We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded Expectations” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Ranked #33 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceeded Expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

This is an attractive, modern hotel with very comfortable rooms. I was especially impressed by the staff. At the concierge level, at the front desk, they provided truly exceptional service. We had some special needs, and they could not have been more helpful. It is very convenient to public transportation (ask your bank for a card with a chip before you go, so you can get bus and train tickets from the machine). There is a beautiful park adjacent.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ORlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay in our Hotel.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the friendly and professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to them.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Lyon for your stay.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    499
    181
    68
    22
See reviews for
150
430
40
377
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Hilton Lyon is a beautiful place to stay. Great staff, gorgeous rooms, and the most wonderful meal - I can't praise the chef enough!! Very, very impressed! The entrance is lovely and after mastering the lift system, we found our room to be large, well laid out and extremely comfortable. We visited the Contemporary Museum, and the hotel's Casino (scan your Passport and buy a betting card for one euro, which you add money to). The modern shopping complex surrounding the Hilton was very quiet, and we enjoyed looking at the sculpture throughout. There is a cinema complex, plenty of nice shops and a few good bars with live music. A lovely place to stay in Lyon - would definitely recommend it. Our breakfast was also amazing - love love love the food at this establishment!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kid_U_Not58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on this website.

It is a real pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel as well as its decoration and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments as regards to the staff . I will personally share your feedback with the team members who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay.

I truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Hotel located near Plaza Bellecour- 10 mins by public bus. Right infront of the Zoo Tete D'or.
Hotel staff are enthusiatic to welcome and assist, my wife and me had our dinner at Brasseirre, the restaurant in the hotel we enjoy the food and the quality of the service compliments of Julien. Rooms are clean and spacious only thing is its always 2 single bed combined. We got the view of the Rhone river which is nice. The concierge staff as we ask for direction, we felt that we tour the city already, they given us detailed information, thank you very much for the wonderful accomodation during our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 14 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay here with us.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the friendly and professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to them.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Lyon for your stay.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

The Hilton in Lyon was fantastic. The staff are absolutely phenomenal and I was very surprised by the lengths they went to to make our stay enjoyable.

Having driven from Paris, I arrived in Lyon somewhat tired. I was pleased to find that I had been upgraded to an executive room and proceeded to the bar. I soon received a call that the hotel would waive the standard 17 euro parking and allow me to park for free for two nights (might have had something to do with the fact that I am a diamond member).

Concierge were also fantastic and went over and above what would ordinarily be expected. I had some issues with departing flights, and cannot speak French. The concierge spent 20 minutes on the phone helping me fix my ticketing problem, and followed up with the airline three times for us.

All in all, a great stay and I can honestly say, the best service I have ever received from a hotel.

Thanks!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for having taken the time to post such a constructive review on this website.

It is a pleasure to receive such a nice feedback concerning our staff, especially the Concierge team that will be very happy to learn about your comments.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again to the Hilton Lyon in a not very distant future.

Kind regards,

Marlène poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
1,178 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 682 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

It was a great experience. From the beginning the staff were very friendly and approachable. From the front desk to the room service staff, everyone had always a smile and a positive attitude. That provide an extra taste to my stay in Lyon.

The hotel is located between the Tete d'Or Park and the river in the International City district. Is not the closest place if you wanna spend your time in the historic center but the highly efficient public transport make it easy and fast to reach. Avoid any sort of taxis. The bus or tram makes it fast and easy.

Loved the breakfast in a parisian style cafe with an excellent quality of choices and great service. I would recommend this hotel in Lyon and will be happy to be back.

Room Tip: River side views are excellent and you also have a balcony to enjoy the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMartinSDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to forward to our attention your feedback regarding your stay.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with the services rendered as well as with the friendly and professional attitude of our team members. Your kind comments will be passed on to them.

Once again, thank you for having chosen the Hilton Lyon for your stay.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

I am writing this review on our last night while sitting sipping a glass of champagne in the executive lounge on the eighth floor looking over the wonderful river Rhone, a view to remember for a long time.
Speaking of memories, this has been such a memorable stay, from the moment we arrived on the 24 December, quick and efficient check in, a wonderful suite with river views and the best true traditional Hilton service from start to finish. The whole team could not have made us feel so welcome looking after our every need, sincere thanks to all, especially the Executive Lounge staff.
The location of this hotel is great, easy access to all parts via bus C1, C4 or C5 just behind the hotel, buy a 10 ticket offer, but remember to validate them as we had a check one night but we were ok as I had validated them on entry to bus.
If you enjoy a little fitness the park behind the hotel is great for running, we ran nine out of our ten days here, also a zoo well worth a visit.
With regard to Lyon and restaurants well the offer is endless, we had wonderful food and amazing wines, speak with concierge for their expert advice. The hotel Brasserie is also well worth a visit, we ate here on two nights, both Gala meals ..amazing.
In summary I would definitely recommend a visit to Hilton Lyon, I am sure we will be returning at the soonest possible moment.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite which gives access to the Executive Lounge, a tranquil haven, rooms to park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salm0n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on this website.

It is a real pleasure to read that you liked the location of the hotel as well as its Executive Liunge and that you enjoyed the gala dinner in our Restaurant. I would also like to thank you for your positive comments as regards to the staff of the Restaurant, the Front Desk and the Executive Lounge.
I will personally share your feedback with the team members who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay.

Your constructive remarks are very important for us in order to improve constantly and to provide a high quality of service to our guests.

I truly hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in a not very distant future. Please do not hesitate to contact me should you require any assistance.

Kind regards,

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

We visited France for our wedding anniversary and the Hilton Lyon was the last stop. We were both really pleased we stayed here in an executive room. The hotel is located out of town but the tram runs every 10 minutes from right outside the hotel so it was easy to get in and out of the centre. You can also buy tickets at this particular stop which is cheaper than purchasing on the bus - just don't forget to put them in the machine when you board! The hotel was very quiet with well appointed rooms and very helpful staff. I can see it is quite a 'business style' hotel but we certainly didn't feel out of place. We really appreciated the acknowledgement of our anniversary by nearly all the staff we met, and in particular Anne-Sophie who assisted us in the executive lounge with all our touristy questions and constantly made sure there was nothing else we needed. The unmanned executive lounge is an interesting concept, I watched a man decant glasses of wine into a hip flask, and another woman fill her handbag with juice bottles! The food at the hotel was very enjoyable, or if you prefer, there are plenty of restaurants in the complex serving other types of food. We ate at the mexican and the French and both were delicious. I would come back to this hotel anytime.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading to the executive floor as the food is delicious and the staff are friendly and helpf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NW28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleneRoger, PA to General Manager at Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor. I will relay with pleasure your feedback to Anne Sophie who will be glad to know that their efforts contributed to your enjoyable stay!

I truly hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Marlène Poix
PA to General Manager
Hotel Hilton Lyon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Part Dieu - Bir Hakeim
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale

Property: Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale
Address: 70 quai Charles de Gaulle, 69006, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
#30 Family Hotel in Lyon
#36 Business Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the amazing "Park de la Tete d'Or" and the Rhone river and next to cinemas, the Museum of Contemporanean Art and the International Congress Center. Very well located at 20 minutes pleasant walking distance to the city center or 10 minutes by public Bus transportantion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Marriott, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Lyon Marriott Hotel Cite Internationale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Lyon Hotel Lyon
Hilton International Lyon
Lyon Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing