We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very good Hotel for gerland stadium”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
Ranked #87 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 17 April 2013

The location is perfect for someone who visits Gerland Stadium for footbal match or who has business task around here, and not so good for pure tourists, but I don't imagine that pure turists think of chosing here although it is easily accecible with Metro from the center of Lyon(Direct from the main train station). As all other classic IBIS, the room is what you expect from ibis, it is functional, clean, well equiped with hair dryer and a reliable free wifi. It seems to be renovated so it looks cleaner and fresher than my past visit. The staffs are not excessively friendly but efficient and do their job correctely. The hotel is perfect working order and quiet. Around hotel there are many restaurants so you are not isolated. I feel safe with Ibis beacause there is no bad surprise. The price of weekday is high for my standard, but With week-end rate, it is also good value for money .

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank KAYAKOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 314 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

Simple and comfortable hotel, although would not recommend it if you are holidaying in Lyon as it's not in the centre or in the nicest part of Lyon but Bellcour is only a short metro ride away and there are some great restaurants in the area.

Breakfast was plentiful and the staff were extremely polite and helpful and always said 'hello'.

The room was generally clean although the floors were a bit dirty and the bed linen wasn't changed in 5 nights we were there but I know Ibis are trying to cut down on energy costs so this could be why. There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room which would have made the room more comfortable since we were staying for a few days but I know they are not common in French hotels.

A little expensive for what you actually get but overall good if you're staying for business and need to be in that district.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Metalligirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Very poor Ibis, mainly due to indifferent managers. Offered a dinner in my room - after picking from the menu and ordering I received a call 20 mins later saying... there was nothing left except for one item. That item was a cheap microwave meal and I was charged 14 euros for it. My friend arrived late, asked for a coffee and was told to go to a restaurant as they couldn´t be bothered to switch back on the coffee machine. They attend the phones before real people in the reception area. When I paid my bill I hinted at my disatisfaction but they told me just to fill in the online IBIS site. So I did. Expensive and poor.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Sir,

Thank you for writing about your feelings concerning your stay.

Here is some information we would like to point out.

First of all, there is no restaurant in our hotel. That’s why, if you ask for something to eat at the bar, you will have something very simple. This service is available 24h/24, and must be considered as an additional service for people who don’t want to go out for dinner. If you were searching for a restaurant, there are a lot of them, just in front of our hotel.

This day, there were a lot of people in the lobby who wanted to eat in the hotel (maybe because of the big rain ??) and it was quite difficult for the receptionists.

We are sorry about your disappointment, but you have to know that every day we are working for you to spend a nice stay in Lyon.

Anyway, thank you for stay in our hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Simple, clean, comfortable room. Not a "five star" fancy hotel, but who needs this overhead and cost? Everyone spoke English and was very polite and helpful. I have no complaints whatsoever - would stay there again if visiting ENS-Lyon (this is the closest hotel to ENS-Lyon... about 200 meters from the front door). Walking distance to the subway... three hops (or so) to downtown.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjChristensen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Although the hotel is not as central as some hotels (which cost more), it is an easy walk to the river and the Stade de Gerland, and the excellent metro service is just 200m away. The rooms are clean and functional, the beds are comfortable and, if ours was anything to go by, the en-suites are huge! Breakfast is good and the staff very pleasant and helpful. Although there is a charge for the hotel car park, there is plenty of free parking nearby. Overall, an excellent hotel for visiting Lyon, and highly recommended.
We've always avoided Lyon when travelling through France in the past, but never again: it is a lovely city! Get the hop-on, hop-off city tour bus - it is an excellent way to see all the sights for 22€. Only stayed for two days, and could easily have stayed much longer.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnandMags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Birmingham
11
Reviewed 20 June 2011

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Budget Lyon Centre Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux

Address: 246 rue Marcel Merieux, 69007, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Price Range: £43 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux hotel is in the heart of the Gerland business precinct, 5 km from the Exhibition Centre, 50 m from Stade Gerland metro station, 200 m from the football stadium and the Sports Centre. Just 3 km from the Perrache SNCF railway station and close to restaurants, the hotel offers 72 airconditioned rooms of which 4 are specially adapted for guests with limited mobility. A 24 hour snack bar, secure outdoor parking, a meeting room and WiFi Internet access are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Lyon Gerland Rue Merieux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing