We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night stop in this epicurean city!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #29 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stopped over for only 1 night whilst travelling through France on our way to Annecy and had no expectations at all other than a decent room, bed, bathroom and secure parking in the center of Lyon. Well we were blown away and the hotel far exceeded any of our expectations! The hotel may not be much of a looker on the outside as it's a fairly hideous 1970's square building, but it's undergoing a huge internal refurb and it's stunning inside. The meet & greet, valet & check-in were all flawlessly done with the utmost professionalism and friendliness, a huge and welcome surprise after our experience the previous night in Troyes! The bedroom (number 122) was new, fresh, with a very comfortable super king bed and all modern mod-cons such as a Nespresso machine, iPod speaker and free WiFi. the bathroom is also very large and nice, though from a ladies perspective it could do with some brighter lights. The breakfast the next morning was served in their rooftop restaurant with panoramic views over Lyon and the river, in fact it would be the perfect place fro a lovely lunch or romantic dinner as well. The copious breakfast was every gastronome's dream with lots of local delicacies on offer.
We also fell in love Le Vieux Lyon and are already planning our next return to this grande dame of a city!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor, and though it's on a very busy avenue near a traffic intersection, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sofia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,998)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 1,998 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Sofitel Lyon Bellecour is located near Place Bellecour on the Presqu'ile, the heart of Lyon. It is conveniently located, a 5 minute taxi ride to Gare Perrache train station, and within walking distance of many of the highlights of Lyon. The staff at the hotel was outstanding and very welcoming. Our room overlooked the Rhone. It was smaller than we had anticipated but was well equipped. It would have benefited from some freshening up of the furnishings. The room was well insulated from outside noise, a plus in a city hotel. We enjoyed our experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VoyageursUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We find this Sofitel to be above expectation. The staff is effecient, helpful and friendly. The room is ample and minibar is free. The coffee in room is delicious and plentiful. The location is perfect for shopping and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Positives
- Outstanding views from breakfast room, old city to the left and river view to the right, a real wow factor. And the breakfast itself, which had a great selection, was superb.
- Room was of a very high standard too, stylish with modern interior, layout worked well, comfortable bed, quiet, excellent bathroom and latest gadgets (big TV, Nespresso machine in room, iPod player).
- Great location, just a short walk to the bars and restaurants, shops and sights of the city.
- Good service, very helpful at reception.

Negatives
- Nothing really. I like to give a balanced view and the only thing I can think of is that reception had a few slightly odd oversized figures (part of a local art exhibition), not sure if I liked, but I liked the idea of supporting local art, just think this display didn't quite work for me.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Bateys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank BTC4660
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank tonykouk
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ddog1147
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £121 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing