We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past glories two minutes off the motorway yet in central Lyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #36 of 195 Hotels in Lyon
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Past glories two minutes off the motorway yet in central Lyon”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

Picking up on some of the other reviews, this is an old building right next to the station now modernised albeit having retained many original features. We booked last minute (2 days) and got two double rooms for just over £60 each. there are two entrances, we chose the lower one thinking it was the only way in - ignore this and head for the hire car area, drive through this across the front of the station and there is free parking at the main reception.

Bar is Ok if a little small, but the 'piece de resisitance' is the dining room - a real throw back to past glories and as ever, the Accor breakfast was ideal and in great surroundings. In the evening, we walked out of the hotel, over the station concourse towards Lyon centre where we found a park with restaurants - ideal. The rooms were a little austentatious for my liking but bathrooms good and air con worked well. The wide corridors and rather antique feel to the common parts complimented the modern renovated rooms.

To cap it all, it was two minutes off the motorway albeit a bit tricky to find - the satnav came in very useful! - and two minutes to get back on..

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsSpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    417
    169
    72
    43
See reviews for
154
350
80
289
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dijon
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2009

Our stay in the hotel was great. The bedroom was spacious and very comfortable with luxuries such as bathrobes or LCD TV. Very calm environment. Just a walk away from the town centre. Great food. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Possible safe car parking. Coach straight to the airport from the station just behind the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulaice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2009

The location is excellent, the staff is very friendly and helpful, except the tall middle aged brunet man, who didn’t want to speak English. I’ve written “didn’t want” because I won’t believe that a 4 stars could hire people for its front desk who don’t speak English.
The exterior of the hotel is pretty good and well conserved, but I wouldn’t say the same about the interiors, even though the rooms were repaired recently. This reparation didn’t touch the corridors, neither door nor bathrooms were repaired. The water closet was a bit smelly, the balcony –there was a very nice view to the Basilica, by the way- hasn’t been cleaned for ages: it was full of spiders with theirs webs. There were several international channels on the TV, a minibar full of snacks and soft drinks, and a kettle with tea and coffee facilities.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannaGuerrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2009

I stayed in the hotel for a weekend in July with my boyfriend. I had booked a superior room but got a luxury room, the next higher category. I think the main difference between superior and luxury is that the luxury rooms have some antique furniture inside (We had a nice wooden cupboard and writing desk). The room was on a corner with two windows, so it had a lot of light and the room was of big size. When I looked on the floor map of the hotel, I could see that many rooms were much smaller than mine was - so be careful which room you get when you need space. The room (#109) also had a large
bathroom with bathtub and a seperate toilet.
As other reviewers have noted, the hotel is located between a motorway and the railway tracks. My room was facing the motorway (but at a reasonable distance), so when I opened the windows I could hear the cars passing by. But when the windows were shut it was totally quit. I guess that the amount of noice you get from outside depends very much on the location of the room you get, so if you need a quite room, it is probably a good idea to ask for it at the reception.
The breakfast buffet didn't have a very large variety but it was good enough and the quality of the food was fine. There were eggs and regional cheeses and sausages. There was also a Nespresso machine for coffee. What was missing was freshly squeezed juices and fresh fruit salad.
Service was always friendly and efficient during my stay. The location is good, directly at gare Perrache, so very central. The old town can be reached within 15 minutes by foot or 2 stops with the metro (which is clean, efficient and runs frequently). The area directly around the hotel and the station is not very nice but we felt safe. There are some homeless people around during the day but I couldn't see them at night, maybe the station security doesn't tolerate them at night.
Overall I would recommend the hotel for a stay in Lyon.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reisetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Beautiful Art Deco Hotel. Fortunately we paid a reduced price which made our 1 night stay fair. The full price would have been excessive given the size of the room and the position of the hotel. We were overcharged at the bar, and despite staff efforts to rectify our bill, the extra charges did not disappear fully. Bar breakfast was good value!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campeche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2009

I travel quite a lot for my job, being myself in Hotel business, and everytime I end up in Lyon, I just check in in this Hotel.. Location is the b est, but also this old building retains some old Victorian reminiscence, a bit like a London last century club. lot of charm. Also, I found there something lacking in most new places, a Manager who remembers me by name, my preferences, and needs. We don't have this anymore in corporate places, surely with bigger, brighter, newer rooms, but again, this is a owner's problem, certainly not a manager's one, who tries desperatly to make our stay worth every bit.
I would not recommend this hotel for the bathroom sizes, but definitly for the warmth of the people who make it a living place!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HighGlider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Perrache - Charlemagne
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Property: Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing