We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“carefull high price - mid range quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Lyon Lumiere
Ranked #59 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
A TripAdvisor Member
“carefull high price - mid range quality”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

same price than hilton / sheraton but far lowest quality. it's overpaid for this type of hotel. Asalways accor hotels are more expensive than any other.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    203
    61
    17
    7
See reviews for
42
126
38
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We just came back from staying at the Mercure Lemaire. While perhaps not being in downtown Lyon, it was still in the city limits and very close to the metro station. We had a very quiet room, well furnished, it slept well and excellent AC. The front desk people no matter which shift were extremely friendly and helpful. We rented a car to drive to the Tour de France each day and were able to park on the street each night and forego the parking charge. Be sure and go to "old" section of Lyon for great meals and an atmosphere that surpassed many areas in Paris. There is a small grocery store just outside the hotel and 2 service stations within 50 yards. The history connection to the first film makers was very interesting and be sure and see a few of the original pieces used for film making. They are located just outside the restaurant. Our last day we payed for the breakfast buffet and unlike some French breakfasts, it contained a multitude of breakfast choices, [i.e. pancakes, scrambled eggs, sausage, 4 different juices, lots of different types of breads [as expected] and of course many croissants. If in Lyon again we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Midlotrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Very close to the Metro although need a transfer from the TGV train station. Not so attractive neighborhood, but easy to get around to the tourist area by the Metro. Stayed in the privilege room which has the coffee machine with coffee pods. Asked for a tea kattle and the staff brought up right away. Asked for a triple room and provided a sofa bed which had rather comfortable bed. But the room amenities were offered for 2 persons. Kind and English speaking staff.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Lovely clean and comfortable rooms, bed very comfortable and staff helpful. Great location for us near to our daughter's apartment.
Bar prices VERY expensive though - only down side.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shonziegm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Walking from the hotel to the centre of Lyon (downtown) takes about 30 minutes. However, the hotel is located close to the metro station (about a 3 minute walk), which means you´ll have access to most parts of the city within few minutes.

The hotel was under renovation as I was visiting. Although I didn´t notice much of the works that were going on, I did notice "knocking" sounds and several workers entering and exiting the elevators and stairs. I also found the smoke alarm to be missing in the bedroom, which could be related to the renovation works. Also, the elevator looked like a complete mess, due to renovation works. It actually felt like the elevator would fall apart any minute, and I´m happy I am not claustrophobic.

The hotel staff seems nice and appears to have a decent comprehension of English. There was no "French arrogance" to be found among the staff. The hotel breakfast was rather boring, but provided a wide enough variety of food to keep things ok.

The hotel room was a bit disappointing. Although the bedroom and bathroom were both quite big, the room was very dark, and the view from the bedroom window was quite depressing (then again, the hotel itself is located at a pretty depressing/boring area, with bears more resemblance to an industrialized area than a cozy, French neighborhood. The light switches were also frustrating to control, due to the fact that they seemed to behave differently for each new day! Also, the bathroom was quite cold, and there was no possibility of turning up the temperature (although this was possible in the bedrooom). Finally, I would have liked a small fridge, although this is more of a wish than a complaint.

As for the positive sides, there was a desk with a chair in the bedroom, which is perfect for studying, writing etc. I also found the safe to be practical and easy to operate. However, the hotel room was only ok at best, and for approximately 145 Euro for one night, I expected a bit more.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheDoctoralCandidate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast,Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

Central Lyon was booked out so I tried the suburbs. Lumiere is the home of cinematography ( visit the marvelous museum!) ...6 mins on nearby train to city centre...best train service I have ever seen...cheap, unmanned trains and stations and very efficient ( who knew Lyon would have a world-best?). The hotel is really for visiting businessmen-hence the extra $- but is a terrific hotel with great nearby shops and restaurants, even if the staff don't tell you about it. Good food and excellent rooms.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4its2late8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Hotel Le Lumiere
#155 of 194 in Lyon
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jules Ferry - Récamier
Mercure Lyon Centre Brotteaux
Appart'Hotel Bioparc
#77 of 194 in Lyon
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Lyon Lumiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Lyon Lumiere

Property: Mercure Lyon Lumiere
Address: 69 cours Albert Thomas, 69003, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Lyon
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#41 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Lyon Lumiere 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 10 minutes from the city centre and 5 minutes from La Part Dieu railway station, in the heart of the Monplaisir business area and only 500m from the Lumiere brothers house. The hotel features a restaurant, a bar, meeting rooms and a car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Lyon Lumiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Lyon Lumiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing