We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“skip this one” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #59 of 193 Hotels in Lyon
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“skip this one”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Staff was very helpful..that is it
Room is the size of a large walk in closet. Almost trip over the TV
WiFi connection needed login every time it was used. That was convenient.
Only Best Western I've stayed in where you were charged for continental type breakfast..And expensive too.
And the location.....questionable with the ladies of the nite around the corner

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    194
    104
    28
    8
See reviews for
43
170
20
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel doesn't care about its patrons. First, the location is not the best, second their restaurant recommendations are terrible and the directions they give to get to a restaurant has you walking all over the place asking for help. The reporting of issues doesn't get any response. I will not recommend this hotel. The air conditioner didn't work and we were told to just open a window when the weather was stormy. The rooms are old and need updating. I'm still waiting to hear fro the manager on my complaints, but as usual, all you get id lip service and no response or trying to satisfy a customer!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank 688frans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

The hotel was clean and in a convenient location for buses and trains. The staff were accommodating and friendly. We didn't have the right connection for plugging our computer in to charge and we were loaned a cord that we could use from the front desk, however the internet connection didn't work all the time. We were lucky enough to be in Lyon on one of the first beautiful days that reached 20+ degrees, however it was so hot in the hotel room that we needed to leave the window open all night long and therefore couldn't sleep because of the noise. If the air conditioning had been working then I'm sure our sleep would have been better, but we were told that the air conditioning wouldn't work for another few weeks after our stay.

The rooms are very old, however the bed was comfortable and as we were so busy visiting different places and exploring Lyon, the size of the room didn't matter much to us.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room facing the courtyard, as well as on one of the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
121 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We chose this hotel by changing Miles and More miles to a 2 night stay here.
The hotel is good located next to the Perrache railway station and on walking distance of the city center.
Friendly staff, nice clean rooms, good breakfast.

The street where it is located is quite busy, but - as I asked for it - we got a room on the inside court overlooking the terrace and that was remarkably silent.

They have an interesting price agreement for the nearby, clean and safe QPark parking (200m from the hotel, just under the railway station)

Shortly: value for money. (Or miles...)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

This hotel needs an update fast. We have stayed at upgraded room so I cannot imagine standard rooms.
Hotel is right next to tram line and walking distance to some nice cafe and restaurants.
We stayed for one night and it was more then engouh

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aykut2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

We arrived in the evening and were met with very friendly and helpful staff and this continued for our stay (two nights). We stayed in the annexe building. Our room was nice - not much room with the double bed and the couch folded out for our son but that was to be expected. Everything was clean and fresh and modern. Comfortable beds and pillows. The shower was over the bath but it had fantastic pressure - magic! Best on our tour! Sublime breakfast!! Huge array of delicious food, yummy juices and plenty of coffee and tea from the self-service. Good location - close to trams. Would definitely stay here again. Staff were excellent in helping us book our next hotel in the next city. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: Have only stayed once and we were in the annexe on the side road side, 1 floor up, and it was absolu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stay at this hotel fairly regularly on business . Staff are always helpful, rooms in the annexe ( higher levels preferably) are a good size and well appointed. They overlook a square and attractive old church. No noise problems in the annexe. Breakfast is typical continental buffet style and I find it pretty good. It is an easy walk to the town centre for meals etc. Brasserie George (recommended if you like the large Paris style brasseries with very busy waiters in white aprons ) is about a 5 minute walk. Place Bellecourt is a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Choose the annexe and a room in 4th floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OpalSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexandra
#32 of 193 in Lyon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne
Address: 23 Cours Charlemagne, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory hotel with restaurant and bar; located near the Lyon Perrache subway and tram; 1 km to Musee des Beaux Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlemagne
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing