We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, but service needs improvement.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good location, but service needs improvement.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed for one night at Sofitel Bellecour. Really good location, you can walk to every major attractions in the city. The room was a little old, very different from the others Sofitel I stayed (specially The Grand - Amsterdam). The shower is excellent. The service needs some improvement. When I checked in, I waited for my luggage upstairs for 20 minutes and it didn't arrive. I called the reception, but it didn't work. So, I decided to go downstairs and take the luggage by myself. Then I asked he concierge to make a reservation at the "Le Trois Dome". When I got to the restaurant, for my surprise, there was no reservation. No big problem, because was on a Thursday and the restaurant was empty.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel-FLN-BR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    668
    220
    84
    47
See reviews for
200
909
114
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

A short stop over weekend - great location - service as you walked through door and it continued . Excellent standard of room and breakfast was GREAT . Only reason its not 6 / 5 is because that is not possible and because we were locked out of room for last hour of our stay when we requested a 1 hour departure delay ( given with a smile but the door card key system was not told) . The city is a good alternative to Paris or Nice - more relaxed and the food capital of France I would say!

Room Tip: Top Floors - 7th with a River or City view if you can - if you cant get a breakfast view on the 8th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We stayed a few nights in another hotel in Lyon, and then switched to the Sofitel - and were so glad we did.

The service is outstanding - one night between dinner and dessert in the Brasserie, our baby started to scream, so we asked if they could send someone up to our room with the dessert. a few minutes later, the maitre d' himself kindly delivered it.

We stayed in a suite, and the rooms were lovely, modern, comfortable. Great view of the city. A nice selection of free beverages in the refrigerator.

The location is just south of Place Bellecour, so it's very easy to walk everywhere you want to go. Plus you're just a few blocks from the silk museum and a nice residential neighborhood with great boulangeries, fromageries, etc.

The only negative is that they apparently allow smoking in some rooms (there's still lot of smoking in France), and the first suite they put us in absolutely reeked of smoke. The second one still smelled faintly of smoke as well, but not enough for us to request another room change. We noticed that when we returned to the room the next day it smelled a little smoky again, so I think that it must waft in from other rooms. Nothing an open window couldn't solve, but just fyi.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fupton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

My wife and I normally avoid large 'corporate' hotels in favour of family-owned places, but I have to say that we were delighted with the Sofitel Bellecour. Our room was not large, but very well equipped (I particularly liked the easy to operate safe). We ate twice in the Silk Brasserie and were impressed with the quality of the food and the pleasant atmsphere. Breakfast, on the 8th floor overlooking the river Rhone and the city, was excellent - I wish we could buy mangoes as fresh as those on offer here.
Best of all, however, was the service. It was faultless. Staff, without exception, were charming and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

Only spent one night in Lyon, but staff was very courtious and helpful. Very comfortable bedding. Good location to walk to "old town"!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Due to reconstruction works in the Mercure Carlton, we were tranfered to this hotel. It's location is perfect, but our reception at and room in the Sofitel were a big disappointment. Reception: while checking in staff was very inadequate. Our tranfer, though confirmed twice by mail, turned out not to be arranged at all. It took ages to solve this inconvenience. Room: the furniture in our tiny (!) room was damaged, the carpet was badly soiled and the view from our window was depressing. Would definitively not reccomend a stay in this overpriced hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MVB/JK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
netherlands
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

Rooms are OK but airco is not too well performing. Quality of breakfast is OK, only nr of seats is limited and, very annoying, they use processed egg to prepare kind of scrambled eggs. Well below standard!! But why?

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wortelboer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing