We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent position in city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #28 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Excellent position in city”
Reviewed 28 June 2013

Returning after 4 years to this hotel and this was really good.
The hotel has been totally renovated and the rooms are a lot better with everything you need.
Staffs are excellent, very friendly, the bar at the top has a beautiful view, the car park of the hotel is perfect for city centre.
Great position and walking distance from main places or restaurant.
Definitely recommended

Room Tip: Great view of the river from front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,846 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    800
    679
    230
    89
    48
See reviews for
205
930
115
409
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

12 years ago we stopped by Sofitel Bellecour looking for directions to our hotel in Lyon. When we got to our hotel and found it to be terrible in a bad part of town, we went back to Bellecour and booked a room. We ate at their restaurant, Les 3 Domes. It was a great experience and we always promised ourselves we would return one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We received a warm welcome from Susanna, Emily, Mary, Mary Ellen and others at reception - Sebastien - concierge was patient and knowledgeable - the sincerity of this team is wonderful - Dimitri and his team in the breakfast room - oh my - such care for you on an individual basis while taking care of everyone else too!!! Special mention of Albert one of his expert servers - Just cannot say enough about this group of professionals -
This hotel is a find for the wonderful city of Lyon..............Lettriches

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank ckljpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We were thrilled with our four nights at the Sofitel in Lyon. We received a fabulous corner room with beautiful views of the River Rhone. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of the main shopping district and lots of restaurants (including Rue Mercurie where many restaurants and bars are clustered). There are several nearby bike share stations that we really enjoyed using to get around the city and to bike on the trail along the River Rhone (stop at one of the barge restaurants and enjoy a beer on the river after you bike the trail). All of the staff were very friendly and helpful - the hotel concierge was helpful in setting us up with the Le Grand Bus Tour (hop-on, hop-off; great way to see the city). We ordered breakfast to the room one morning - expensive, but it was delicious. On two evenings we went up to the bar on the 8th floor and had cocktails before going out for dinner. The bar has a great view - try to get up for a drink along the window at least once during your stay. You can see the wear and tear on the rooms and the decor and fixtures are a little dated, but the location, customer service, and amenities more than make up for that minor shortcoming.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apgdc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

This hotel is extremely well situatade. Unfortunately it need a total make over, including some of the front desk staff who seem to forget that they are in the hospitality business. The room are rather small, this could have been overlooked if they were clean, the carpet were absolutely disgusting, During my last stay, 6 nights in all, I stayed in 3 different rooms sadly they had all the same look. I was extremely disappointed by this hotel as I so much was looking forward to share a good experience with my group, 8 rooms total !!! I would not recommend it to any one until total refurbishing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank GCC-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Level Contributor
120 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed 5 nights.

Pros:
Fairly quiet, with good blackout shade.
Great shower--large with good water pressure.
Good location--on the river, and just a short walk to good restaurants, shopping, metro.
Concierge Patrick and Bellman/Valet Alain (or Alan?) were both fantastic. Very friendly and helpful, as were the other bell staff and doormen. (Without them, we may have rated Sofitel a 2).

Cons:
Room was tiny and needed an update--chipped wood furniture, dirt accumulated in corners.
Soft beds which we had to remake to pull the uncomfortable folds and wrinkles out of a flannel pad used under the sheets.
Little storage, no kettle, no iron or board, poor lighting, no light in make-up mirror.
Frosted glass panel between bedroom and bath which flooded bedroom with light if bathroom was used during the night.
Bath amenities not replaced--just a tiny sliver of soap remained at the end of 5 nights..
Encountered two different snippy young women at front desk. 1) We didn't want a full breakfast (at 25 euros each) and asked one if a la carte service was available. (Concierge not at desk.) She couldn't be bothered to find out and told us we could take the elevator up to the 8th floor and ask. (Too much trouble to make a call?) We had "continental breakfast"--a bread basket and coffee, for 16 euros. Many better possibilities within a short walk. 2) Card on mini-bar refrigerator stated "complimentary" (water and soft drinks). We only took the two small bottles of Evian with us each day as we explored the Lyon area. They weren't replaced one day, and we called housekeeping to ask them to replenish. They agreed, but never came. We stopped at the front desk to ask that the water in the mini-bar be replaced and were informed (with attitude) that the mini bar is only replenished every 3 days. We told her about the "complimentary" sign which said nothing about 3 days, and that housekeeping had said they were coming 2 hours previously. She huffily agreed to provide water. It was obvious that we were on our way out of the hotel for dinner. When we returned, there were two large, opened glass bottles of Evian on our tiny table -- useless for us to take sightseeing the next day or place in the small refrigerator, and for which we were charged 13 euros on checkout! It was obvious that she hadn't tried to help, just wanted to stick us with an extra charge for asking for something we thought was included. This left a very bad taste. We didn't argue the charge at checkout--we were just happy to leave the Sofitel. Worst experience during our 4 weeks in France, perhaps because it was early in our trip and set a low bar for subsequent stays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FourWinds_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Texas, USA
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel was well maintained with professional staff, good amenities, good location, and modern, clean rooms. Everything we wanted. The lobby was pleasant and we enjoyed our stay here very much. We ate dessert at Silk restaurant which was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank worldlvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,246 reviews
Villa Florentine
#7 of 194 in Lyon
703 reviews
Molière - Edgard Quinet
Okko Hotels Lyon Pont Lafayette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing