We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great stay at a great a hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Ranked #37 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Waterford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A great stay at a great a hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

I have stayed at the Lyon Gerland previously for work reasons but this time was for leisure with my family. We were made extremely welcome by the staff and looked after very well. We had two adjoining rooms which was great and the first night we arrived there was a Champions League (soccer) game being played locally between Real Madrid and Olympic Lyonnais and the lady at reception had 2 spare tickets which gave to my son and I - what an amazing surprise. Priceless!

The breakfasts are excellent value - kids ate free, and the selection was fantastic. The hotel is a few miles away from the center of Lyon but it was not a problem for us as we had a car. taxis and trains/buses are also available so it isn't a problem. The hotel is besid eone of teh two major rivers in Lyon and it is a nice walk into town along the river (if a little far for smaller kids)

Locally there is a great concert venue - Tony Garnier hall -about 100m from the hotel. Many major acts play there.

Very close to the hotel are some nice reasaurants but I'd recommend going into the old part of town for amazing food and choice. We visited the Tete d'Or Park where there is a free zoo! It's a lovely place to walk although it rained while we were there (well it was November!). We also walked up to the Notre Dame de Fouvrier cathedral at the top of the hill (you can't miss seeing it from all over the city) - it's a steep walk but theer is a cable car also if you are less inclined to climb up

All in all we had an amazing time in Lyon and I really recommend thsi hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Declan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    411
    145
    30
    16
See reviews for
341
165
37
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Everything in our stay was repfect, except, perhaps, of communication with nigth reception personnel, they were unsincerely. Dinner was great, as well as restaurant personnel. But the best of all was breakfast: veriety of hot dishes and sweets (the only missing is vegetables)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_Khramova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Country, England
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

A lovely modern clean contemporary hotel on the outskirts of Lyon. Parking is confusing and did not get our visit off to a good start. Maybe this should be explained to guests on web sites- also the cost is 16 euros per day! However, it is a good secure car park. It is approx a ten minute drive into Lyon- and beware, Lyon traffic is always heavy so ten mins can turn into twenty whilst queueing through the city.
Wi fi was excellent, good strong signals. Restaurant was very good, the restaurant manager was particularly nice, very professional, very friendly and very helpful to me later on when I had an unfortunate encounter with the receptionist.
The electricity went off in our room, and the night receptionist (older male) said to my husband and daughter that we were not to use 'foreign appliances'- they said his attitude was deplorable as though we had caused the power failure. We were expected to stay in the room with just wall lights- no tv, no chargers or appliances- so I went down and was very very cross. The restaurant manager translated, and the night receptionist very quickly backed down. We were then moved to a suite (629) free of charge. This had two bedrooms, a sitting area, two flat screens, espresso machine and pods- two showers, free movies, bathrobes, complimentary slippers, enormous bathroom with plate monsoon shower, view over the river Rhone.
Lyon, the area, is beautiful. Full of amazing architecture, statues, authentic street markets, art markets, book markets and lovely traditional Lyonnaise cafes selling authentic French cuisine. I loved Lyon and will definitely go back- and would stay again at the Novotel- apart from the one receptionist, it was very very good.

Room Tip: As this is a new hotel, all the rooms are pretty good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_Kingswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Novotel still suits us the best (family of 4) in price/quality. Novotel Gerland is nicely situated close to the highway, has a nice terrace and swimmingpool, and is a 35 minutes walk from the city centre alongside the river Rhone (10 minutes by taxi). Although the restaurant and bar-area were being refurbished (not indicated when booked - only minuspoint), the staff did their best by serving drinks near the pool and in de lounge.
Overall (as allways): clean, right price, and reasonable kitchen.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

When I have too little time to chose a hotel, I always go for a Novotel, especially when it comes to family trips. As expected, the hotel lies in a quite business area as most of Novotels that we stayed in in Europe.

The hotel was modern and clean, check-was super fast. The room and bathroom were spotless and the sofa was already prepared for the kids, so we went straight in to sleep with no time to waste after 4 hours drive.

Beds were so comfortable to the extent that my wife wanted to ask the hotel to pay for the pillows to take with her :)

we did not have breakfast in the hotel as we felt that it was quite expensive and we also wanted to experience a nice Saturday morning French breakfast in the old city.

The hotel website says that there is a metro station nearby, but I am not sure as we had our car with us and we checked out next morning. You just need to make sure if you are visiting Lyon for few days without a car because the hotel is a good 15-20 minutes by car from Lyon centre.

Room Tip: The hotel is in a quite area so any room would be ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hwakil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences

Property: Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lyon
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#48 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing