We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“central location. Awful noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,805 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    668
    221
    84
    47
See reviews for
200
910
114
400
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Further to us being let down by the other hotel we booked, we managed to book a junior suite here on the night of the stay. Very lastminute. They were exceptional again with their politeness, helpfulness and just great service. Not once was anything a problem. The sofa bed had to be made up to accomodate our child. Great night stay. Fantastic breakfast with an amazing view over Lyon. Is a little more pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

I made an Internet reservation after looking their web site and stayed one night at Sofitel Bellecour, but the room is very old and some smelling. The hotel outside is 5 star, the room is 2 star level. Don't think the room is good as well as outside looking.
This hotel definitely needs the room updating, or it is only 2-3 star hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genève
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

We spent 2 nights in Sofitel Bellecour. Great location, as it is within walking distance from most of the central shops. The breakfast room is very nice, with panoramic view. The breakfast food was nice. The only bad thing was the service during breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RanaWa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel Bellecour for two nights on our recent trip to Lyon. This hotel is well situated on the Rone, within easy walking distance to the central shopping and restaurant area!
The hotel is small for a Sofitel but well appointed. The staff were very helpful, although we were there during some work on the electrical system, and we got a letter to our room to advise us of power outages for blocks of an hour twice a day. That didn't worry us at all, but what was scary is that the emergency lighting in the emergecny stairwell were not all in working order. So we left breakfast on the 8th floor to walk down the stairs, and it was pitch black in there! As I couldn't see a thing in front of me, this created an emotion of fear and angst. all I could think of, what if there was a fire in the building, you would break your neck going down the emergency exit! Luckily for us, one of the other guests coming down had his Iphone and guided us down, back to our floor! It amazed me that the hotel had no staff on duty with bright torches to enable guest to walk down safely!
Other than that, the hotel was clean and quirky! The breakfast is beautiful and the room with it's magnificent view a wondeeful wday to start the day" we would definately return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 2nd floor, back of the building, looking into offices. I think I would ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoZoMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

The good and bad:

The good:
Location where you can walk to everything in the city
Air condition worked great, it was really hot this week.
It was in a modern room, nice bathroom
Minibar included
Place was clean
Comfortable beds

The bad:
They have rooms that haven't been refurbished on the top floors, these were not as nice.
Below average gym
Smoking floors, but to their credit, I was on one, and it didn't smell like smoke.
No pool....it was really hot, I was dying for a pool
The breakfast is ridiculously expensive (€26), but you can walk around the corner and get it for 1/3 the price.

All in all, a nice stay. I would be leery of staying again unless they were to put me in a new room on a non-smoking floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing