We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has Potential”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache
Ranked #43 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This hotel has very nice furnishings, a convenient location, and a nice lobby. However, I cannot recommend it, because it also has the most uncomfortable bed sheets I have ever felt. They felt more like fine grit sandpaper than bed sheets.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelfan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2010

the rooms themseves are very clean and slippers, dressing gowns and plenty of towels provided. the beds are very comfortable. the breakfast was excellent, nice cheese and pain au raisin. the location is great, only 10 minutes walk to place bellecour with all the restaurants and shops.

the television was in a far corner of the room which was not really ideal and the staff seemed bored. the area surrounding the station didn't seem very safe even early in the evening. the noise of traffic was constant but i suppose it was to be expected.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missonis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

So the good: really handy location for the station (Lyon Perrache). Fairly good parking if you're travelling by car - and an Avis rent-a-car adjacent if you're picking one up. Good breakfast.

The bad: the hotel's a bit faded. The corridors and rooms are all a bit dark and gloomy. The staff at the front desk seemed a bit bored and lacked attentiveness. Most annoyingly, the bathroom floods when you're having a shower.

In summary, really handy if you need the station. It's not the best location for exploring central Lyon, but decent enough to pick up some rental bikes to head into town. Naturally, the transport links from the station are top notch.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ntc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Booked into this hotel for a week's business in Lyon, situated close to the centre of Lyon, but also close to the River Saone. The hotel dates from the early 1900s and is a lovely quirky building that is tired in places, but still holds some wonderful visions.
Check in was good, and the underground car park was important for me. Room was on the top floor, quiet and clean (I overlooked the inner side, so no train noise for me!), well equipped. Didn't eat in the hotel - are you kidding me, with the restaurants of Lyon 5 mins walk away? I used room service breakfast every morning - like the fact that they brought the stuff bang on time every day, plus newspaper.
For any runners like me, the proximity of the river was great, as it gave me a beautiful scenic place to run each day.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Igloo124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2009

Having read reviews on here, I was expecting an old but elegant hotel, perhaps a bit faded, with a few quirks. That's pretty much what it was like in reality.

We arrived by car, which isn't really what the hotel's aimed at - following the signs gets you to an area full of parked hirecars. After going around the block again we found a small garage door, shut fast. Cars were parked all over the place outside, so we had to park where we could and take the lift inside to get to reception. It turns out there's an intercom and if you use it you're allowed into a tiny little parking area - enough room for around 15 cars, albeit double-parked!

Checkin was smooth, although our rooms weren't next to each other despite having been booked months in advance. The rooms themselves were huge, with large marble-clad bathrooms. There were dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries provided, although no flannels.

Not long after arriving a member of staff arrived and checked the minibar (complimentary teas/coffees were provided). The coffee wasn't replenished during the stay, for some reason. The following day the same person came in again to check the minibar, this time asking about an opened can of iced tea - I should have checked the contents when I arrived, as I hadn't touched the stuff (the very thought of cold tea is disgusting). Thankfully we weren't charged for it. There was another interruption a few minutes later as someone else came along to check the light fittings. I've not seen so many staff checking rooms before!

The view from the window was of the motorway - not exciting, but then again what can you expect when you're sandwiched between a busy road and a railway! The soundproofed window did a great job of keeping noise low. Sadly, though, the typical hotel "tissue paper walls" thing came into play on the final night, where the person in the room next to me decided to have a series of talk shows played loudly on their TV - I could hear every word as I tried to get to sleep. Even earplugs just turned it into a continual drone.

A word of caution: Perrache is regarded by locals as a bit of a seedy area. Indeed, on our first night we went out to explore and around the corner from the hotel found a prositute standing under a bridge! It seems Perrache is known for this sort of thing, something you won't find in the brochures! For the rest of the time we left via the hire car parking area, which leads into the station and from there you can access the main shopping streets of Lyon.

Checkout was smooth and there were no unexpected extras.

All in all, a good stay - but note that we'd paid the extra ten pounds a night for a room upgrade, from the floor plan some of the other rooms were less than half the size of mine!

  • Stayed: October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Retron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Pics of this hotel make it look much more historic and grand than it really is. It's a tired shabby hotel near train station.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marybRiverside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Typical non-descript business hotel. My room was big and clean with the usual business hotel comforts and in a good state of repair. The views are not that great over the railway tracks (didn't have any noise issues) but I cannot imagine many business visitors spend that much time in the hotel looking out of the window. The bar was the typical affair but they did have some nice live music on the night I was there. Didn't try the restaurant but the breakfast in the morning was quite nice, but nothing extraordinary.

Overall, if you go on business then you could do a lot worse than this and I wouldn't mind staying there again. But I certainly wouldn't book it if on holiday. Neither cheap nor memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank panos.v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Cordeliers - Jacobins
Mercure Lyon Centre Beaux Arts
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache

Address: 12 cours de Verdun Rambaud | Esplanade de la gare, 69002, Lyon, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £73 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Nouveau building, listed as a historical monument, located in the centre of Lyon. The hotel is close to the Perrache TGV railway station, a 10mn walk from place Bellecour, close to all public transport. The reception lobby has been renovated in 2009. Most of the rooms have been renovated in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Lyon Centre Chateau Perrache reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Lyon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing