We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very pleased” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #24 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“very pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We only stayed 1 night with no real expectation about our stay as our visit was for a family meeting. However, we were pleased by the services. The room (superior) was ok, just maybe missing a bath for our baby. The breakfast is really awesome, high quality and superb view over all Lyon.
Hotel location is also a good point, very central.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miloli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay with us.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    656
    218
    83
    44
See reviews for
195
889
114
394
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
320 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I am very disappointing with this hotel. It's my third visit in 5 months, I am a Platinium Accor Business Card and every time I arrive, it's a problem at check-in desk. The manageresse here is hopeless!. Apparentely the require pre-authorisation on Amex is not working at this hotel, and even with a Platinium Sofitel Card, they don't trust you (Having my credit card no in the booking) and ask for another card. This is the only 5* hotel in the world who has problem with Amex! Went to Georges Blanc folowing day and they didn't ask for any card here… Also, doesn't mater what you book, you will never have a up-grade room here. A part that, room are find, Bed could be biger in junior suite, 1st night they didn't change the used towels, breakfast is very good and most of staff are nice.

Room Tip: If you have a room with river view, be sure you are on hight floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerseyLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience following your stay with us.
We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that the Hotel and services did not meet your expectations.

It will be a pleasure for us to discuss your experience so I invite you to contact the Hotel at h0553-gr@sofitel.com


Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Two great points for this hotel:
1. Location; close to main parts of the city, beautiful view of the river and one of the best restaurants in town
2. Free mini bar: beers and soft drinks. It was a nice touch

Room size was quite small, but I think it was just enough. Staff were friendly too. Don't think I have anything negative about them.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank OVS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for this very nice comment on your stay at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. We are delighted to read that it was a success !

We hope to see you very soon again,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Reasonnable price, nice and very quiet bedrooms, perfect location, warm welcome and servie beyon expectation! We booked this hotel for a shopping weekend with my wife. We were really surprised by the freindlyness and professionlism of the staff! Not to mention the quality of the food and drinks on the 8th floor. They made us feel at home and special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey_BonvinDechoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Olivier,

We are very pleased to read that your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour was a success, your satisfaction is a real reward for us !
We hope to see you soon back in Lyon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

I always stay in 5 star hotels and chose the Sofitel Bellecour for a 4 night weekend.
If you are looking for 5 star hotel, you will be deeply disappointed. Horrible service, food was just ok and air-condition in the room did not work and the staff didnt anything to fix it. Extremely expensive
I know there are better hotels in Lyon, I genuinely recommend not to stay in this hotel if you are looking to receive for what you are paying.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luis Gabriel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your comment which has been taken into account.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Friendly, helpfull and super clean. They know how to take care of their guests and make sure your stay is comfortable. The "Bell-boy" parked my car and brought my luggage to my room with extreme friendlyness and helpfulness.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoSA33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Public Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Guest,

We sincerely thank you for this very nice comment and hope to see you soon back in Lyon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#9 of 193 in Lyon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#17 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing