We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lyon's Best located Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour
Ranked #30 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Sofitel Hotel in Lyon, Bellecour, for 3 nights in Sept.2009. The hotel was centrally located directly on the Rhone river, near the tourist office and public transportation. The room was large, and well equipped, however there was an opaque window between the bedroom and the bathroom so when I used the bath, my companion complained about the light.

The buffet breakfast was reasonably good and it was served in the coffee shop. During our stay the 8th floor fancy restaurant was under renovations, so we had dinner in the coffee shop, at reasonable prices. The plat du jour with dessert was only 17 euros.

Their business center was closed so no internet.

All in all for the price we paid, 621 euros for 3 nights bed & breakfast the hotel was reasonable.

We recommend purchase of the Lyon City Pass which gave unlimited travel on all public transportation, and free admission to most museums. we recovered the cost the first day, even with a sporadic transit strike.

The airport bus costing 9 euros per person went right by the hootel, and had I known, I would have asked the driver to stop, but he was in the outer lane and because of traffic it was not posible.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjg17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,022)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

563 - 569 of 2,022 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2009

Great location near shopping district in Lyon. Convenient to major highways and attractions. We used this hotel as a one-night stopover on the way to Avignon. Service and reception was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DT490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

This hotel is very expensive, but does have one abiding virtue - the restaurant and bar offer great views of the city from the top floor. My family (5 people) visited last year, but my eldest son was in Borneo so unable to come with us. Booked again this year while travelling through, but despite explaining the purpose of the trip during the telephone booking, I was not told that the upper floors were closed for refurbishment, which made the whole purpose of the booking redundant. Despite confirming no smoking rooms at booking we were then shown into a room which stank of smoke (the hotel did change the room). The rooms are small and pokey. Tried to explain to the Manageress - not interested. Give it a miss

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank LondonSteve52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

We chose the Sofitel in Lyon to start our weektravelling down the Rhone and were very glad we did. The hotel is in a great location on the banks of the Rhone just two minutes fronm the main shopping area and five minutes walk from the old town. There are at least twenty places to eat in the area but the Silk brasserie in the hotel can hold it's own. We had a great meal there on Sunday night when many Lyon restaurants are closed.
The Trois Domes restaurant however was very pricey indeed (70 euros for a steak!) so we found other places outside the hotel.
The rooms are spacious, well decorated with a lovely bathroom and Hermes toiletries.
There was a complimentary bottle of Evian each day which was a nice touch.
The staff were very helpful and service was great.
We like the hotel so much we ended our week here as well..

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

We drove to Lyon & spent 6 nights there (not wishing to use the car particularly in the city), so needed a central hotel with secure parking, & the Sofitel was a real gem. OK, so it's not cheap, but what a treat! Getting there was easy (literally 200 metres off the autoroute, which goes right through the centre of Lyon), with easy secure parking under the hotel, and what a delight to find the hotel by the river & within easy walking distance of the very centre of the old city.
The room was probably one of the nicest we've ever stayed in, walk-in wardrobe, fantastically comfortable big bed, quiet & efficient air con; we never ate in the hotel, since there's a fantastic choice of places to eat & drink within a few minutes walk, but the restaurant & bar is on the top floor with amazing views of the city (and prices to match !!!)
Minor moan is the lack of tea & coffee facilities in the room, & it would have been nice to have had a pool, but overall, if you want a bit of luxury in a fantastic location, its the place to be.
Lyon itself has some of the finest cuisine we've ever tasted. The Rue des Marronniers (round the corner from the hotel, off Place Antonin Poncet) is lined with small brasseries & cafes, serving excellent & varied cuisine, Le Nord (& its companion brasseries Le Sud, L'Est & L'Ouest) is also excellent, but if you are able, make sure you eat at Magali & Martin on the Rue des Augustins - not easy to find, & nothing to look at from the outside, but food & wine.....absolutely to die for !!!
And yes, Bill Clinton did stay there !

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudnAde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

Wonderful hotel with many contemporary touches in Lyon. The rooms while somewhat small have great touches and nice amenities.I wish Sofitel wouldn't charge for internet access and at the hotel prices it should be included however I do recommend the hotel if you want a contemporary experience.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

Excellent central location, including to the old town. (only about 10 minutes walk). The 8th floor bar with it's beautiful views was a great place for a bottle of champagne before dinner. Extremely comfortable beds, rainforest shower head, plus Hermes toiletries (bonus). Shared a twin room with a friend so the bathroom door that didn't quite close and was opposite a mirror was funny. But that's my only negative. I'd definitely stay there again. Got the room for 163Euros and walk in rate was 380. Great value in that I would pay more to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Skibunny1850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cour des Loges
#10 of 194 in Lyon
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Villa Florentine
#15 of 194 in Lyon
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lyon Bellecour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lyon Bellecour

Address: 20 quai Docteur Gailleton, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Lyon
#13 Business Hotel in Lyon
#20 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#28 Romantic Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £122 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lyon Bellecour 5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the banks of the Rhône river near the Vieux Lyon, World Heritage Site, Place Bellecour, Parc de la Tête d'Or and the city's countless museums and cultural attractions. With 164 sleek rooms and panoramic suites, a renowned Michelin-starred restaurant "Les Trois Dômes", a contemporary brasserie "Le Silk", two fashionable bars "Le Light Bar" and "Le Mehlor", with an indulgent hotel spa and a high tech fitness center, this luxury Lyon hotel is ideal for the discerning business or leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lyon Bellecour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lyon Bellecour Hotel Lyon
Lyon Sofitel
Accor Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing