We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #25 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Bi-Coastal
Level Contributor
117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We called on short notice for a room, the staff was delightful, the room was comfortable clean and air conditioned! Short walk to the river, shopping. Breakfast on the top floor with a view was excellent and included in the price of the room. Centrally located to see the sights of Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Live4Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Guest Relations Manager at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 6 November 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope that you will come back soon to the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour and, why not, try the gourmet kitchen of our Chef!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    783
    667
    219
    84
    45
See reviews for
198
906
114
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is located perfectly to all the great shops, wonderful restaurants and Old Town. It's easy to drive to right along the river, on site parking and coffee shops close by. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara33301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Sofitel is in a good location, right on the water and just around the corner from the Bellecoeur Square. The hotel lobby is beautifully decorated and we were happy to have a glass of the fresh iced green tea that is waiting upon arrival. There was a big bowl of fresh fruit as well. Parking is located right at the hotel in an underground lot. It is not made for large vehicles though, and although we were only in an SUV, we barely made the tight turns to enter the lot, and had a bit of a challenge in navigating the small spots once we were in the parking area.
Our room was very nice and contained a small mini fridge, blow dryer, bathrobes, slippers and a safe. What it did lack was an iron and an ironing board, so I had to call and request one. I was really surprised that a hotel of this rating would not have an iron in every room. This is something standard in every other hotel that I have stayed in, right down to the 3 star run of the mill ones. It was also annoying not to be able to plug my curling iron into the bathroom socket, instead, having to use the plug located outside of the bathroom where the only other mirror was, in the hallway. This is a bad design flaw. We also had trouble getting the temperature in the room adjusted. It just seemed like no cold air was blowing out of the vents, no matter how we adjusted the thermostat. Our travelling companions in the next room had the same problem, so it clearly wasn't just our room.
We spent a bit of time in the lounge upstairs, which was very nice. It had lovely views of the city and a really great, albeit expensive, drink menu. The service was excellent.
Overall, it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour. Thank you for your comments that we have taken into account.
We hope to see you soon !

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Professional and courteous service from start to finish. Valet parking was helpful after a long drive.
This hotel has good views over the river and is well located.
We took a junior suite on the 2nd floor with a river view. It was comfortable and spacious but frayed around the edges. Not good value for money in its present state, time for a refurb?

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenna7350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are currently planning a complete renovation of the hotel, which should take place in 2015.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The hotel's location is just simply beautiful. It has got the view and the easy access for most things in Lyon. Beds were comfortable with good quality linen. Bath robs and slippers just made my stay a bit more cozy. Carpets are new. Car park is quite well maintained.

However, the room is very small, you can barely lay down a regular 40L suitcase in a queen bed room. And it needs MAJOR update! The air-con was very noisy during the night and made my night terrible. The shower screen barely does anything, water was spilled everywhere especially with a leaking seal.

Hotel staff was quite helpful. Although upon check-in, the reception staff can only find 1 room under my name whilst I have booked 2! I had to show my booking confirmation just to prove that I have paid for both rooms! After they've realised there was some mistake, they were able to give me 2 rooms on the same floor very quickly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceClient, Responsable relations clients at Sofitel Lyon Bellecour, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently planning a complete renovation of the hotel which includes all rooms and bathrooms.
We hope to see you soon at the Sofitel Lyon Bellecour!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We came here on a whim so got a still pricey but good price on booking.com. Beds and room, amazing. So comfortable. Fitness and Spa, not too bad. Nobody on reception and a couple of machines broken. 8th floor bar brilliant to sit at the floor to ceiling windows and watch Bastille day coming in with hilariously overpriced drinks. (Tomato juice-12€, water-7.50€). Overpriced food. Breakfast is
Far too expensive, 26€ for coffee and pastries. All in all, would I stay again. Probably not, more a business hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Riddlemethis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 193 in Lyon
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#8 of 193 in Lyon
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Property: Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#18 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Family Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing