We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Life in Lyon for a night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #38 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
A TripAdvisor Member
“Life in Lyon for a night!”
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Old Hotel, bit creaky round the edges, so it is certainly not plastic like some chain hotels. But full of charm.

Location is good, by the Part Dieu trainstation ... easy walking access to the main attractions once you have negotioned getting over the busy road.

Price is ok, but coming from the UK, i alway find euro hotels are not cheap.

Breakfast is good though, especially after a hangover

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    392
    159
    66
    42
See reviews for
140
329
78
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

We arrived at 2pm and front desk told us to wait for "10 minutes" while our room was prepared. 45 minutes later as they checked in other guests I politely asked again if we could get the key for our rooms. I was yelled at and told it was cleaning crew's issue, not receptions issue.

The building itself is ancient and has had only superficial restoration work done. As a consequence any minimal movement from neighbors results in very loud noises in your room.

The lobby area has this vaporizer air freshener machine (not a spray, a huge smoking machine) that emits a disgusting scent 24 hours a day. I wanted to throw up every time I went through the lobby. Also, the lobby was always dirty with left over bottles and cups on every table while front desk staff had nothing to do. See attached images.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moody751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 June 2011

this hotel met our expectations for mercure standards and the reception hall spectacular unfortunately finding the hotel was difficult
giving the exit No 39b off the A6 from paris is paramount and a detailed map would help
private indoor parking is good but with no direct access to the hotel but entrance is close

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Fisrt impressions aren't great as the hotel is by a railway station with some nearby ugly buildings but you are not too far from a park and some good shopping and restaurants. There is also indoor and outdoor parking available. The double glazed windows and shutters mean that you don't hear the noise of the city outside. It's more like a good three star hotel and the titles grand and chateau are a little optimistic

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitchenwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had a surprisingly great time here. Awesome main st and markets east of the station. Some dodgy characters around the station but that is usual. We spent two days their and enjoyed our room and breakfast. For longer stays we'd recommend somewhere more central

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattgreengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

Stayed with the wife for two nights on a business trip.....staff friendly and location good...but hotel has seen better times, bit too old funky 80's.....and is marooned in the middle of two train terminals, which makes it fairly inaccessible...as you need to pass through the train station to get into town....which has unsavoury types hanging around the place 24/7....cheap and cheerful...but i'll pass the next time I'm in Lyon. Check out the Klaus Barbie story in Lyon and the fact he had this as HQ when he stayed....seems to have been kept quiet...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Squinter1798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

An impressive hundred years old building, nicely restored and maintained. I had a spacious room with a "turn of the century" atmosphere, but with all the modern appliances.
The bathroom though could do with a little bit of fixing (the shower head was leaking and the door not closing properly). The lobby, bar and restaurant are very elegant and the staff discreet and polite. The location is good for easy access to town center, but in not so nice an area, close to the railway station and it might get a little difficult to find the entrance to the hotel without asking around or coming in a taxi (very expensive, not recommended !)

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herb52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Alexandra
#33 of 193 in Lyon
646 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Hotel Silky by HappyCulture
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#5 of 193 in Lyon
232 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing