We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
Ranked #75 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Sheffield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Don't hesitate to stay here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2007

Spent three nights here for rugby world cup. While I know the hotel was three stars, but it still exceeded my expectations. The room was clean and well looked after, with good aircon/ heating. Excellent buffet breakfast, and a good restaurant, ate there just the once but food was superb (hey this is Lyon they take that kind of thing seriously) and not overpriced in my experience of hotel restaurants. Staff were always friendly and helpful, not that we had any problems. Great location for exploring as it is less than 5 minutes from gorge de loup metro/bus/train terminus. There is an italian restaurant across the street, spar (think 7/11 store) nearby. The only slight downer is that it is in a business and residential district and a bit quiet at night, so if you want a drink or another restaurant there isn't much choice in the immediate vicinity.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Condition of rooms, price, atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norton_lees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    155
    86
    32
    14
See reviews for
47
121
34
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2007

Akan's review puzzles me. I found this to be a perfectly nice hotel, especially at the relatively low price for Lyon, and my room was clean and reasonably spacious. It's not in the tourist center but very close to the metro, just one stop away from the old part of town. You can walk (uphill) to the Fourviere area in about half an hour if you like a brisk walk. The neighborhood isn't that exciting but safe and quiet. Breakfast was pretty good. A down point is that internet access in the rooms is rather expensive.

It's a chain so nothing out of the ordinary, but at the price a very good option.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hoipolloi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2007

The worst hotel in France, we went with a group and it was a terrific experience. Rooms are dirty (preservatives under the bed), with broken objects.. don't believe to the pictures on the web site..reality it's VERY different!!!!! I hope to publish soon some pictures, good trip.

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lyon hotels

tualatin, oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2007

I am very pleased with this hotel. It's a 5 min walk from the metro. The staff are lovely (and speak English). The room was spacious, modern and clean. I would stay here again

  • Liked — clean and comfortable
  • Disliked — Breakfast buffet not so good
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luv2mec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2005

We stayed one night at this Hotel for a business trip. Hotel is located 40 minutes by taxi of the airport of Lyon. Room is normal size, clean but the beds are very small and hard. At the corner is a very good Italian restaurant. The breakfast buffet is very good for a French Hotel.
The Hotel is 100 meter located from the Metro.

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lyon
Campanile Lyon Ouest Tassin
#1 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Lyon-Vaise
#2 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
B&B Hotel Lyon Ouest Tassin
#3 of 5 in Tassin-la-Demi-Lune
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon

Property: BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon
Address: 18 rue Louis Loucheur, 69009, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Functional and comfortable, perfect for working or relaxing, The Best Western Saphir welcomes you in a warm and friendly atmosphereDiscover and enjoy our spacious rooms, all equipped with a comfortable bedding, air-conditioning, full HD 82cm TV with all the best channels, wireless Internet (for free), and a nice bathroom with tub and hairdryers.To make your stay as pleasant as you expect, a courtesy tray with complimentary tea and coffee is available in your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Saphir Lyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Saphir Lyon Hotel Lyon
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing