We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the Charlemangne”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
Ranked #53 of 196 Hotels in Lyon
Reviewed 7 September 2007

A group of friend stayed in this hotel in Lyon. The hotel is very close to one of Lyon main train stations and close to the city center. The only bad point about the location is that you have to cross the train station to get to the shopping and restaurant area, and at night is not too nice. Especially if you are a girl or group of girls traveling alone.
The hotel itself was really good. Nice and comfortable rooms, with sofa chairs and great plasma TV. The bathroom was good and with a nice tub. The room was very clean and the staff very helpful in everything: fixing the phone, giving directions....
The tram line stops in front of the hotel, so very good for the transport network of Lyon. It takes you around 45 minutes to get to the Congress Centre in the Cite Internacionale by tram.
It has free parking, but only few places, so get there really early.
It is also of very easy access from the motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank CSNunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Hotel Charlemagne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 454 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2007

Business-type hotel with nothing special to brag about. Clean, quiet, near train station without a lot of parking. Good for one or two nights if doing a lot of day sightseeing and need a place to sleep. Would not suggest for romantic get-away. No free internet. Not really worth the price we paid.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Chrystianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2007

Our first night there, we had a room in the building closest to the main street. The room was older and noisy. The rest of our stay was in the building at the back, the room was large, clean, quiet and newly renovated. would stay there again!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelinR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2006

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for one night on our trip down to south France. It was very decent. The rooms were a little small but had everythig you could expect and were clean. Breakfast was nice, although served in a rather tacky dining room. The staff was nice and helpful. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellover1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2006

Stayed here for a week and found it better than we had expected after having read some revues. Decent size room although sadly no seperate shower - just a showerhead in the bath.
Quiet room as we requested and nice bar area to relax with coffee or whatever.
Great staff and especially helpful when my husband took ill.
Good value hotel near Perrache station. Definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LouAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2006

I stayed with a friend/colleague at the Best Western Charlemagne in Lyon, France, for a conference in September 2005. The hotel was in a good location, within walking distance to the Perrache station and the Bellecour area for shopping and dining. We stayed in a twin room. The bathroon included a sink, bidet, and a narrow tub unit with shower fixtures but no shower curtain. The toilet was in a separate room. Both areas of the bathroom were clean. A few towels were supplied along with shower gel and shampoo/conditioner. Breakfast was available, but we chose instead to sample the bakeries and patisseries in the area. The staff was adequately helpful.

6  Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2006

The hotel is within walking distant from the railway station and the tram station is only a short distant from the hotel. The room we stayed in for 2 nights is quite small and basic. This is definitely not a place to stay if one is after a bit of luxury. However, both the room and bathroom are clean. The breakfast is adequate and the reception staff were pleasant and helpful.

We really enjoyed Lyon and the food is magnificient. If you are a chocolate lover, you will enjoy the local specialty of chocolate with an almond paste wrapping. It is simply delicious!

We will definitely visit Lyon again but might choose to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mil4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lyon hotels
Perrache - Charlemagne
Quality Suites Lyon Confluence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Alexandra
#32 of 196 in Lyon
684 reviews
Perrache - Charlemagne
Ibis Lyon Centre Perrache
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Charlemagne

Address: 23, Cours Charlemagne, 69002, Lyon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Lyon > Perrache - Charlemagne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Lyon
Price Range: £74 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory hotel with restaurant and bar; located near the Lyon Perrache subway and tram; 1 km to Musee des Beaux Arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Charlemagne
Best Western Lyon
Lyon Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing