We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good business hotel in Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Ranked #37 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 9 July 2012

stayed at the Novotel Lyon Gerland several times - and no, negative, surprices.
Basic rooms, but you have what you need for a short business stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 909 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Modern Novotel, clean rooms. We stayed one night and it was a good choice. Quiet, clean, easy to find. A small pool is available but only when it is really hot outside.
A few things could be improved. A too modern shower can be confusing for a few minutes. A free Wifi connection would have been nice also.
Breakfast was very good with fresh orange juice, large choice of breads, fruits, ...

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UniMahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This hotel offered neat rooms, a lovely bar area and quality breakfast. It was also in quite a reasonable location.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristopherDBooth85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Lyon a large city in the south west of France which has good possibilities for touristic trips and business alike. The only issue I had traveling from South west UK was getting here, which was not possible directly by plane, but not difficult through Paris airports. with a total journey time of about 4 hours.

The Hotel Gerland is an eight storey modern hotel which is predictable being part of the Acorr group. Normal Novotel furnishings comfortable standard fittings, no flair but perfectly acceptable in terms of comfort use and visual appeal. I did have a double room and there is plenty of space. For the fitness freak in me there is a small gym with a multi gym, bike, treadmill and elliptical all very good quality and more than adequate.
Would I stay here again? yes for business or as a sleeping hub for a tour of the area, but not for a romantic weekend, I would find a small boutique hotel of which there are plenty in Lyon and the surrounding area

Room Tip: ask for a double bed AND a bath if thats important to you else you get a shower only, which is a goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

This was the first time we stayed at Novotel in Lyon and as Gold Card members we expected decent treatment but we had an unpleasant surprise when we discovered that the Hotel Vouchers resulting from previous Novotel trips wouldn't be accepted due to a technical blip ( no fault of ours ) and we were made to feel as if we were attempting to mislead the staff and were brutally told in a few words that the vouchers were expired. When it was pointed out that the mistake was Novotel's and not ours and the vouchers were perfectly legitimate and usable, there was a reluctance to deal with the matter and it was only after some heavy pressure on our part that they deemed to intervene and resolve the issue. Not the best start and some work needs to be done here otherwise it will leave a sour taste in the mouth.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldegold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

I had rather low expectations, particularly when viewing the last few reviews.
I found this hotel to be pleasant, serviceable, clean.
Nicer than expected - about baseline Sheraton nice. Good bed, decent shower.
Even a decent gym, with a few cardio options and a multi-station pulley machine for anaerobic. Excellent high-speed WiFi, which is often lacking in mid-range hotels in France.

Restaurant is surprisingly good/versatile, and I had 2 meals there, and enjoyed them.
For the money, pushed this from '3' to '4' - was literally less than half the cost of several comparable hotels. 115 euro for a double bed plus a pull out sofa couch - a rate I did not think possible in Europe in a majour metro area.

While I'd still prefer the Sofitel here (which is GORGEOUS), when it runs 3x the cost of this place, I'll take this Novotel gladly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevinSdammit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Novotel Gerland is in the Heart of the Gerland Area in Lyon (south of the city) and close to Highway and other parts of the city. It is practical and well equipped but would deserve a refurbishment... Rooms are at Novotel standard and bar is pretty cosy. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garzagul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Mob Hotel Lyon Confluence
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences

Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Lyon
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#48 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £71 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing