lyon was a longer than normal drive on route to our holiday home ,just north of Toulon, but it does leave a short drive for the next day..At €144 , I was not expecting much but was pleasantly surprised.

On arrival, all of the parking spaces to offload were occupied but the Consul to Rumania's allocated parking space was free and I expect he could not care less that I parked there!
The Hotel offers valet parking but I am generally cautious as I have had too many alloy wheels scrunched on kerbs by Valet drivers. I went with the driver and the car park is quite large but the access and layout is awful . Fortunately he missed the kerbs and my wheels remain un scraped.

The room size was more than adequate and generally laid out 'Hotel Room Style'. The bathroom was small but well planned with quality fitting such as Geberit sanitaryware, and Hans Grohe shower fittings and taps. The walk in shower was fine and clean with an overhead drencher and handset. The mirror had sidelights which turn on when you touch the switch in the glass. The mirror is also heated so there is no condensation on the center section.

The room was modern and had ample socket outlets, a large Flat-sceen TV,2 large double beds and efficient Air Conditioning. There was coffee making facilities and a freebie bottle of water in the fridge. A couple of chargeable Beers , cokes and wines would have been the icing on the cake.

The Restaurant called the Garage had a good ambience and a super Chef. The only problem was that the waiting staff were so slow and could not remember who ordered what. Waiters returned to the kitchen empty handed when they could have cleared plates and glasses on route back.

A good Buffet breakfast is served in the same room and I could not fault the variety and quality of the food. The service was exceptional as I served myself. Children under 6 or not charged and we were surprised that they never charged for our 10 year old grandson.

I understand that the hotel was totally refurbished around two years ago and I would say that they made a good job of virtually everything although there was not much they could do about the view from our window. It was not wonderful but there again it was not awful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Excellent location close to Lyon tourist areas, clean big rooms.

Walking distance to Lyon tourist area, big clean rooms- good for family. modern renovation. Located in a good area- no problem walking back to hotel at night. Def will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thscang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Mercure disappointed. Room 509, with its pre-fabricated bathroom & shower that spilled water all over the floor was more reminiscent of the chain's lesser Ibis brand.

Strengthening the impression we were in a mis-branded Ibis was the lack of drinking glasses in the room - only plastic ones, kindly hygienically wrapped in more plastic, contributing to the sterile feel.

The room's "safe", sitting as it did on a shelf (not bolted down) did nothing to improve our impressions of the place.

Despite the above, it's well located, mid-way between the main train station and the fun/interesting parts of town, with a well-stocked supermarket conveniently right next door.

The bed and pillows were comfortable, and we appreciated that we could open the window for fresh air overnight, rather than run the air-con.

The free internet wasn't the fastest we encountered on our trip, but it did the job, and the daily need to re-authenticate wasn't a hassle.

We didn't realise the Garage restaurant (around the corner) was actually part of the Hotel until 2 days after we checked in - they could promote that a bit better to guests. It was fantastic, with a great atmosphere, delicious food, attentive/pleasant service, and for reasonable prices.

Were I to find myself back in Lyon I would check out some of the other Accor or competing properties before returning to this one though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreigOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
We are delighted that you enjoyed our restaurant.
I feel yet sorry your did not like our furniture as much as expected.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We spent the weekend at this hotel recently. The hotel is quiet, clean and fairly modern. The room was also a good size and the bathroom nice and clean. We found the walk to be a little further than we expected to the city centre and the old town. To the old town in particular it was more like 20 minutes by foot and involved crossing 2 rivers - a nice walk all the same though. Only real down side to our stay was the receptionist who we found quite unhelpful and sour (maybe just having a bad day?) But otherwise the stay was fine.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience!
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
I feel yet sorry your did not feel well welcomed by our reception and I saw each of them privately so that it would not happen again.
We look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Great location. Very courteous staff. My room was a double standard .Room was very comfortable and clean with all the amenities one needs including coffee/tea pots with all the needed ingredients. Very courteous staff. Buffet breakfast was very good with nice selection of food items.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scuba077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clémence G, Responsable relations clients at Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear client,
Thanks for your comment! We are glad you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
We look forward to hearing from you and organize your next stay in a Mercure hotel.
With our best regards,
Clémence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette
Address: 29 rue de Bonnel, 69003, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Lyon
#19 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#21 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#27 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
156 rooms. Located in the heart of the business area of Lyon, 5 minutes away from the Part Dieu TGV railway station, the Convention Centre and close to the Presquile and Old Lyon (listed as a world heritage area by UNESCO). The hotel features several spacious modular meeting rooms, Le Garage restaurant, and a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Saxe Lafayette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Grand Hotel Saxe Lafayette

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing