We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Ranked #36 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Kiev
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great”
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything in our stay was repfect, except, perhaps, of communication with nigth reception personnel, they were unsincerely. Dinner was great, as well as restaurant personnel. But the best of all was breakfast: veriety of hot dishes and sweets (the only missing is vegetables)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_Khramova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    421
    152
    31
    16
See reviews for
348
174
37
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Country, England
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

A lovely modern clean contemporary hotel on the outskirts of Lyon. Parking is confusing and did not get our visit off to a good start. Maybe this should be explained to guests on web sites- also the cost is 16 euros per day! However, it is a good secure car park. It is approx a ten minute drive into Lyon- and beware, Lyon traffic is always heavy so ten mins can turn into twenty whilst queueing through the city.
Wi fi was excellent, good strong signals. Restaurant was very good, the restaurant manager was particularly nice, very professional, very friendly and very helpful to me later on when I had an unfortunate encounter with the receptionist.
The electricity went off in our room, and the night receptionist (older male) said to my husband and daughter that we were not to use 'foreign appliances'- they said his attitude was deplorable as though we had caused the power failure. We were expected to stay in the room with just wall lights- no tv, no chargers or appliances- so I went down and was very very cross. The restaurant manager translated, and the night receptionist very quickly backed down. We were then moved to a suite (629) free of charge. This had two bedrooms, a sitting area, two flat screens, espresso machine and pods- two showers, free movies, bathrobes, complimentary slippers, enormous bathroom with plate monsoon shower, view over the river Rhone.
Lyon, the area, is beautiful. Full of amazing architecture, statues, authentic street markets, art markets, book markets and lovely traditional Lyonnaise cafes selling authentic French cuisine. I loved Lyon and will definitely go back- and would stay again at the Novotel- apart from the one receptionist, it was very very good.

Room Tip: As this is a new hotel, all the rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Novotel still suits us the best (family of 4) in price/quality. Novotel Gerland is nicely situated close to the highway, has a nice terrace and swimmingpool, and is a 35 minutes walk from the city centre alongside the river Rhone (10 minutes by taxi). Although the restaurant and bar-area were being refurbished (not indicated when booked - only minuspoint), the staff did their best by serving drinks near the pool and in de lounge.
Overall (as allways): clean, right price, and reasonable kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

When I have too little time to chose a hotel, I always go for a Novotel, especially when it comes to family trips. As expected, the hotel lies in a quite business area as most of Novotels that we stayed in in Europe.

The hotel was modern and clean, check-was super fast. The room and bathroom were spotless and the sofa was already prepared for the kids, so we went straight in to sleep with no time to waste after 4 hours drive.

Beds were so comfortable to the extent that my wife wanted to ask the hotel to pay for the pillows to take with her :)

we did not have breakfast in the hotel as we felt that it was quite expensive and we also wanted to experience a nice Saturday morning French breakfast in the old city.

The hotel website says that there is a metro station nearby, but I am not sure as we had our car with us and we checked out next morning. You just need to make sure if you are visiting Lyon for few days without a car because the hotel is a good 15-20 minutes by car from Lyon centre.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quite area so any room would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Seems to be more oriented to the business traveller. A little far from the heart of central Lyon and its sights. Big hotel, modern decor. Paint, tiles, furnishings in very good condition. Room was clean and pleasant. Effective air conditioning that works! In-room safe; dead bolt and door latch Good size bathroom. Nice to have inner door that I could close to shut out any noise from the hallway. Very quiet hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sequoia-design
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences

Property: Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lyon
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#48 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing