We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Lyon hotel with a charming decor.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #38 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Vilnius
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historical Lyon hotel with a charming decor.”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

For the first impression the surroudings of the hotel looked very unpleasant, however later we found advantages as for example old french Brasserie Georges nearby hotel with a great atmosphere and food. The hotel room was spacious and surprisingly quiet, although the double windows faced the heavy traffic street. From our balcony there was a partial view to the historical Lyon city. Most of the inside hotel decor is charming and especially ellegant are the restaurant's wood carving walls, high ceilings and stained glass windows. Breakfast is not included in the room price, but the choice is good enough. The front desk is located on the first floor. The parking is available next to the entrance or garage. Overal - charming atmosphere and an authentic french historical chateau hotel for a moderate price.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LP_CHE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    405
    166
    71
    42
See reviews for
145
338
80
285
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

The decoration was lovely, staff helpful and friendly. Although we were a large group (38) check in was accomplished in an efficient manner. The room was well sound proofed and provided a quiet environment for a good night’s sleep. The hairdryer was the best I have used (I always find them too weak!) and – what a surprise – a kettle was provided in the room! I also liked the fact there was a magnifying mirror in the bathroom – something you don’t realise you might need as you get older! Breakfast next day was very good indeed with fresh fruit and a great choice offering all you could possibly need.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdbrain1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thionville, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Large and charming room
Breakfast: average
Service: average, although the staff tried to be helpfull.
The surrounding of the hotel is really not very nice: Highway on one side, Railways on the other,Perrache train station on the third side...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voyageur4457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed in this hotel end of July, 2011. The hotel looked nice from outside and reception lounge was very impressive. Ladies at reception were cold and unfriendly, not willing to make a smallest effort to be nice.
The room was nice overall, though the bathroom needs redesign. And the toilet must be replaced as it' either super old or was never cleaned .. looked disgusting.
We stopped in this hotel as part of our 11-day journey through Europe and needed a good rest and nice shower .. we woke up in the morning to find only cold water in the tap which didn't leave any chance to have shower before the 6 hrs drive! When contacted reception and they advised that there is a problem in the whole hotel and it might be solved by midday when we were due to leave.
We went downstairs for a check-out and hoped we would be offered some compensation for a serious inconvenience. But we had to ask for it .. and we were offered - 5.50 Euros! I thought they might be kidding! When I told to the receptionist that this amount doesn't seem to compensate all the troubles caused - she responded in an annoyed manner: "So, what do you want?" We asked for at least free breakfast as we didn't have any yet. Our suggestion was accepted but again - not in a nice manner.
We were booking this place long in advance and got a good rate which was making sense. Otherwise, be ready to find a 2* bathroom in your room and hope ‘the cold water problem’ doesn’t happen when you have a super important meeting with the client.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marussya_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Nice hotel. Superior room was very good. Slightly out of the centre which means a lot of walking unless you opt for the metro or tram every day. Quiet overnight excepting the occasional passing train. We didn't eat at the hotel as breakfast looked expensive and choices for dinner limited.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

A very comfortable hotel - where everything works just as it should. Air conditioned rooms were a godsend - and the aircon was excellent. Location was ideal - just a shame that the car-park is so small. This is the second time that I've stayed there - and although we didn't eat in the hotel this time, on the previous visit the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaguar32s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Hotel Alexandra
#35 of 194 in Lyon
659 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing