We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All business, little pleasure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu
Ranked #50 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All business, little pleasure”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I picked this Novotel as it was walking distance from the central train station and its airport shuttle train; for that, it was very convenient. There is also an Amex travel office nearby as well as a huge shopping complex. But it was a somewhat drab stay overall with a hard bed. I thought the hotel was also a bit noisier than most, with sounds of doors slamming and banging in other rooms penetrating the walls. I was only here a night but overall felt it was really not much more than a business hotel with the bare necessities.

Room Tip: I would probably advise picking a room as far away from the elevator as you might get. Lots of foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gacman17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    459
    179
    63
    19
See reviews for
276
183
91
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at the Novotel for a long weekend in late November. We chose this hotel based on it's location......next door to the main train station (Gare Part Dieu) with its easy access to/from the airport via the Rhonexpress tramway. Staff were very friendly, room was clean and largish with a sofa (bed) for added comfort. Great soundproofing considering it is right at the main rail line. The continental style breakfast was plentiful with a few hot items as well as the usual cakes, pastries, cereals, pancakes, charcuterie and cheeses. Whilst it is a 30 minute walk to the Presqu'ile area and further on to the old Town, the transport options are plentiful from right outside the hotel (bus, tram, Metro) which will whisk you to the main areas of the city in no time. There is also the added benefit of the city's largest shopping mall only a 3 minute walk away.

It is certainly worth visiting this fascinating city with its long history of great food (eat in a Bouchon), fascinating hidden alleyways (find and walk through some traboules), great views from the Fourviere and Croix Rousse hills, wonderful market produce (have a walk through the Les Halles Paul Bocuse) and the beautiful Musee des Beaux Arts.

I would highly recommend staying at the Novotel, especially if on a short trip to Lyon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick28_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We were travelling to Lyon by TGV for a weekend break during our stay in Paris. Great little side trip but that's another story.
Lyon is fairly spread out so I suppose there are two choices, stay near the old city and walk to everything or stay near Part Dieu and bus or Velib where you want to go. We enjoy cycling so we took the second option. This also saves dragging bags around etc. The Novotel is adjacent the Gare, you don't have to even cross the road.
The room was a good size, the bathroom very clean. The staff, particularly Georgia on reception were very helpful. Got there at 8 am, no problem there was a room available and a late checkout was not a problem.
Breakfast in the dinning room was a bit limited, but everything was fresh. My only complaint was the coffee, which was very ordinary. There automated machine use powdered milk, the resulting brew was very ordinary. Has everyone else noted the French don't know good coffee ?

Room Tip: Lyon has a great network of cycle paths, most road share but they are fairly safe. The Velo hire sys...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickpamg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Nothing exceptional with this hotel by itself .... but the location at the station and close from the transport hub and the big shopping centre is just perfect!
For sure, you pay for it!
Staff friendly!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominique P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel
0.2 mi away
Ibis Lyon Gare La Part Dieu
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Lyon Centre Gare Part-Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Campanile Lyon Centre - Gare Part Dieu
0.4 mi away
Ibis Lyon Part Dieu Les Halles
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Lyon Part-Dieu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu

Property: Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu
Address: 47 boulevard Marius Vivier Merle, 69003, Lyon, France (Formerly Novotel Lyon La Part Dieu)
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#42 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 10 minutes from the city center, the Novotel Lyon Part Dieu hotel is located near to the TGV train station in the heart of the business district of Lyons. This 4-star hotel has 124 comfortable, fully soundproofed and air-conditioned rooms. It also has several meeting rooms for your training days and seminars in Lyons. The bar and Novotel Café offer a relaxing environment in which to enjoy healthy and contemporary cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novotel Lyon Centre Part Dieu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lyon La Part Dieu Hotel Lyon
Lyon Novotel
Accor Lyon La Part Dieu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing