We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #28 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2011

This centrally located hotel is considered one of the city's best.

In reality this is a business person's hotel: Small, clean, modern rooms with no soul + a helpful staff = very expensive rates.

Was okay being here for work but would not want to stay here for my vacation.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have poor Wi_Fi internet reception.
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuitNflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,921)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2011

The Sofitel is located in the city center of Lyon. The hotel is facing the river and the view from the room is very nice. There is a nice bar on the top floor of the building were you can enjoy a nice cocktail.

It seems that Sofitel and Pullman are changing their service policy in the correct direction! free wifi connection (3 or 6 hours per day), free soft drinks in the mini bar.... They stop asking extra cost for every thinks and this is nice

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno80799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

I stayed in this hotel early February and I know next time I come back to Lyons that this is the place where I want to stay at.

The staff was great and helpful, the view from the breakfast room on the top floor was just gorgeous !

The only downside of my stay was that the room I was given smelled of smoke when I arrived but I was quickly given another room by front desk staff.

I highly recommend this hotel if you stay in Lyons.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdJenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I was so impressed with the hotel. The location was superb and we were lucky to have a room overlooking the river and old town. It was fantastic. I would like to give a special mention to Brice on reception and Patrick and Sali. It was my son's birthday and they were so thoughtful and kind...way beyond anything we could have hoped for.

Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
Thank rebeccarees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Stayed here just one night. Room was large, quiet with modern decor. Large bathroom, large wardrobe. Large TV, but with limited English langauge channels.

Bed was very comfortable. Room also had a mini bar. Internet / WIFI is NOT free.

The breakfast room is on the 8th floor with views across Lyon and the river. Food was excellent. Staff all helpful and spoke good English.

The Brasserie resturant was very good.

The only downside is everything was rather expensive, so watch the costs.

Hotel is also a 10min taxi ride from the rail station.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank exrayspex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Last fall I had the pleasure of travelling on business in Europe with my husband and my two 3 year old twins and had the misfortune of spending about 5 days at the Sofitel. We originally booked a large room through one of the travel sites which did not include breakfast. Once we arrived, the night manager realized we were travelling with twins and suggested we take a jr. suite at my corporate rate which included breakfast. He was extremely helpful and nice so of course we readily agreed. The first morning we arrived for breakfast, we asked for the bill because we thought we would have to sign for the breakfast to which we were told it was not necessary as breakfast was automatically included with our room. We continued to have the buffet breakfast the entire time we were there believing it was included as told by the men who checked us in and by the dining room host/manager. When we checked out there was an additional $25/person per day for breakfast charged to the bill. We tried to explain to the desk manager that our breakfast was included. He did not believe us and argued the point rudely, loudly and very offensively. He even had the gall to call me "petty" in front of everyone in the lobby - petty for trying not to be taken advantage of and being stolen from essentially. He was going by the fact that my original package did not include breakfast. Of course when we upgraded, that changed the deal but of course he wouldn't believe me. When we asked him why they didn't give us a bill each day to sign for if we were meant to be charged. He didn't have an answer although he finally decided it was because the restaurant didn't want to bother us with it. They didn't mind bothering us however with the additional unapproved, unexpected and undeserved bill at the end of our stay. Their treatment was humiliating, embarrassing and nothing short of stealing. I cannot believe this man is allowed to hold the position he has and this hotel is fortunate that I did not have the means, nor the temperement to sue them for their treatment. Never have I ever been through anything like that in my life and I have travelled all over the world. In fact I am in Lyon regularly but I will never stay at their hotel again. It is months later and I am still reeling over the experience. Particularly as I am planning another trip to Lyon next week and I began thinking about the experience again. It actually propelled me to write this review because I just couldn't put it behind me.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
31  Thank worldtraveller01060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2011

A wonderful hotel, with a wonderful satff.
The view on the 8th floor is amazing, the beds are very comfortable

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luj096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#9 of 196 in Lyon
1,301 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Villa Florentine
#11 of 196 in Lyon
740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £137 - £293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing