We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences
Ranked #34 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Poor, it is dated and my bed smelled of stale sweat. The staff did not upgrade me, I did ask twice as I am a platinum Club Accor guest and they did not explain why. I paid two times for the high-speed wifi - which was NOT high speed and I could not use it at all, so I am out of pocket by EUR 18. The rooms are so small that accessing the bathroom is difficult as the doors do not open fully, brushing against the bed. There are insufficient power sockets next to the bed for devices. The bed smelled of stale sweat. The room was too hot, so I had to open a window to let in cold air which made the room too cold. The staff were very friendly, but I do not think their training to look after platinum guests is sufficient in this hotel. I told my client of my bad experience to the buying staff and they said they would look into these problems as they use the hotel a lot.

Room Tip: Don't stay there unless you have read this review and the others and made a balanced decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris_Nial67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline C, Responsable commercial at Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Dear M Nial,

We are sorry that your stay does not correspond to your wait, we are going to set up everything so that it does not reproduce.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

As a family of 5 we had to book two rooms. One with an extra bed, the room a bit too small for the extra bed. Would have a been nice to be booked into a larger room with at least three beds.
Clean and ok breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohanLudvigsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

Stayed here on business in December 2013.
The location is quite uneventful but the service is good and friendly. A hotel bar is open until midnight.
Breakfast offering is good and plentiful, room is clean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

I stayed at Novotel Gerland for 6 nights to attend business meetings. The staff is helpful and accomodating, the rooms nice, and the food good. As others have noted, it is located in a business district and it's a hike to Old Town. The Metro stop isn't that far away, I think some people simply are not used to walking much.

It's a good place for business meetings. Nice meeting rooms and very good refreshments. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandD2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel for 2 nights as part of a seminar. Hotel is definitely OK for business travellers but location and overall spirit of the hotel would not suit tourists or those wanting to capture the Lyon's touch. A little bit out of town and no eating places anywhere near the hotel. Food from restaurant and room service were truly bad. Room very clean and typical Novotel design.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Supermercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on our way to the south of France. The check in was smooth, a gift for the kids, and good instruction to close by places to eat. We had a clean room, all the comfort for a 1 night stay. The neighborhood of the hotel is a bit "business like". Not a lot to see or eat, but we found a very good Italian place, and that was all we needed. We ate at the hotel restaurant in the evening, which was ok, but we preferred the quality of food at the Italian place for lunch.

We booked the hotel to have a pool after a long car ride, and while the pool is small, and the area very crowded on the day we were there, we were still able to enjoy playing in the pool and relaxing in the sun after the drive.

We booked the secure garage, which was convenient to not unload the car. I would recommend this for overnight travellers.

Breakfast was in buffet style, and had a lot of options. Some items (like the pancakes) were indeed not warm, but given the variety of food we had no complaints and were happily surprised by the breakfast. There also was a clown going around making balloon animals for the kids, which they also enjoyed.

Looking back, we probably should have looked for a further stop, as we continued our journey on a Saturday and still got stuck in traffic, but given the quality of the hotel we didn't complain as we felt we had gotten an extra day of vacation out of it at the pool.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dRobke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a good hotel, mostly clean rooms. I got the slightly better than basic room, which was worth it, as my friend's basic room was tiny. Kind of a hike to the nearest metro stop, and the metro or a taxi is needed to get to the center of town. There isn't much pretty stuff in the area. The breakfast is quite good, with decent coffee. For dinner, the restaurant left a bit to be desired. There was no refrigerator in the room, but there was a safe large enough for a laptop. No bathtub in my room, just a shower, with a rather large step out that is not accessible. Staff were friendly and helpful in setting up transport to train station.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
Thank NMvoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences

Address: 70 avenue Leclerc | Lyon Cedex 07, 69363, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon Gerland)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Lyon
#23 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#48 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £69 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lyon Gerland is a 3 star hotel close to the city centre of Lyon and the major transport routes. With 600 sqm of conference space, the hotel is an ideal venue for meetings, conferences and conventions for anywhere between 2 and 250 people. Whether on business or leisure, you can take advantage of our swimming pool, fitness room and terrace area. Our contemporary and convivial Novotel Cafe restaurant offers an original and varied menu. Undercover pay parking is also available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Lyon Gerland Musee des Confluences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon Gerland Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing