We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean, basic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #62 of 194 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 27 February 2006

The hotel is within walking distant from the railway station and the tram station is only a short distant from the hotel. The room we stayed in for 2 nights is quite small and basic. This is definitely not a place to stay if one is after a bit of luxury. However, both the room and bathroom are clean. The breakfast is adequate and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

We really enjoyed Lyon and the food is magnificient. If you are a chocolate lover, you will enjoy the local specialty of chocolate with an almond paste wrapping. It is simply delicious!

We will definitely visit Lyon again but might choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mil4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 464 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Houston, TX
317
Reviewed 14 December 2005

We just returned from our 10 day European vacation. Lyon was one of our stops. I am glad we only stayed at this BW for one night. If all you are looking for is a basic place to stay, this is the hotel for you. It's old, dingy, not very close to much of the site seeing activites, and the neighborhood is far from being "historic" as another review stated. Only perks about this hotel is that the tram does stop close by, and the hotel was cheap. Otherwise, I would stay else where...somewhere closer to good restaurants, taxi stands and site seeing activities. I think that neighborhood is called Bellemeade. Check out some hotels in that area.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2004

Nicely furnished hotel with helpful staff. Near the train station, the whole area is being fixed up. Lyon is a cosmopolitan city, south of Beaujolais and just north of the Rhone Valley. Great town.

5  Thank Rgeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2004

We stayed here for four nights in mid-July and found it a perfectably comfortable and pleasant hotel evidently aimed at the business traveller. The top-floor double-room - twin-beds though! - was large, functional and was well air-conditioned (thankfully, given it was the height of summer!); the lifts were rather small and occasionally did not work in the evenings. We had reserved parking although I'm not sure that this was noted; we were lucky enough to be able to squeeze into a space in the rather open-air cramped car-park which is directly adjacent to the hotel (no lift access though). Staff were helpful and friendly, and breakfast was ample. The location - just a few hundred metres south of the Perrache train station/road intersection - is handy for train and metro but not easy to access by car (but for that you must blame Lyon's city-planners!). While we were there, they were building a train/tram line along the road that the hotel was on, which may help access but also may make the location slightly noisier than present.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EarlyModernProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 27 July 2002

My wife and I have just spent a week in Lyon.We stayed at Charlemagne hotel where we were given an excellent service by an efficient and most hospitable staff. Keep it up!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: éviter les chambres qui donnent sur le cours Charlemagne
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tlres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perrache - Charlemagne
Novotel Lyon Confluence
Carnot - Gailleton
Hotelo
Hotelo
#4 of 194 in Lyon
359 reviews
Hotel Le Roosevelt
#56 of 194 in Lyon
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Charlemagne

Address: 23 cours Charlemagne, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £68 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory hotel with restaurant and bar; located near the Lyon Perrache subway and tram; 1 km to Musee des Beaux Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlemagne
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing