We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for TGV travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu
Ranked #52 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location for TGV travellers”
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We were in Lyon overnight for a family celebration and stayed at the Part Dieu location as we were travelling by TGV. The gare is crazy with activity but the hotel is just a short walk and a supprisingly peaceful haven. We stayed in an executive room with a king bed and sofabed for our son. One thing we really dislike is that the Novotels seem to have replaced their queen sofabeds with a queen sofabed that opens with 2 very narrow single pullout beds. Our 15 year old could barely fit in the bed. It does not help to open both of them as there is a gap between the 2 small singles so that you can't really make it into a single bed. We will have to think twice before booking this configuration again. There doesn't seem to be any way to determine this online. The room was spacious with minibar which was free (sodas and one beer). The bathroom had a great shower with adjustable shower spray intensity. The showerhead could be removed to use as hand-held. There was a fancy coffee machine, one which uses those capsules, as well as the traditional kettle with supplies. There were also 2 armchairs, desk and chair, coffee table. The only problem was the safe which did not work. We especially liked that there was extra security: you had to use your room key to operate the elevator. The breakfast room was quiet and offered the standard buffet options.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    463
    182
    63
    20
See reviews for
278
185
92
286
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
86 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2013

I booked this hotel because it was next to the train station and didn't know my way around Lyon. So yes, this is a good hotel for business travelers. Train, tram, metro and bus connections are a short walk away and taxi's are easy to get hold of.

I wouldn't book this hotel for a romantic getaway though. The Part Dieu area is ugly, has few entertainment options and comes with the usual problems you get with train stations (petty theft and drug use, vagrancy).

The room was a typical Novotel room, i.e. clean and spacious but very clinical and lacking personality. Internet was free but a bit slow. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eindvijand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed only one night at this hotel and found it very comfortable. It is conveniently located close to the La Part Dieu station, so we could catch the train to Dijon city early in the morning. There's also a shopping center very near, and a great deal of restaurants. We enjoyed our room, very clean and comfortable. The breakfast was included in the price and it was delicious, with grat variety of fruits, breads, croissants and juices, all fresh and tasty. We enjoyed our stay but we recommend a more central hotel to enjoy the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laetitiaGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 March 2013

very excellent customer service,,,friendly employees,, good location. I would definitely stay there again. The food and drinks are awesome. thanks to the entire staff at that hotel for making my stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apbfej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

The Novotel Lyon La Part Dieu is conveniently located close to the train station in the middle of Lyon. It's also close to the HUGE Part Dieu shopping mall, for those that enjoy their shopping. A nice 2 km walk or a short tram trip to the Bellecour-area. The rooms were a bit small, especially as we were three people in a double with an extra bed. The staff was friendly and quick, albeit the lack of english proficiency.

All in all a nice experience!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henris0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location right next to the Gare Lyon Part Dieu we stayed here on our way down to the South of France and are staying again on our way back to Australia via Paris it has everything you need big double bed and sofa bed in the room, it is soundproofed for the station but you can open the windows, Fantastic brekkie and central to any shopping you might need. Good Value for money not the cheapest but sometimes you like to pay a little more.

Room Tip: Higher is always better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bizzie190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
131 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Typical Novotel hence a good 3 * hotel when you more or less know in advance what to expect. Was there once more on Feb 3 to 6 and the stay was as usual OK. Rooms are clean and typical for Novotel. Staff is helpful and you smell the people there are forming a good and efficient team. Location is perfect if you're off the train or having meetings around the Part Dieu district. For the 'old Lyon' I would probably choose something more central like the Mercure or the Sofitel Bellecour. Parking is not so convenient as you do not have a direct access to the hotel and shall drag your cases through the taxi line waiting for incoming the station ... Also beware of the crowd in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Nothing truly specific to report but being so close to a main train station brings quite a jungle with all kind of species and various trafficking. There's a main shopping mall 400 yards across the hotel and a couple of very decent restaurant a mile away at the former Brotteau rail station which has been fully renovated.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gare La Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
0.3 mi away
Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu

Property: Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu
Address: 47 boulevard Marius Vivier Merle, 69003, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon La Part Dieu)
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#42 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from the city center, the Novotel Lyon Part Dieu hotel is located near to the TGV train station in the heart of the business district of Lyons. This 4-star hotel has 124 comfortable, fully soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms. It also has several meeting rooms for your training days and seminars in Lyons. The bar and Novotel Café offer a relaxing environment in which to enjoy healthy and contemporary cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel
Accor Lyon La Part Dieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing