We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Old Majestic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #39 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 1 September 2014

On first sighting, it looks like a pre loved Grand Hotel. A bit tired looking, but with character. The dining restaurant has the original Art Nouveau interiors I would think it was originally a Grand Hotel servicing the trains into Lyon. Opened in the early 1900s.

The twin rooms were huge with spacious bathroom. The largest rooms I've seen for the price.

The service was excellent. The bar looked a bit short staffed, but there was always someone there in a minute. (Think they doubled up for Room Service,) Always pleasant and helpful. This included all staff and Front Desk. Nothing was too much trouble.

Might not suit some people who want 'flash' and 'new', but I found it excellent!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Neodouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly

Kind regards

Marta PARDO-BADIER
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank nicolaas m
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is a beautiful old building. I'd love to know the history of it. But now, inside, it's a modern comfortable hotel. The staff were excellent. I booked a corner room (1 up from the cheapest). It was very spacious and had lovely old wooden furniture. The wardrobe and desk and other pieces were all antiques. It's a little bit tired .. the carpet and a few nicks and scratches. But who cares ... you're in France and your room is a French experience. If you are a non-smoker make certain that you get a non-smoking room. I forgot to (I think) and the cigarette smell was strong. I didn't change rooms because I could open up both sets of French doors on to the mini balconies. But in winter that wouldn't work. The TV was broken but they fixed it quickly. Upon arrival, you might be dismayed by the industrial ugly train station surrounds. But, Perrache station is next door and the Metro takes you everywhere. And, all you have to do is walk through Gare Perrache and you are at the start of miles of beautiful city walking. If you want to pay more and stay in the beau ville stay in a hotel in Vieux Ville. But getting around in Lyon is very quick and easy.

Room Tip: Get a corner room for a bit more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SubmarineBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks, they will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming your shortly

Kind regards

Marta PARDO-BADIER
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were quite concerned having booked this hotel for 3 nights some 8 months ago as part of a 3 month European trip and for its proximity to the River Cruise dock. Many of the recent reviews have been really bad..ie worst hotel ever stayed at etc.
We experienced something far from bad; really friendly and helpful front desk, restaurant and bar staff (who speak good English) in a really nice building...and quiet yet right next to the Railway Station.
Sure, the hotel decor is a bit dated and it is overdue for renovation, but that was obvious from their web site when we booked. The bathrooms are also dated and you need to be a careful getting in and out of the shower over the bath...but that is no big problem. In terms of location convenience and the price/value for money, we found that there is really nothing to complain about. Breakfast was excellent; plenty of choice. And there are not too many hotels where you get free parking right outside the hotel main entrance.

As I mentioned the staff were great. Cherif at the front desk was amazingly helpful and gave us plenty of information, maps etc on where to and what to do in Lyon. Very helpful and a really nice guy. Kevin in the Bar went off and printed out details of 2 restaurants for us.

In summary, not the best hotel we have ever stayed at, but it was miles away from the worst. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TaurangaTikiTourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

My team and I are very grateful for your remarks. They will encourage us to maintain our efforts so that the services we provide for you fully meet your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly.

Yours sincerely,

Marta PARDO-BADIER
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank c_diplas
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at MANY hotels throughout many countries and have never been more disgusted and dissatisfied with a hotel. The only thing that would have made it worse was bed bugs! It was run down, dirty, loud and smelled bad. The bed covers looked like rats or mice were eating them! Stains on the furniture. Paint peeling off the doors. The waitstaff was rude in the dining area. I was so thrilled to leave there and move along to a hotel that was clean and not run down. I could never recommend this hotel to anyone. I was traveling with a lot of people and they all had similar complaints. There is surely better places to stay in Lyon then here!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristinasOpinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Madam,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the services did not meet your expectations and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earn your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shorlty,

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We arrived for a 4 night stay in a Privilege Room fairly late because of the French ATC strike. My wife and I are both physically challenged (the walking stick is a bit of a giveaway) but we were not offered any assistance with the luggage by the surly receptionist. Fortunately the restaurant was still open but it was very disappointing to find that the only decently priced half bottle of wine was not available. Food was OK but not cheap.
Our room was again OK but it was difficult to see why it was a superior one. The shower was a nightmare with a head which would not stay upright in its socket - reported 3 times but not fixed. Trying to get a decent water temperature was a real challenge never successfully achieved.
The small desk had 3 electrical items with only ONE socket. The bar, with another surly member of staff served the smallest ever measure of Calvados in more than 40 years of visiting France and charged 9.50 Euros for it.
Finally travellers should be aware that a taxi to the airport costs nearly 80 Euros after 7pm and on Sundays. The one booked for us by the hotel was a thoroughly uncomfortable Transit type vehicle which my wife took more than 5 minutes to get into.
This is a fine looking hotel but it is a fair walk to any of Vieux Lyon sites. We are reluctant to consider using Mercure again. This one needs to seriously look at itself.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta P, Directeur général at Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Sir,

Thank you for having taken the time to give us your views on your stay in our hotel.

We are sorry that the services did not meet your expectations and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earn your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shorlty,

Kind regards

Marta PARDO-BADIER
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £73 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing